Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Back to the drawing board, 28 Feb 2012
This review is from: BISMARCK 2013 - Hitler's Curse (Kindle Edition)
I must admit, this is the first book I really struggled all the way through. The concept and blurb grabbed my attention, at first. Then I started reading.

When it come to historical fiction (as is the case) I expect the facts to be relatively correct. If those facts are correct, then the story should flow with minor problems. Not the case. The book starts in May of 1941 and somehow France has not fallen? Hitler is on the bridge of the Bismarck smoking and the Bismarck is being salvaged in the Denmark Straight? For those of us a little familiar with history, the above three are about as wrong as one can guess. We are also led to be believe that the Brittanic was sunk by U-boats when it was actually holed by a mine in 1916 and last but not least there is no such island geography of the Balkan Islands in the Baltic or North Sea. Okay, with that out of the way I pressed on. One glaring reference that was made multiple times is that the Bismarck is battleship and not a destroyer. If the word would have been italicized, it would have driven the point home.l

The idea has a lot of merit. Adolph Hitler (with the help of Dr. Joseph Mengle) assists with twin conceived by Adolph and Eva. One problem, the children (child) that is borne is a deformed demonic twin. Hitler can not deal with the aberration in that his own policies would put the child to death and bring great embarrassment to him and the Third Reich. He sees a way out of the dilemma and leaves the stillborn in the hands of Admiral Luetjens and Captain Lindemman to dispose of properly in the depths of the Atlantic. What no one realizes is the evil that possess the body and mind of Adolph is alive and well in the two dead (?) singular twins having dire consequences for all who come in contact with them.

One other caveat, there is a spy on board the mighty battleship working for the British Admiralty with their own agenda. Now that is a great story line and very commendable.

I don't like being really critical of fellow authors when it comes to editing issues, but Mr. Walker, it would be very prudent for the editors and proof-readers to give this another go. There are copious spelling errors through the work and in the beginning one very glaring area was the none use of parenthesis where needed.

Is the story line good? Yes. Is the concept well thought out? Yes. It just needs a lot of polishing and reformatting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bismarck 2013, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BISMARCK 2013 - Hitler's Curse (Kindle Edition)
The synopsis of this book caught my interest and as it was a free Kindle book i downloaded it and WAS looking forward to reading it. Although I take interest in the military history my knowledge of World War II Naval history is limited.

It seems that the author has no knowledge of military history, Naval or otherwise, or has carried out some very shoddy research.

Whilst i recognise that it is a work of fiction but given the facts that the Bismarck did exist and World War II did happen i would have thought the author would have least got some basic facts correct, for example by 1941 France had actually fallen to the Germans. It's this kind of thing that has spoiled this book for me as much as i tried to ignore these basic errors i found i couldn't and i gave up on it.

Best advice i can give is that if you know anything about military history DON'T read this book because it will drive you nuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Stars, 24 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BISMARCK 2013 - Hitler's Curse (Kindle Edition)
Stopped Reading this book at 50% thought it was rubbish didnt like the story at all .. glad i got it free at the time..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not one I would recommend, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BISMARCK 2013 - Hitler's Curse (Kindle Edition)
Book Review: Bismarck 2013 - Hitler's Curse by Robert Walker
Reviewed by J Bryden Lloyd

Writing Style - 2.5/5.0 (Average)
A flowing style with fair dialogue are all big positives for what must have been a huge undertaking as a writer. Unfortunately I thought the general editing let the book down slightly, but a nicely twisting set of sub-plots that make this a reasonable read.

Character Development - 3.0/5.0 (Okay)
Credit where it's due, the characters on the dive team are good and reasonably well rounded, and the two main characters develop continually throughout the story. I did not feel this was the same for the other characters in the early stages.
As the story moves between past and future, the author uses the actual crew of the Bismarck to build his story around, developing one unique, fictional character in the midst of the genuine crew members, who is the key to the unfolding story.

Descriptive - 2.0/5.0 (Poor)
A bit of research would have made a good descriptive very much stronger. The environment of the dive-ship is perhaps not given the finite detailing that the Bismarck gets, or even the mini-subs, but the atmosphere and the feelings of the crew feel real and potent in the pre-dive narrative.
Regrettably there were a lot of historical inaccuracies with regards to the state of the war and other details in the general narrative (too many to detail here). Suffice to say the author missed a trick here.
Once the dive begins and the main plot is revealed, the tension-building is very good and very consistent throughout.

Language & Grammar - 3.0/5.0 (Okay)
The editing is not of a high standard, and I would suggest a read through and polish, but the author uses his word selections well to impart a lot of information throughout the story - if more of this had been as fact-based as the names and jobs of the crew members, it would have made this far more readable. The atmosphere in the part of the book dedicated to the `tapes' was nicely enveloped in the narrative, and the genuine doubt felt by some of the team was very well portrayed.

Plot - 2.0/5.0 (Poor) - MINOR SPOILERS
The story revolves around the historical facts surrounding the voyage and sinking of the German WWII Battleship, Bismarck, but uses a fictional story of intrigue and horror to build an alternative tale of what happened aboard the fated ship as the British fleet closed in. Unfortunately, mixed in with all of this, are a LOT of incorrect facts.
The sub-plot of the fictional British spy aboard Bismarck, and the underlying threat of the casket delivered personally by Adolph Hitler, play the central roles in the historical flashbacks of the piece.
I thought the balance of this was good, and the use of the genuine crew members (some of whom survived) stood as testimony to the work the author put into those elements of the book.
As a paranormal thriller, this was good, but I have to say that the general issues with the research side of the work made it exceedingly frustrating. As much as I can see where the author was going with this, it may have been better to have an entirely fictional ship and then the story would not have been relying so heavily on true historical fact.
The ending of the mission was slightly predictable, but good nevertheless. I did, however, feel that the epilogue seemed to be hurried and (for the most part) unnecessary.

General - 2.5/5.0 (Average)
This is one of those books that the paranormal fans will stay away from, thinking it's all about the battle that sank the Bismarck. At the same time, thriller readers, will dodge it because they think it's all ghosts and blind panic.
In fairness, there is a reasonable element of both, but this fits nicely into the paranormal thriller genre, despite the fact-based subject matter being off the mark. If this is something you are not bothered about, perhaps this is the book for you.
I'm not going to say it's the best I've read. It isn't. But it is one I would just about recommend.

2 stars. Not really something I would recommend, but whatever floats your boat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I started with high hopes, 27 Oct 2012
This review is from: BISMARCK 2013 - Hitler's Curse (Kindle Edition)
The author has written more than 40 books, some on how to write, so how does he earn a living? Not from writing books like this! Badly written, full of technical and factual errors, packed with inconsistances and spelling mistakes its beyond a joke its criminal. Has he never heard of Google or proof reading? I gave it up and so should you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BISMARCK 2013 - Hitler's Curse
6.12
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews