Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sailin' Shoes - a modern classic
This was Little Feat's second LP, and for me easily their best, with a selection of killer songs and a great sound. Lowell George was still the main man with the songs rooted in rock, blues and country rather than the jazz of their later albums, which had Bill Payne more to the fore.

'Willin' from the debut release is reworked and unbelievably made even better...
Published on 21 Feb 2008 by G. E. Harrison

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not special
As a recent convert to LF I started with Dixie Chicken which is excellent. Allmusic rates sailin Shoes on a par but to me its not in the same league.

I have found that I like the Times loves a hero which many don't rate.

Just shows that you have to make your own mind up on each one.
Published on 30 Oct 2010 by G. Roberts


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sailin' Shoes - a modern classic, 21 Feb 2008
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sailin' Shoes (Audio CD)
This was Little Feat's second LP, and for me easily their best, with a selection of killer songs and a great sound. Lowell George was still the main man with the songs rooted in rock, blues and country rather than the jazz of their later albums, which had Bill Payne more to the fore.

'Willin' from the debut release is reworked and unbelievably made even better with a more country feel. The title track is wonderful laid-back melodic gospel blues, with great obscure lyrics. Indeed all the songs have lyrics out of left field, which you can happily sing along with but later you think "Hang on what the hell does that mean?!?"

Bill's contributions here include two unusual songs `Got no shadow' and `Cat fever' and a more straight-forward (apart from the meaning) co-composition with Ritchie Hayward `Tripe face boogie'. Lowell's contributions go from the tuneful acoustic `Trouble', through the sophisticated rock of `Easy to slip', the "progressive" blues of `Cold, cold, cold' and `Apolitical Blues', to the "file-under-unclassifiable" `Texas Rose Café'.

This really was a great set of songs that formed the core of the Feats' live sets for years to come and still sounds great and totally original today. The songs are all extremely catchy and while rooted in rock, blues and country they have a twist and an intelligence that set them apart from their contemporaries' songs at the time. I remember that the Virgin mail order catalogue of the early 70s had "Sailin' Shoes" labelled as a `modern classic' - it still is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Feat, 5 Aug 2010
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sailin' Shoes (Audio CD)
I have never been so mystified by an Amazon review as I am by the guy who calls this magnificent album `a turkey`. One or two of the original Little Feat`s later offerings may show a slight falling off, but Sailin` Shoes is a masterpiece - as, to my mind, are their eponymous debut and their 4th album, Feats Don`t Fail Me Now, classics both.
This loosely sumptuous collection of varied, often surprisingly thoughtful, even melancholic, songs is up there with such jewels of the genre as `The Band`, Free`s first two LPs, and the Stones` Sticky Fingers. In different ways, they have a lot in common with all three of those bands. The late, truly great Lowell George had a slightly Jaggerish voice, if more authentically soulful-bluesy, they echoed Free`s spareness and awareness of dynamics, and like The Band they wrote terrific songs with idiosyncratic lyrics.
And they could all play their socks off.
The Feat can be sleazy, sexy, soulful, bluesy, insinuating, funky as hell, exciting as anything, mad as a bag of snakes, surprising - but rarely predictable, bland, or less than an adornment to any record collection.
I wept sad, angry tears when the unique Lowell G died in `79. I loved the man. Far too young...
Their fans included Dylan, The Stones, Bonnie Raitt, Jackson Browne, Page, Plant - and me. Lowell, often with other Feat members, played backup for just about everybody - except me.
They were a magisterially fine band and this is Little Feat at their all too brief peak. Perhaps their one perfect album.
Turkey, my arse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finding their Feat, 29 Nov 2011
By 
N. Watson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This album is a wonderful album with very strong songs but it is a band still finding its way. Little Feat at this stage had a great deal in common with the Stones except where the Stones were fizzling out after 'Exile on Main Street' the best of Little Feat was just around the corner. Willin' Trouble, Easy to Slip hit the highs as well as Ritchie Hayward's drumming on Apolitical blues but Lowell's voice is much better on the later albums with the exception being 'I've been the one' which is off the first which still makes the hairs on my receding head stand on end. Each album has it's own distinctive approach that avoids the formulaic and sets about experimentation with funk, jazz country, re-recording some songs in different ways. If you give Little Feat more than one spin you will be hooked for life as I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars new comer to little feat, 5 May 2010
By 
Mr. C. J. Emmerson "2kegs" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sailin' Shoes (Audio CD)
I have always known of this band, but for some reason have never had it in my collection. I am big fan 70's rock music especially the likes of Stephen Stills, Big Star and The Band. After seeing some youtube footage I started with this one. The ablum contains fantastic muscianship from a clearly very tight band. From rock, country, blues and some very funky basslines and not mention Lowell George's southern tinged with a hint of tobacco vocals this is a fine album that is getting better with each listen. Looking forward to discovering more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent example of early little feat., 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sailin' Shoes (Audio CD)
As a big fan of little feat l am very impressed by this CD.
The fact that it has teenage nervous breakdown on it makes it perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An album with its moments, 23 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sailin' Shoes (Audio CD)
Although it doesn't reach the class of the follow up album, Dixie Chicken, this is a really good cd. Technically little feat were a brilliant band, tight, imaginative and with an infalliable feel for the groove. Prime little numbers such as Teenage Nervous Breakdown and Texas Rose Cafe show the width of their abilities. Not stunning, but very, very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not special, 30 Oct 2010
By 
G. Roberts "vid-wiz" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sailin' Shoes (Audio CD)
As a recent convert to LF I started with Dixie Chicken which is excellent. Allmusic rates sailin Shoes on a par but to me its not in the same league.

I have found that I like the Times loves a hero which many don't rate.

Just shows that you have to make your own mind up on each one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Turkey, 16 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sailin' Shoes (Audio CD)
I have always been a fan of Little Feat but their album "Sailin' shoes" is sadly not one of their best in my opinion.The production is very poor and it's hard to find a song that is any good.However I have heard some of the songs on a live album and managed to find the essence that makes Little Feat such a great band....great feel and vocal from lowell George.Sailin' Shoes sounds like an album I would expect from a band that shows promise but havn't quite got there yet?Most bands have a turkey....I guesse this one is theirs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sailin' Shoes
Sailin' Shoes by Little Feat
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews