Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, listen to it and it will be in your collection, 8 Jun 2005
By 
This review is from: Under The Munka Moon (Audio CD)
Alice Russell has been around for some time and anyone familiar with the likes of Bah Samba (for whom Alice is the lead vocalist), Quantic, The Quantic Soul Orchestra, Nostalgia 77 (listen to her cover the White Stripes 7 Nation Army, amazing)or Natureboy would have heard Ms. Russell. Alice never fails to deliver a consistent excellent performance and this is reflected in the tracks on this CD. Some of the tracks on this album you can find on the aforementioned artists albums but she did pen the songs.
So where do we start? The opening track Hurry On Now featuring TM Juke heralds echoes of real earthy soul music with strings, saxophone and excellent background vocals. After hearing this track you know you won't be hurrying this album through. My current favourite being that it was penned for this album is Peace Resides which is the most sublime bit of nu-soul you are going to get. There is so much going on in this track that although it is preferable to listen to the album all the way through you can be excused for a little rewind on this track. Then there is the lovely ballad Sweet Is The Air featuring Natureboy and which appears on that album. There is something uplifting about listening to soft vocals and acoustic instrumentation that just makes you think of lazy summer days lounging wherever the pleasure takes you and Sweet Is The Air is that track.
If you liked Joss Stone's initial offering "The Soul Sessions" and was wondering where a more natural progression should have taken her then this is certainly it. These are very contemporary songs but the raw power is still there and the voice and music complement each other perfectly where the artist has kept control of their musical direction. So where is the success? Never mind waiting for hype or others to jump on the band wagon just go out and get it and I assure you, you will not be disappointed. Oh and check her out on any of the other artists albums as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tiny woman, HUGE AMAZING voice!, 14 July 2004
By 
Mr. Gareth I. Davies "giddig" (Dudley, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under The Munka Moon (Audio CD)
Alice Russell seems to be to Tru Thoughts what Kate Rogers is to Grand Central. She is an amazing vocal talent that has been cultivated on other quality artists (as are all Tru Thoughts artists I have heard to date) records until ready to flourish on her own. Tru Thoughts may be a smaller label than Grand Central but it really does grab the talent. This is a great album, you may remember a couple of the tracks from other Tru Thoughts artists, but she lends her own slightly tweaked version here. Watch Alice closely, if she doesn't continue to make great music long into the future there is something very wrong with the music industry.

P.S. If you get chance to see her live (either solo, with Quantic or the Quantic Soul Orchestra) you WILL be totally blown away! I saw her at the Medecine Bar, Custard Factory, Birmingham twice and she was ace both times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Munka Magic, 23 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Under The Munka Moon (Audio CD)
This is an excelent album and without doubt my favourite of the year. Alice russell has an amazing voice and she uses it to great effect across a myriad of different styles. One of the only regrets I have from this year is that I didn't manage to get my act together to see her when she played "Friends and Family" in Manchester.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab album, 16 Aug 2004
This review is from: Under The Munka Moon (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album. I completely agree with the other reviewer - as a fan of the Grand Central label I've only recently discovered the Brighton based Tru Thoughts label who seem to do no wrong! This girl rocks!! The beginning of the album is beautiful and then gradually gets funkier. Her voice is full of soul and emotion - I immediately thought of comparing her to Carleen Anderson (Young Disciples). Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If there was such a thing i'd give this 10/5 stars, 19 Dec 2004
By 
Mr. G. Aku "fusion17_18" (London Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under The Munka Moon (Audio CD)
Amazing. Amazing voice, beautiful lyrics, captivating music.
Lets just say I got this cd recomended to me by chance. Im 23 mainly into r'n'b, hip hop, reggae, jazz and soul. I heard this and I feel in love with it. My friend at work wanted some music so told him about it he went mad for it he's 45. I bought it as an Xmas present for my friend in the states whos 29 and she has gone crazy over the cd and has recomended it to all her friends and finally my sister (who loves it as well) has a friend who has a sister who is 12 and she loves it. So whats the point of my long winded story!?! its a great cd it will get all sorts of people of all ages and backgrounds amazed. I appreciate it will not be to everyones taste but if you like soul, r'n'b, jazz, indie, funk or even gospel you'll be amazed by this ladies talents. Try it on for size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 30 April 2009
By 
I. Perry (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under The Munka Moon (Audio CD)
My favourite album of all time, Alice's voice really does have to be heard to be believed.
I know of no other who writes and sings such amazing music, she really is an amazing talent that still doesn't have the recognition she deserves.
There is no point in trying to name a favourite or outstanding track on this album, there simply isn't one.
Every tune is amazing and depending on your mood, will be your favourite of the moment.
Simply put if you love good music you will love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutly amazing!, 6 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under The Munka Moon (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album with the amazing voice of Alice Russell! I love every titel but my favourite is "All over now" - Buy and listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure soul!, 10 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Under The Munka Moon (Audio CD)
This LP is beautiful. I cant believe some of the tracks werent recorded in 70's America, especially Hurry on Now which is an absolute monster, so good!
I strongly recommend this if you like anything soulful and refreshing, or just pure quality music in general. Its great stuff for the summer too!
Awesome. So much soul!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite, 22 Aug 2005
This review is from: Under The Munka Moon (Audio CD)
This is an astonishing album and if it doesn't hit you on the first listen, give it one more chance... it is lushious. The reaction I have had from those who have listened to it is consistent.. it is a delicate, evokative, sexy album. Munka Moon pays hommage to its forbearers but pushes forward in a wonderful amalgamation of past and present which makes Alice rusell, perhaps, the most impressive and underated female vocalist in recent times. It can not fail to impress. Just listen.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae25d174)

This product

Only search this product's reviews