Customer Reviews


188 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice compact surge protected mains extension
The extension block has 4 sockets, two on either side of the block itself, plus two USB sockets for charging anything which can use USB power. Both USB sockets provide the standard 500mA, so are fairly slow at charging high power equipment such as phones, but convenient enough if you are using the other 4 sockets for other equipment, and can save packing space since you...
Published on 24 Jun. 2012 by ngmilne

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice extension lead but USB charging is not good
The layout of the 13A plugs is nice, it keeps the extension quite compact. It makes a lot of sense to screw the extension down if you can to stop it moving around because you’re pushing plugs in from the side, rather than down into the sockets.
The USB charging is disappointing, the output for both sockets is only 1amp, so it will charge one iPhone fine, but...
Published 9 months ago by John


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice compact surge protected mains extension, 24 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
The extension block has 4 sockets, two on either side of the block itself, plus two USB sockets for charging anything which can use USB power. Both USB sockets provide the standard 500mA, so are fairly slow at charging high power equipment such as phones, but convenient enough if you are using the other 4 sockets for other equipment, and can save packing space since you don't need a separate mains to USB converter brick.
I bought this specifically for the surge protection since I was travelling to India, and can confirm all my equipment survived the many power cuts experienced on the trip without any trouble!
The two lights are indeed bright, but strategic application of some black electrical tape would probably mask all traces of the light!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These Masterplugs can be mounted on a wall or panel, 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
There are two mounting points on the underside of the base of the lead to allow it to be hooked over protruding screw heads. Using these mountings will have the lead sit against the wall as if the wall was a floor (so lights on the front, sockets either side with cables running back to the wall.

For convenience these mountings are cross shaped, allowing secure installation in whichever orientation is most convenient.

The two iluminated lamps do not register any current usage on my Fluke meter, this indicates hardley any use of electricity being used through the lamps being left on.
I have used this unit for connecting my DVD recorder, TV and sound bar, the later two I have fitted switched plugs to switch off these units enabling the recorder to power-up when recording, whenever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAster plug review, 19 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
I have had this iem for about two weeks. IT looks great and no matter what you connect to it there is enough space for 4 plugs. Unlike other expensive makes that if you use a large adaptor it blocks the space for other plugs etc, with this one you can use even 4 large power supplies and they will all fit - this is due to orientation of the sockets on the masterplug.

The two well located USB chargers are great two. There are two beatiful lights to indicate the On status and surge protection. Highly recommended. It is very well made and this is a quality product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice extension lead but USB charging is not good, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
The layout of the 13A plugs is nice, it keeps the extension quite compact. It makes a lot of sense to screw the extension down if you can to stop it moving around because you’re pushing plugs in from the side, rather than down into the sockets.
The USB charging is disappointing, the output for both sockets is only 1amp, so it will charge one iPhone fine, but plug in anything else that needs a high current to charge it, like another phone, and both devices report that they are not charging. It takes a very long time to charge a tablet.
When an iPhone is plugged in, I experience problems with the touch screen detecting where my fingers are on the screen, this is one of the symptoms that the quality of the charger is quite low and that the output voltage is not properly smoothed.
You probably buy this device for the USB and pay a premium over conventional extension leads for it so to have it not work well just makes this a bit of a gimmick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent power pack, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
The power block came well packaged as expected from amazon with no damage, as well as delivered 2 days before estimated time so very impressed.
The power block itself is a decent product with a good looking design that actually looks good placed on the desk rather then hidden like the usual extension blocks. It has 4 sockets in total which is useful, however you can get the white 6 socket version for £3 more. I guess i still bought this as i had no use for 6 sockets. The product is well built and gives the impression it is made to last.
I have read some previous reviews where it states the light is very bright at night and people need to tape this, personally if you sleep in an entire dark room then fair enough but i do not feel its as bright as people make out to be. In fact I have a router in my room and other gadgets that are far brighter. So purchase without hesitation as it DOES NOT light up your whole room as people claim. I'm not sure how the light stops people from sleeping as normal people do not see much once their eyes are closed.....lol unless you have transparent eye lids that is ;-P
The only negative aspect of this product is that the sockets are designed for the plugs to be placed downwards. This is fine if the cable points upwards, However if you use a Samsung charger for example or similar type of plugs then the usb cable gets in the way and the product cannot be placed flat. This is the main design flaw in the product but most plugs should be fine and the fact the cable points upwards means that it will remain flat on a surface rather than look as if its going to fall to one side. It also has two slots at the bottom which means it has the option of being hung on a wall. Another aspect is that a phone can be charged via the USB but anything that requires more power will not be charged. An example would be an Ipad which would probably need more power to charge.
overall it is a very good product and for the design and nothing similar in the market it seems like a product which people would happily buy. I think its a great looking product that fulfills the purpose its being used for, however this also means that certain plugs may cause the block to tilt side ways. I would buy this product again if need arises as the on the whole its a well designed and modern looking surge protector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
This product is compact neat and just what i needed to add extra power for devices on my desk, the cable is log enough not to need to plug it into another extension (which would sort of defeat the purpose if you ask me).
Illuminated lights let you know its working and are not too bright as other reviews suggest (although being able to switch power off from the adapter as opposed to the wall switch would have been a nice touch.
The USB ports produce enough charge for my iPhone 5, iPods etc.

All in all just what i needed :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good - Aside from the blasted lights, 30 Mar. 2012
By 
DKB (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
I bought the Masterplug as I have a combination of bedside products (laptop/phone etc..,) that are plugged in at any given time. I liked the idea of having optional usb ports, saving me those sockets I would have used for my phone.

Saying that though, it doesn't charge my Blackberry via usb, which is annoying, but it does charge my Sansa Clip Zip, and other small usb items like my camera.

The four sockets are spaced well, but are upside down, which is again just a tad annoying for the Blackberry Charger!

All in all though, it's a good product - aside from the one annoyance that REALLY does bug me. The stupid white and blue lights. Even when there's nothing plugged into the unit, those lights are still on. And they are BRIGHT. In a darkened room, it's very very annoying, so I've taken to putting something over them, which takes the light down a bit. I would put down black tape, but it's still under (a very good) warranty.

To sum up, bit annoying on the Blackberry charging, very annoying on the lights, but overall a good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very handy, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
The USB doesn't like to charge 2 iPhones at same time
But I can plug an iPhone and a blackberry in so I presume that's more to so with iPhone than master plug
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charges iPad and iPhone, but not strong enough for an eCigarette, 10 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
Looks like people either like or hate the white and blue LED. I like them, but they are strong.

Note that the on/off logo you see in the picture is NOT an actual on/off switch but just a symbol. I was unsure when ordering but didn't really care either way.

The Amazon descriptions containing both "6-Gang" and "USB & Telecom Ports" are both clearly wrong. The product is as pictured with four sockets and two USB ports.

Confirmed as charging an iPad1 and iPhone3. However it fails to provide my eCigarette with enough power to be usable. Thus it is not as powerful as the USB2 ports on a modern laptop or desktop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adaptable adapter, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
I bought 2 of these, one for my desk at work and one to travel. They are excellent, offer greater reach, more sockets, surge protection for my expensive gadgets and 2 very useful USB charging points which work well for my iPhone, iPad Mini, iPod Classic and Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews