Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars127
4.8 out of 5 stars
Price:£8.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2012
If you're not already a fan of Rory's Story Cubes, prepare to be converted! Such a simple idea, but beautifully executed.

The dice are nicely heavy in the hand: children really want to roll them. The storage box is also superb quality: you know that it'll last you for a long time.

I've used these dice (and the other two sets available) in the classroom to inspire story telling and with my own children to occupy them on journeys. Sets can be shared across a class, with each group/table having different ones, or use a visualiser to show the same dice to the whole class. They will each interpret the pictures in their own way. Simply superb for shared writing or poetry. Think of something for each letter of the alphabet that fits the rolled image(s) or tell a story as a random die is chosen and rolled, or add another item to the list that gets ever longer ...

Lovely dice, with countless uses :-)
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 December 2012
As is usually the case with games, the most simple ideas are often the best. How much easier to play could a game be than picking up a handful of 'story cube' dice throwing them on the table and then, letting your imagination be guided by the combination of random images your throw has provided, either writing or telling a story beginning with 'Once Upon A Time'?

Rory's Story Cubes are not only educational, fun, and challenging they are perfect for parties when late in the hour the dancing has ceased and people are chatting around a table with a glass of wine. Writing clubs will also find them an invaluable tool for inspiring great works from members at workshops and the best thing about them is that there are millions of possible combinations so no two workshops will ever be the same!

The cubes come in a really tough little box with a magnetic fastener (nice touch!). They are of good quality manufacture and even repeated use is unlikely to cause any of the print to come off unlike many other cheap dice games.

Add to the fun the fact that other 'themed' sets ('Actions' & A 'Random' set') of 'Story Cubes' are also available and can be 'mixed & matched' together in any combination you choose and you have a simple game with endless twists and turns that will keep you and your friends amused until the end of time!

These 'Voyages' dice are especially great for combining with the 'Random' set and parents of small kids needing inspiration for the latest installment of their current 'bedtime story' will find them invaluable!

Charming, enchanting and with the ability to re-awaken the kid in even the oldest adult.

Essential.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
I brought this product for my 6 year old son because he is a lazy reader! Very capable but lazy! I also brought the other ranges. When they arrived we sat down as a family and played lots of story telling with them - It was hilarious and even my 5 year old girl loved it. It really opened up his imagination! So much so that recently his story was shortlisted to receive an award and our local Festival of Literature! He didnt win but we keep playing with the cubes!!! Definate buy for all children!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 31 January 2016
Overview: These are a set of cubes which show a different image on each face. The aim of these are for the children to roll them and put them in order to make a sequence ready for a story. The child is then to use their imagination to create a story based on those characters, props and themes.

The images include: camera, helmet, backpack, musical note, crab, map, treasure chest, axe, beans, snake, monkey, trophy, man, elephant, mushroom, cogs, bib, tent, cactus, cauldron, octopus, glasses, crow, waves, test tube etc.

Uses: These are a fantastic resource to use in the classroom or at home. They come in a variety of styles which will suit different topics and children's interests. In the classroom they can be used individually with children or they could be used as a whole group with each child having a different image to add to the whole class story (e.g. sit in a circle and try to add a sequence to the running story). At home, or in the car journey they can be used to keep children amused and stimulated throughout.

They are:
> Compact, lightweight and durable.
> Come in a lovely presentation box to keep them safe!
> Have a different image on each face e.g a character, prop or themes/ideas.
> Have a variety of themes to choose from e.g. other imagination ones and a new batman one has just been released.

Would highly recommend to anyone who has children or works with them! They are fab!!!! Many hours of enjoyment

Activity ideas:
> Could be used to help develop EAL learners language recall. This may include rolling a dice and the children in the small EAL group need to say the key word as quick as possible. The first child to say it wins a point.
> As a whole class each child could roll and dice and then one by one go around the room with each child adding an element to the story. The key language once upon a time could be used and focused on.The children would need to carefully listen to all the other children before them to enable them to create a story which flows and makes sense. For example, if Child A had an image of a Girl, Child B had an image of a tree, Child C had an image of a happy face, Child D had an image of a Phone. Every story by different children would be different as the images could be interpreted differently but the children's story could go: Child A - Once upon a time there was a little girl called Claire...
Child B - Claire was walking through the woods one day to get some fresh air...
Child C - Claire felt very happy...
Child D - Whilst walking Claire realised she had lost her phone...
> Individually a child could use a set to create a verbal story which could then be placed onto a story mountain and then written into a story.
> Individually a child could use a particular set to get them into role for a creative story linked to a topic. For example, the Batman set would be great for a superhero topic and would provide ideas of what language to use/what ideas to include.
> If your a parents, these could be great for uses on a long car journey. Let the children roll the dice and create their own stories either individually or as a group if they have siblings.
> I could see that these have the potential to be fun at family gatherings. For example at christmas they could be used to keep the kids entertained and i am sure the adults would not refrain from also joining in. This could then be used as a whole group to create a funny story.
> For other ways to play, as suggested by the official site visit: https://www.storycubes.com/play

Lets do the maths:
> There are 17 sets within 11 collections, some of which do contain doubles as a MAX version (larger size).
> As each collection has 9 dice, they contain a total of 54 different images which can also be mixed up to create a unique story.
> If you were to buy the whole lot that would be 594 images, however 162 of them would be doubles as they would be the MAX size (perfect for whole class as easier to view).
> In theory if you were to buy the lot you would have 432 different images and then 162 doubles which would still offer extra bits to add into the story.
>I love the way the images can be interpreted differently by each child - lets get them being creative!
>The possibilities really are endless!
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
Bought this for my 10yr old son & we took it on holiday to play in restaurants while waiting for our meals. Good fun & small enough to pop in your handbag when going out, keeps the kids entertained!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
These story cubes were purchased for my girlfriends birthday. It is fun to play as instructed, or create your own rules. This game can be easily modified to be fun for larger social groups at home, on the train, or in a pub. The quality of the cubes themselves is extremely high. The cubes are made of a high density plastic resin that are solid and feel well balanced. The pictures on the cubes are stamped in the plastic rather than painted on so they feel well made. The packaging is also really well designed, the case is small, very little wasted material and the magnetic clasp keeps the lid closed tightly enough not to worry about it opening up in your bag.

Overall, these game cubes are really fun, are made very well and they are relatively inexpensive. I would recommend these to anyone who is looking for a social/verbal game to play.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
I got the Storycubes to kickstart my creativity in a dry spell. I use it to force myself to create joins between random story ideas and actually bring each 9 part tale to a conclusion which I know is my weak point!

I have great fun with it and can see it being a staple of my writer's toolkit for years to come. I picked Voyages because it fit best with my fantasy/adventure bent. Tempted to collect all the sets too.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
I bought this and the orange 'first' set for my twins as they enjoy stories so I knew they'd like these. My one concern was that as this is an expansion set it might not work on it's own so whoever ended up with this set wouldn't get the most out of it unless some dice were swapped between the sets. I needn't have been concerned as the pictures on these dice cover everything and aren't just places to go and modes of transport to get there.

The dice are good quality weighty dice with the pictures etched on the faces rather than just printed on and one small detail I particularly like is that the pictures in this set are a different colour to the other set I bought so when they get mixed up it's easy to sort back into the correct sets again afterwards.

A word of warning though at bedtime I've been asked to read them a 'dice story' rather than a book so it's given my imagination a work out as well as theirs!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
I have two sets of cubes and may get more. I run creative writing groups and they are a great stimulus for adults or children. They can be used in so many ways to amuse, entertain, create little competitions, they are just good fun
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Fabulous for encouraging imaginative storytelling and could be used by an individual or by a group. I think to get the best from this product you need to buy along with other sets in order to give a variety of options or scenarios.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)