Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understand the French bureaucracy
The French system of renting or buying properties needs understanding before making any decision regarding a property in France and this book provides an excellent and comprehensive summary of their system. The book covers all these plus many other topics such as working in France, taking your car, your money and your pets - even your wife. It covers every conceivable...
Published on 21 April 2012 by Happy Harry

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good starting point
A good introduction to the practical issues involved with moving to France. Covers all the key aspects. A French friend read it and thought it was accurate.
Published on 23 Jan. 2013 by DT


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understand the French bureaucracy, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The French system of renting or buying properties needs understanding before making any decision regarding a property in France and this book provides an excellent and comprehensive summary of their system. The book covers all these plus many other topics such as working in France, taking your car, your money and your pets - even your wife. It covers every conceivable aspect regarding everyday matters - a comprehensive and essential reference, highly recommended. The book also has that essential ingredient - a sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good starting point, 23 Jan. 2013
A good introduction to the practical issues involved with moving to France. Covers all the key aspects. A French friend read it and thought it was accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Working in France, 14 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. S. J. White (Eastbourne, Sussex, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a basic and practical guide to living and working in France, and as thus is a good handbook to keep at one's side if relocating. But in Chapter 19 - 'The French' - some of his gratuitous and offensive generalisations about the French I found astonishing in a book that is supposed to support and encourage people to live and work in that country. His opening paragraph is breathtaking, 'A typical French person is artificial, elitist...racist..unhygienic...truculent...callous...bad tempered'..and about forty other both unflattering and bizarrely flattering adjectives. I wonder what a Frenchman writing a Living in Britain handbook might write of us?

I imagine the writer thinks he's being witty and ironic, but in fact it just comes across as both offensive and pointless. The book would be better if it stopped this puerile stereotyping and stuck with the facts. Especially as the writer now lives in the small, typically French area of............Bath, Wiltshire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative, 3 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living and Working in France (Kindle Edition)
A great insight into France and was enormously helpful to me as I am extremely interested in living in France in the near future. Covered everything I wanted to know with a nice couple of jokes in places. So well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know, 29 April 2014
This book is a comprehensive, well-researched and well-organized book that tells you everything you need to know about moving to France, living there, going to school, working, buying property, driving and just about anything you might want to do. The level of detail is impressive and shows very thorough research indeed. As Lonely Planet is to budget travellers (the one-stop reference for everything you need to survive on the road), so the Living and Working series is to would-be expats who want to live and work abroad. David Hampshire has put in the research so that you can make your way through the tangle of confusing and obscure local rules and local knowledge that you need to survive and thrive in France. Two thumbs up! (This book is one of over a dozen in a series that covers many popular expat destinations.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very practical resource that makes for an essential guide ..., 9 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Living and Working in France (Kindle Edition)
A very practical resource that makes for an essential guide on the subject. f you are coming from the UK in particular you will find living in France a very different experience especially with some of the red tape in setting up a business. This book will add clarity around the subject and give you answers to questions at your finger tips. Even reading juts one chapter removed a concern we had on education so well worth buying the book if France is your planned destination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book for relocating to France., 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is THE book if you are thinking of moving to France to live. Covers everything you are likely to need. The only issue is that as the Frnech government keeps trying to manage the situation there some elements are a litte out of date - this does not detract from the book in anyway. You still need to follow the rule of location, location, location and know the area your propose to live in. Vendor delivered to time and to value - can recommend without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit tongue-in-cheek, 16 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is comprehensive, I found it too tongue-in-cheek and a little sneering towards the French (must we still bang on about the war?). I bought it as part of a plan to live and work in France from 2014 with my current international company. It covers most things I'd expect it to. I felt there were a lot of plugs there for other books by the same publisher. I'll take a positive from it, that it provides a check list of things I'll need to research more thoroughly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Living and Working in France, 17 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living and Working in France (Kindle Edition)
This is a comprehensive resource for anyone looking to relocate to France. The author has answered all the questions that I did not even know to ask. I bought this Kindle version as an update on an earlier version;I was keen to ensure that I had information that was current and covered any changes since 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great informative book . Lots of practical and accurate advice. Purchased originally as a gift for a friend moving here we decided to buy one for ourselves . After reading it we learned a lot from it and we have lived in France for five years. Do not hesitate to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Living and Working in France
Living and Working in France by David Hampshire
£7.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews