Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good pocket book.
Ideal book to put in the pocket when out walking. Easy to find description of flowers you are looking for. Does not contain identification of all plants you will find. Only a larger field guide could do this and so would be too big to put in the pocket. This book is fine for what it is designed for.
Delivered quickly and in good condition.
Published on 7 Sep 2009 by B. W. Jones

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great on paper, rubbish as an eBook
Oh dear, oh dear, why are these types of guide just such rubbish as an eBook? I own and love most of the Collins Gem series of guides as paper books but why lug a knapsack paper books around when in theory you can have all of them ready for action in your SmartPhone, Tablet, etc. The answer is that every conversion I have seen so far of these guides is at best woeful to...
Published 13 months ago by Richard Meatyard


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good pocket book., 7 Sep 2009
By 
B. W. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ideal book to put in the pocket when out walking. Easy to find description of flowers you are looking for. Does not contain identification of all plants you will find. Only a larger field guide could do this and so would be too big to put in the pocket. This book is fine for what it is designed for.
Delivered quickly and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gem for small and big children, 30 May 2009
By 
JV Harding (Dorset England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent well illustrated hand hold size
quick on spot info and easy id in garden or trips out
for both adults and children.
Well done Michael Chinery and Collins Gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 26 May 2009
After a wonderful spring walk in the Peak District I was stunned by the beautiful wild flowers, but had no clue as to their names. This book is a fantastic pocket-sized directory and an informative read. I also have the Bird and Butterfly books and would thoroughly recommend them for the novice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little book for a small price., 29 Jun 2012
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I admit that I know a fair amount about our native wildflowers and their names but recently I have come across some that I hadn't got a clue about so I bought this excellent little pocket book which gives you great illustrations and also different facts about the plants/flowers themselves. It even tells you which plants can be used herbally and naturally enough, those plants which should be avoided like Belladonna berries and also Bryony berries which look sooooo tempting to eat but are in fact very toxic.

A great little field guide which fits nicely into a pocket and isn't too heavy. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little reference book, 4 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This covers the main species of wild flowers in our country with clear photographs and succinct but useful descriptions, including medicinal uses where applicable which adds interest.
It's small enough to put into a pocket when out walking. A highly recommended starter book on wild flowers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Gem, 22 Nov 2009
By 
William Yeomans (Loughborough UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great field reference that has yet to leave my wifes rucksack, clear and consise descriptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great on paper, rubbish as an eBook, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Flowers (Collins Gem) (Kindle Edition)
Oh dear, oh dear, why are these types of guide just such rubbish as an eBook? I own and love most of the Collins Gem series of guides as paper books but why lug a knapsack paper books around when in theory you can have all of them ready for action in your SmartPhone, Tablet, etc. The answer is that every conversion I have seen so far of these guides is at best woeful to dire.

The attempts to link the key to the reference pages varies from barely acceptable to none existent. Cross references in detail pages have the paper book page numbers and no Hyperlinks. The searchable items section contains an index of items with paper book numbers and an apology that these numbers do not match the ebook use your readers search feature.

Such an attitude when the technology is perfectly capable of producing a reference ebook that is fully cross referenced and Hyperlinked, windows help files have been doing it for years.

These ebooks are simply not fit for purpose. Come on publishers, take a look a some of the excellent online reference guides and go back to the drawing board. A ebook reference guide should be quicker and easier to use than its paper equivalent not a shameful second best.

Also a warning. It appears that the reviews that appear here are for both paper and ebook versions so you need to bear this in mind when looking at reviews of anything that is not a straighforward read from cover to cover, i.e. fiction books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great size to carry around, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a lovely size to fit into ruck sack or pocket. Pictures are not bad. It's a little difficult to use as it categorises flowers into 'families' and being a complete beginner I find that quite a challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No so easy to track down plants, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The layout of this book is by specie anda bit difficult to find individual plants, but cheap, compact to carry and arrived quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Identification of flowers, 10 Jun 2012
By 
P. Park (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is informative and useful however as I bought it to identify wild flowers it is a little cumbersome as it expects you to know the flower name so you need to go through the whole book to find what you are looking for.
Perhaps a break down in colours would have been better for my purposes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Flowers (Collins Gem)
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews