Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you will need to buy Volume 3 or buy The Ultimate Collection or The Essential
If you've ever listen to or read an interview of Billy Joel, you will know that he doesn't like compilations ("I made albums"), but his record company keeps on releasing collections, especially since he's not make any rock albums since 1993!

For a double compilation with a great selection of remastered songs, I recommend you choose between "The Ultimate...
Published 12 months ago by G. K.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars bonus purchase
actually purchased the album for daughter-in -law and got MP3 as a bonus-so it's ok-for free!! can out up with 80s musak if i don't pay for it....
Published 11 months ago by COLLECTABELLE


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you will need to buy Volume 3 or buy The Ultimate Collection or The Essential, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you've ever listen to or read an interview of Billy Joel, you will know that he doesn't like compilations ("I made albums"), but his record company keeps on releasing collections, especially since he's not make any rock albums since 1993!

For a double compilation with a great selection of remastered songs, I recommend you choose between "The Ultimate Collection" and "The Essential Billy Joel" depending on your personal favourites. If you buy "Greatest Hits volumes 1 & 2" you will find you want to complete it with "Greatest Hits volume 3". That's not a bad thing (good selection too), but that means buying 2 (if not 3) items (compare the prices). Though, you can buy the 3 Greatest Hits volumes all together, look for: "Complete Hits Collection" CD box set which may also contain a 4th disc with Q&A and 5 unreleased live songs (`hard day's night'). [Note that there are more tracks on the CD versions of Greatest Hits, compared to the LP formats.] Importantly though, the original release "Greatest Hits Volume I & Volume II" from 1985 contains 5 edited/shorter versions, namely `just the way you are', `my life', `big shot', `pressure' and `tell her about it'; if you want those in their album length, make sure you purchase the remastered set from 1998 (which comes with `don't ask me why' and no `honesty'!) bearing in mind that `say goodbye to hollywood' will not be a live version on the '98 set.
Saying that, if you are willing to purchase 3 CDs, do consider the "Greatest Hits" indeed. "Greatest Hits" Volumes 1, 2, 3 are a chronological review (1983 split between vol. 2 & 3) and mostly made of singles.
What's more, if you do buy these "Greatest Hits" CDs, you will own extra tracks, never included in albums and written for these releases. On volume 2 is `the night still young', a purposely slightly sluggish keyboard tune, with vocals that change from murmured to very affirmative, and lyrics oozing sexuality but also yearning for more than the envious touring life and lust he may have experienced in real life (it's an unusual production sound for Joel, but I like it quite a lot) [It was then included on the 5 disc-box set "Souvenir: the ultimate collection" if you want to spend 2 or 3 times more, and on "She's Always a Woman/She's Got a Way: Love Songs"].
On "Greatest Hits" volume 3, there are 3 cover versions, I love `light as a breeze' (only non-single on this disc) and prefer it to the original (but that one can be found on a 1995 collection of Leonard Cohen's songs by various artists, entitled "Tower of Song"), `to make you feel my love' is good and Billy Joel managed to release it as a single before Bob Dylan showcased the original! (it's a country song and has been covered by many artists since then), `hey girl' was also a single and is a Carole King & Gerry Goffin song (wrongly credited to a J. Goffin).
A great addition on volume 3 (and not on "The Ultimate Collection" or "The Essential") is the excellent and cocky `shameless' (from 1989, covered by Garth Brooks), and there is also `keeping the faith' (83).
Check the track listings for "The Ultimate Collection", "The Essential BJ" and "Greatest Hits" (listen to snippets or use you tube to refresh your memory) and compare the prices before ordering.
Read the comments I have added to my review for details on the other two compilations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Perfection From The Piano Man!, 16 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
Twenty one of the most amazing songs of the past 3 decades all on one album from one fabulous artist. Billy Joel's Greatest Hits album is one of the very best albums available in music today - it is a collection of songs which stir every emotion inside you and that you know every word of by heart. This CD collection contains a full 21 songs, and at least 15 are ones you know without a doubt. Some of these number one, legendary classics include "Piano man", "Just the way you are", "Movin' out (Anthony's song)", "Only the good die young", "She's always a woman" and " It's still rock and roll to me". It also includes two of my personal favourites "Tell her about it" and "Uptown girl". I absolutely love this album and have given it as a gift on many occasions - it is a masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Billy!, 10 Sept. 2001
By 
Mr. Steven Bootes "sbootes" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This collection really is fantastic. I really don't understand why Billy Joel isn't given the critical acclaim he so obviously deserves. His songs have everything. Ballads: Just The Way You Are, Honesty; Excellent melodies: My Life, The Longest Time; Heartfelt lyrics: Captain Jack, Allentown.
He's a great singer, songwriter and pianist too! Perhaps one day he'll get the respect he's due, but in the mean time buy this collection. It will open your eyes to a true American talent from the last century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Entertainer, 3 July 2014
By 
This is the best known music of one of America's best known singers Billy Joel : Over two decades of his feel-good music .It is a must for any fan of great music
My personal favourites include the classic folksy piano man , the contemplation of purposeless lives Captain Jack and Scenes From An Italian Restaurant, the American rock n roll Anthony's Song , the beautiful love song She's Always A Woman, well-known dance music of My Life, Big Shot , You May Be Right and Still Rock n Roll , the indictment of modern life Pressure , the story of life in an industrial town Allentown and the old style rock n roll Uptown Girl
It's an excellent purchase for anyone who is going to buy just one Bill Joel album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 4 Nov. 2014
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Billy Joel is "The Entertainer" but "It's still rock and roll to me" and i love a good "Piano Man" like Billy.
His music is important to "My Life" and i would say to Billy, stay "Just the way you are" you're still a "Big Shot"
Classic hit after classic hit with "My Life" being a particular favourite.
Wonderful iconic seventies and eighties music.
Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Star, 1 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant compilation Set out for you to enjoy as an early fan or later or both!!! Start with the brilliant Piano Man and continue on your Joel journey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
GOOD CD WORTH THE MONEY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good to hear this again, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After watching the documentary about Billy Joel's trip to Leningrad in the 80s, I realised I didn't have anynof his CDs. So purchased both Greatest Hits Vol 1, 2and 3. Good to hear these tunes again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 10 Jun. 2014
By 
Dave Knapton (Durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I got sick of this artist with 'uptown girl' being played too often in our house.... there is so much more to Billy Joel. Great collection of some timeless classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 9 May 2014
By 
Ms. Alison J. Armstrong (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great value for money and if you are a fan of Billy then you are going to love this. There is a good mix of well known tracks an some which are not, however this does not detract from the album. Product came on time and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews