Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars APPEALS TO THIS WOMAN OF A DANGEROUS AGE
I really enjoyed Fanny Blakes first novel and l have to say she is doing extremely well as a writer
and really hitting her stride with this book as a novelist of fabulous talent.

The plotline is amazing its a cracking story - two women meet on holiday hit it off immediately and
returning to delightful old Blighty find they have so much more in common...
Published on 22 April 2012 by Mrs. C. Swarfield

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light and escapist
Our heroines in this book are 45 and 55 and so I was hoping for something a bit different from the ditzy girls who inhabit chick-lit - but no: apparently age doesn't stop women from strewing their huge knickers all over airport concourses, buying beautiful shoes two sizes too small so that they're crippled on big nights out, and getting drunk and waking up in bed with the...
Published on 12 May 2012 by Roman Clodia


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars APPEALS TO THIS WOMAN OF A DANGEROUS AGE, 22 April 2012
By 
Mrs. C. Swarfield - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I really enjoyed Fanny Blakes first novel and l have to say she is doing extremely well as a writer
and really hitting her stride with this book as a novelist of fabulous talent.

The plotline is amazing its a cracking story - two women meet on holiday hit it off immediately and
returning to delightful old Blighty find they have so much more in common than they could have ever
anticipated. Not in the best of ways either....
What happens next is a victory for common sense, and above all womens ability to overcome the worst
that can be thrown at them.

I absolutely love Lou, shes a good natured chaotic romantic fond of a glass of wine or three - its a
happy liberating read and l was gutted to finish it, well done l am looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 28 April 2012
How often do you read books that make you look forward to a) your commute and b) going to bed? In my case it's almost never (especially since I hate both of those things) but, when I'm in the middle of a Fanny Blake novel, I want to go to bed early and get on the Tube for at least an hour.

Why? Because her characters feel like friends, and she really gets how important friendship is, her dialogue is spot on, almost uncannily so and I love being in the world she creates, however briefly. Most of all though, and the thing I like best, is that she has a really balanced eye for the absolute ridiculous nature of human endeavour and effort, both recognizing the importance of her characters' desires and ambitions, whilst at the same time gently mocking them in the light of the greater significance of love and relationships. If you want a book that is about real people and relationships, that explores friendship and frailty whilst being both thoughtful and funny then read this. Or the first one, What Women Want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read, 30 May 2012
By 
Mrs. T. SALMON "upstreamers" (streatham london) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I loved this book , I loved Lou , so much about her I found easy to identify with , as we are of the similar "dangerous age" the worries the too tight shoes , the sags and the drift downwards of the the fromer pert bits. Ali too is a character that I grew too like as you learn more about her it becomes easy to see why she led her life a serrial misstress. I will say the only thing I found a bit samey as other books is the opening of a shop selling vintage clothes , it seems to be a theme running through books of this type at the moment, not a huge problem but I just wonder why. It is nice to read one of these type of books with women of my age in rather than younger women , I would recommend for beach reading , sure to entertain and not depress
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light and escapist, 12 May 2012
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Our heroines in this book are 45 and 55 and so I was hoping for something a bit different from the ditzy girls who inhabit chick-lit - but no: apparently age doesn't stop women from strewing their huge knickers all over airport concourses, buying beautiful shoes two sizes too small so that they're crippled on big nights out, and getting drunk and waking up in bed with the wrong man.

This kind of light read depends on sympathetic heroines, and I didn't warm to either of these women. 45 year old Ali's prissy eating really irritated me (she's the sort of woman who pays nearly £50 for a hotel champagne tea then `scraped an almost invisible layer of cream onto her scone followed by an equally meagre dab of jam'); and Lou just never sounded right for a woman who'd previously had a big job on a fashion magazine.

So this is light and escapist, a bit rambling, and with no real over-arching plot - not so much chick-lit for grown-ups, as chick-lit featuring older women who still act like they're in their 20s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 3 May 2012
By 
pale rider (Truro, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Women of a Dangerous Age (Kindle Edition)
Was intrigued by the reviews - and the good ones are absolutely right! Fanny Blake tells a cracking story and this is a real Thelma and Louise kind of female buddy novel. Women are allies and not automatically rivals over men. It's witty - lots of very recognizeable rather cringe-making detail - good plot twists and a rather wise and satisfactory overall outcome. I really liked it and would recommend it to anyone of a dangerous age - or younger - who wanted an engrossing holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A competent novel that failed to capture my interest, 2 April 2012
By 
Laura T (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I thought this book was better in every sense than Fanny Blake's debut, 'What Women Want'; better-structured, better-written, and with much stronger, more convincing, central characters. However, I still failed to connect with it and found myself skim-reading near the end, and I'm not sure why. The plot is slightly different to the usual chick lit narrative, beginning with Lou and Ali's chance meeting during a package holiday to India. Both women are at turning points in their lives; Lou, who has three grown-up children, has just left her husband and is facing life as a single woman after several decades of marriage. Conversely, the slightly younger Ali is about to move in with her married boyfriend, who has finally decided to leave his wife, and end her career as a `serial mistress'. The women form a strong friendship, but neither could have predicted what's ahead.

I'm not entirely sure what was missing from this novel for me. Although I'm in my mid-twenties, I usually have no trouble identifying with older characters in books, and indeed it can be refreshing, especially in chick lit, to read about characters facing different dilemmas to the usual `who shall I go out with?' disaster. I've had to conclude that the writing simply wasn't pacy and gripping enough to keep me reading. Blake often devotes several pages to describing minor scenarios, such as Lou spilling something on her dress in a restaurant, or her case bursting open at the airport; perhaps these were meant to be humorous moments, but for me, they just slowed the narrative down without providing any form of comic relief.

The parallel plotlines of Lou and Ali's lives also frequently grind to a halt before sputtering into life again. There's a weird hiatus in Ali's narrative where she seems to have nothing to worry about but the untidiness of her boyfriend, before a contrived situation rears its head to provide some kind of tension before the end of the book, and Lou's story also features a couple of contrived crises that don't pay off in terms of character or plot development, such as an incident with a missing child. There is one twist about a third of the way through the novel that is beautifully pulled off, but after that, the tension seemed to slacken hopelessly.

As I've said, there is nothing really `wrong' with this novel; Lou and Ali are likeable and their relationships with family, lovers and each other well-written. For me, it was simply very hard to get into, and for this reason, I don't think I will be reading anything else by Fanny Blake in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Holiday Read, 12 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd brought a really serious volume on holiday hoping to get through it in all those hours on the beach but then, just like any of the women characters in Women of a Dangerous Age, I left it in the airport taxi. What a lucky accident! It was with a sense of relief that I turned the pages and met Lou and Ali, Nic, Hooker Don and Sanjeet, each with their own lives, loves and problems, and read how their story developed. Ali, the jewellery designer and serial mistress has a real and embarrassing connection with Lou, the struggling clothes designer, mother and dissatisfied wife just beginning to break away from her husband. They make friends, and the revelations that happen, to them and to the other characters, make this a real page turner, but the book is also full of convincing detail about their jobs, homes and relationships and the hilarious accidents that happen to us all. Above all it's wise and kind, and the ending gives one a real lift. I'd bought Women of a Dangerous Age on the recommendation of a friend because it looked light hearted and a good holiday read, and so it turned out to be, but also, how funny, wise and moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Read, Though Teenage Daughters May Not Fully Appreciate the Humour!, 11 Aug. 2012
By 
Brett H (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the story of Lou, a 50s something woman who determines to leave her, initially, only suspected of cheating husband, to abandon her three grown up children to their own devices at Christmas and to embark on a voyage of discovery to India, package organised of course!

She makes a new and very good woman friend and has a great adventure. On her return she reaffirms her decision to move out of the family home into a cottage left to her by her deceased and clearly much loved sister. The story charts her adventure into the unknown of her new life, into a new business with all its ups and downs, her vain attempts to maintain her sister's garden and the growing disorganisation of her domestic arrangements. She tries very hard to build a new life, but the past proves not so willing to be disregarded.

This novel is a wonder of crafting relationships, in particular Lou with her children and especially with her daughter, Nic. Any parent of a determined young woman will identify with such apt phrases as 'since she'd been sixteen........Nic had always given the impression that she'd rather be bound to a railway track than seek advice from her parents'. Also easily recognisable is Nic's constant angst with her mother's choice of colourful outfits which becomes particularly poignant when you learn that Mother was a fashion magazine editor for many years!

The ties that bind with her husband are also very strong, and despite Lou's strong determination to make a life of her own, her continuing concern for his welfare show the warmth and humanity of her nature and that the shared memories and special moments of a longstanding relationship are not at all easy to walk away from even when it is deep down what you want.

This novel has many twists and turns and has several surprises in store before its conclusion. The writing is warm, often funny and the story line is all too believable. The characters are realistic and one can recognise them in many friends and family members. The storyline makes this a hard book to put down and it is one of those books where you regret reaching the end as you want to continue reading and to learn more about the lives of these people. Altogether an excellent read, although you may fail to see some of the humour if you are a late teen to mid twenties daughter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining read, 16 May 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lou and Ali - both forty something - meet on a holiday to India. Lou has just walked out of her marriage. Ali is contemplating a new start with her long term boyfriend who has promised to leave his wife and move in with her. Lou and Ali strike up an unlikely friendship and continue to meet once they return to London. Before long they realise they have more in common than a holiday in India at a turning point in their lives.

This is an entertaining read for anyone who wants a novel which doesn't feature women in their early twenties. I found the backgrounds to this story - India, vintage clothes and making jewellery - added extra dimensions to the stories of the two women. Their family lives are also of interest - Lou's husband, Hooker, and Ali's mother who disappeared when she was a child. Lou has grown up children who have mixed reactions to their parents' split. Will Lou decide to go back to her husband and how will Ali's life work out?

I enjoyed this novel and found I cared about the characters who have all too human faults and virtues. The author handles her relatively large cast of characters well and I never forgot who was who. The dialogue is believable and the situations plausible. If you like fiction with interesting characters and situations then try this book. It is likely to appeal to anyone who enjoys books by Elizabeth Buchan and Joanna Trollope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 7 Mar. 2012
By 
Mistyange "Mistyang" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have passed this dangerous age. I really enjoyed the story of Ali and Lou who met by coincidence in India at the Taj Mahal. I liked both the characters and the storyline. The book follows Lou and Ali as they become friends and business aquaintances, but their love life thats another matter. Ali had been a mistress to married men for so long and Lou recently separated from her husband of many years now her children are grown up. What happen's next, read it and see, it is well worth a read and not having read any of Fanny's books before I quite enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Women of a Dangerous Age
£4.30
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews