Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Rhodesia and Zimbabwe
It is a story of two families through the hard times in Zimbabwe and could well be true as are all the historical facts and figures. I thoroughly enjoyed the book, though I found the history of Zimbabwe ruins spoilt it for me. If only the true history of the Zimbabwe ruins was really known a whole book could probably be written on this alone. OK so this was a story, but...
Published on 30 Sept. 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to finish
I could not get to the end of this book because I found it such a difficult read. The author introduces lots of characters who she follows until they get killed off a few pages later. So I found myself quite confused at times.
In a way it was like a non-fictional book about Zimbabwean history, but in a dry, dull way, perhaps going into more detail than is necessary...
Published 10 months ago by Ellie Farrer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to finish, 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Shadow Passing (The Africa Series) (Kindle Edition)
I could not get to the end of this book because I found it such a difficult read. The author introduces lots of characters who she follows until they get killed off a few pages later. So I found myself quite confused at times.
In a way it was like a non-fictional book about Zimbabwean history, but in a dry, dull way, perhaps going into more detail than is necessary. Except with the odd interjection of the characters' lives. I do like it when authors provide background to what's happening, especially when it's set during an actual event, but it wasn't executed well here. It just made it dull and difficult to follow.
I also hated many of the physical descriptions of some of the characters, in particular younger characters. I felt very uncomfortable reading about the shape of a 13-year-old girl's bottom in her swimsuit. It is so unnecessary and actually quite perverted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A nice tale with a good mixer of historical fact & ..., 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Shadow Passing (The Africa Series) (Kindle Edition)
I was born & bred I Rhodesia. A nice tale with a good mixer of historical fact & some believable fiction but marred by very poor proof reading and some blatant geographical mistakes. Even artistic licence can't be blamed for fooling the reader into thinking that Chipinga, The Vumba, Mutare & Nyanga (on the Eastern border with Mozambique) is a relatively short distance from Bulawayo (in the South West not too far from the Botswana border). They are four hundred miles apart. Who would go for an evening game drive in the Gonarezhou Game Reserve when staying at the Great Zimbabwe Ruins (over 150 miles apart). Shame on you Shirley Carnegie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Just OK, 3 Oct. 2013
This review is from: A Shadow Passing (The Africa Series) (Kindle Edition)
There are several long paragraphs in this book that have been taken entirely from her book Sons of Africa, so very disappointing in that regard. The story also, was very similar to begin with, so disappointing. The book did change eventually and is a reasonable read. I especially liked the end and the hopes for a free Zimbabwe, for black and white, and the hopes for the future, we all know now, that all those hopes and dreams were destroyed by the Mugabe regime and their thugs. A lovely dream, but sadly, not reality. A reasonable read on a wet afternoon when you have nothing else to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rhodesia and Zimbabwe, 30 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Shadow Passing (The Africa Series) (Kindle Edition)
It is a story of two families through the hard times in Zimbabwe and could well be true as are all the historical facts and figures. I thoroughly enjoyed the book, though I found the history of Zimbabwe ruins spoilt it for me. If only the true history of the Zimbabwe ruins was really known a whole book could probably be written on this alone. OK so this was a story, but all other historical facts were pretty accurate so why spoil one small item of unknown fact.
A great read though I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Times remembered, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Shadow Passing (The Africa Series) (Kindle Edition)
having family in Zimbabwe it was a fascinating read. My husband, who lived there for many years recognised many of the places mentioned and was impressed by the research taken. A very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Readable, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Shadow Passing (The Africa Series) (Kindle Edition)
This is a readable book with the author managing to capture the mood and feel of the times. But its a bit narrow in its narratives and hence there are manny better reads on africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the people who made africa, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Shadow Passing (The Africa Series) (Kindle Edition)
for anyone interested in how southern Africa became what it is today, the people and the politics, the land and the beauty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 24 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Shadow Passing (The Africa Series) (Kindle Edition)
A novel depicting a period in Zimbabwe (Rhodesia) which must bring many memories to those who lived there at that time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recounts life in Zimbabwe., 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Shadow Passing (The Africa Series) (Kindle Edition)
This book combines the history of the area with a great story of families. The wars between tribes tear Africa apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Shadow Passing (The Africa Series)
£1.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews