Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice compact surge protected mains extension
The extension block has 4 sockets, two on either side of the block itself, plus two USB sockets for charging anything which can use USB power. Both USB sockets provide the standard 500mA, so are fairly slow at charging high power equipment such as phones, but convenient enough if you are using the other 4 sockets for other equipment, and can save packing space since you...
Published on 24 Jun 2012 by ngmilne

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Apple, bad for Blackberry
**Note: the USB socket is not suitable for charging the Blackberry Bold or 8900 phones

Pros:
- Perfectly decent and compact 4-way adapter (though I still prefer Belkin's bigger offerings)
- USB sockets (2) charge iPhone and iPad
- Nice and compact. Robust enough.

Cons:
- Bright LED (had to put gaffer tape over it)
- Doesn't...
Published 21 months ago by Charlie


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Apple, bad for Blackberry, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
**Note: the USB socket is not suitable for charging the Blackberry Bold or 8900 phones

Pros:
- Perfectly decent and compact 4-way adapter (though I still prefer Belkin's bigger offerings)
- USB sockets (2) charge iPhone and iPad
- Nice and compact. Robust enough.

Cons:
- Bright LED (had to put gaffer tape over it)
- Doesn't charge blackberry phones (tried using blackberry-supplied cable - had to waste a socket for the BB charger)
- It rocks around a bit when plugging things in. Not always useful having wires pointing up!

Overall, a decent and compact 4-way adapter that also charges Apple products perfectly well. Just a shame about the bright LED and lack of Blackberry support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice compact surge protected mains extension, 24 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
The extension block has 4 sockets, two on either side of the block itself, plus two USB sockets for charging anything which can use USB power. Both USB sockets provide the standard 500mA, so are fairly slow at charging high power equipment such as phones, but convenient enough if you are using the other 4 sockets for other equipment, and can save packing space since you don't need a separate mains to USB converter brick.
I bought this specifically for the surge protection since I was travelling to India, and can confirm all my equipment survived the many power cuts experienced on the trip without any trouble!
The two lights are indeed bright, but strategic application of some black electrical tape would probably mask all traces of the light!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent power pack, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
The power block came well packaged as expected from amazon with no damage, as well as delivered 2 days before estimated time so very impressed.
The power block itself is a decent product with a good looking design that actually looks good placed on the desk rather then hidden like the usual extension blocks. It has 4 sockets in total which is useful, however you can get the white 6 socket version for 3 more. I guess i still bought this as i had no use for 6 sockets. The product is well built and gives the impression it is made to last.
I have read some previous reviews where it states the light is very bright at night and people need to tape this, personally if you sleep in an entire dark room then fair enough but i do not feel its as bright as people make out to be. In fact I have a router in my room and other gadgets that are far brighter. So purchase without hesitation as it DOES NOT light up your whole room as people claim. I'm not sure how the light stops people from sleeping as normal people do not see much once their eyes are closed.....lol unless you have transparent eye lids that is ;-P
The only negative aspect of this product is that the sockets are designed for the plugs to be placed downwards. This is fine if the cable points upwards, However if you use a Samsung charger for example or similar type of plugs then the usb cable gets in the way and the product cannot be placed flat. This is the main design flaw in the product but most plugs should be fine and the fact the cable points upwards means that it will remain flat on a surface rather than look as if its going to fall to one side. It also has two slots at the bottom which means it has the option of being hung on a wall. Another aspect is that a phone can be charged via the USB but anything that requires more power will not be charged. An example would be an Ipad which would probably need more power to charge.
overall it is a very good product and for the design and nothing similar in the market it seems like a product which people would happily buy. I think its a great looking product that fulfills the purpose its being used for, however this also means that certain plugs may cause the block to tilt side ways. I would buy this product again if need arises as the on the whole its a well designed and modern looking surge protector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAster plug review, 19 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
I have had this iem for about two weeks. IT looks great and no matter what you connect to it there is enough space for 4 plugs. Unlike other expensive makes that if you use a large adaptor it blocks the space for other plugs etc, with this one you can use even 4 large power supplies and they will all fit - this is due to orientation of the sockets on the masterplug.

The two well located USB chargers are great two. There are two beatiful lights to indicate the On status and surge protection. Highly recommended. It is very well made and this is a quality product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These Masterplugs can be mounted on a wall or panel, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
There are two mounting points on the underside of the base of the lead to allow it to be hooked over protruding screw heads. Using these mountings will have the lead sit against the wall as if the wall was a floor (so lights on the front, sockets either side with cables running back to the wall.

For convenience these mountings are cross shaped, allowing secure installation in whichever orientation is most convenient.

The two iluminated lamps do not register any current usage on my Fluke meter, this indicates hardley any use of electricity being used through the lamps being left on.
I have used this unit for connecting my DVD recorder, TV and sound bar, the later two I have fitted switched plugs to switch off these units enabling the recorder to power-up when recording, whenever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very handy, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
The USB doesn't like to charge 2 iPhones at same time
But I can plug an iPhone and a blackberry in so I presume that's more to so with iPhone than master plug
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid Construction But Dissapointing, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
This unit is solid and well constructed. As another reviewer has already stated the light-up sections are very bright and could almost work as a nightlight. Part of my decision to buy one of these was for the USB chargers and I am disappointed in them. I plugged my Xbox controller in and ... nothing. It took a little wiggling to get it to start charging. The PS3 controllers won't take a charge from it at all. Not good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
This product is compact neat and just what i needed to add extra power for devices on my desk, the cable is log enough not to need to plug it into another extension (which would sort of defeat the purpose if you ask me).
Illuminated lights let you know its working and are not too bright as other reviews suggest (although being able to switch power off from the adapter as opposed to the wall switch would have been a nice touch.
The USB ports produce enough charge for my iPhone 5, iPods etc.

All in all just what i needed :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adaptable adapter, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
I bought 2 of these, one for my desk at work and one to travel. They are excellent, offer greater reach, more sockets, surge protection for my expensive gadgets and 2 very useful USB charging points which work well for my iPhone, iPad Mini, iPod Classic and Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charges iPad and iPhone, but not strong enough for an eCigarette, 10 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGDU42PB USB Charging Surge Protected 2m Extension Lead Power Block with 4 Sockets (DIY & Tools)
Looks like people either like or hate the white and blue LED. I like them, but they are strong.

Note that the on/off logo you see in the picture is NOT an actual on/off switch but just a symbol. I was unsure when ordering but didn't really care either way.

The Amazon descriptions containing both "6-Gang" and "USB & Telecom Ports" are both clearly wrong. The product is as pictured with four sockets and two USB ports.

Confirmed as charging an iPad1 and iPhone3. However it fails to provide my eCigarette with enough power to be usable. Thus it is not as powerful as the USB2 ports on a modern laptop or desktop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews