Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the favourite
I've been studying and working in ecology since 1987 and this is still the first book I turn to. Descriptions are clear and concentrate on distinguishing features. It's divided nicely into closely related groups with additional pages on fruits and nuts with a simple bark/leaf key. There's also a description of tree buds for winter ID.
Published on 22 Feb 2005 by Starscape

versus
86 of 89 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good little book, but with it problems, read below!
this book is exactly what you would expect from a little Collin's gem, it has good material through out, and a pretty good selection of the most common trees....but, i would have preferred to see real photographs rather than artists drawings, which, sometimes are not as good a reference as an image of the real thing. Furthermore i would have liked to see bigger images of...
Published on 21 April 2008 by PhysicsLady


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tree review, 14 Aug 2011
By 
Mrs. L. W. Baxendale (Leeds. W. Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trees (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
Not a very easy way to distinguish different trees as I expected. Has the information, but the graphics could be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, simple guide, 14 Jun 2011
By 
T. Peters - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trees (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
This is an easy to carry guide, which is good for the kids. I particularly like the leaf summary at the beginning as sometimes if you find a tree and you don't know what it is, how can you look it up without going through the whole book? I'd recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Collins Gem Trees, 26 April 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trees (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
This Collins Gem guide to Trees is simply brilliant. In a simple pocket sized format you get comprehensive information about a wide variety of trees that is easy to reference whilst at home or out and about. On each double page spread you get one page of information including Latin names, bark, leaves, flowers, fruit and related species and on the facing page you get a variety of colour illustrations of the various parts of the tree so you an distinguish one tree from another with ease. This also has a wonderful introduction with information about trees in general. This is an attractive and extremely useable book and is well worth a look if you like country walks and would like to identify more trees as you go.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pocket reference book, 8 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Trees (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
A very compact reference book which makes it handy when not carrying a backpack or similar. Could do with a leaf shape recognition guide to quickly narrow down a search
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compact, That is its Beauty, 13 July 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trees (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
No, this is not the best book ever written about trees, but it is handy to have in your pocket. and on a walk or in the countryside you will not see many trees that are not in this book.

As one reviewer has already said the drawings could be better, but they are adequate for the casual 'tree spotter' The information given about each tree is also adequate. There are many more advanced books that can be purchased for the real tree enthusiast (if there is such a term) and these can be used at home after you have made an identification from the Collins gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy, simple and fun, 27 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. M. Kitson "Mike K." (Manchester, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trees (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
Bought this book when we moved into a new house in '06. We now have five trees in our garden and plenty more in the surrounding area. Being an inquisitive sort of person I wanted to know what they were and decided on this little book from some reviews on Amazon. I was not dissapointed, really easy to use and in no time I had found out what I wanted. Clear and easy instructions and illustrations too. It does exactly what it says on the tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
This review is from: Trees (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
Arrived on time and as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trees (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
Arrived earlier than expected which was great great little book thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Kids, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trees (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
Great little book for kids on a walk. Inexpensive and if they like the outdoors and finding things when you're out this little book does the trick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trees, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trees (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
Bought this item for my son to help him with Arboriculture apprenticeship and it has helped identify different types of trees already so well happy with this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trees (Collins Gem)
Trees (Collins Gem) by Alastair Fitter
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews