Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great actress-great series.!
Like so many others I was shattered at the passing of Elisabeth Sladen. She was my favourite Doctor Who companion and i loved this series. In SJA she really shined and showed what a great actress she truly was. I think SJA was tremendous in being able to bridge that difficult line between a children's show and an adult one. I think it achieved exactly what it set out to...
Published on 5 Jan 2012 by The Avenger

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Last "Sarah Janes"
This contains the last three episodes made before the sad death of Eizabeth Sladen. Two of them are not perhaps up to the usual high standard of the series - "Sky" is a bit feeble, and "The Man Who Never Was", with a brilliant central idea, has one or two weaknesses; buyt the remaining one is very good indeed, and in fact rather moving. We are also given a series of...
Published on 3 Mar 2012 by R. L. Sturch


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great actress-great series.!, 5 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Sarah Jane Adventures - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Like so many others I was shattered at the passing of Elisabeth Sladen. She was my favourite Doctor Who companion and i loved this series. In SJA she really shined and showed what a great actress she truly was. I think SJA was tremendous in being able to bridge that difficult line between a children's show and an adult one. I think it achieved exactly what it set out to do, and kudos to Russell T. Davies for making it possible.

This series is of course sadly short due to Lis Sladen's untimely passing. But at least we did get some more stories after series 4 and there is a fitting ending to the final episode which is a nice tribute to Ms Sladen.

The 3 stories each have some nice moments and it would have been so nice to have seen more. However, in this final series, I do feel that there was a slight backward step with the character of Sky. As mentioned, upto now the series has not been aimed at just kids. This has been largely due to the three-dimensional and interesting characters. We have seen the kids grow and mature and how their view of the world has changed due to their adventures with Sarah. Unfortunately Sky is more one-dimensional and comes over as very childish. Also the actress portraying her is very inexperienced and the result is very school-play. This jars with the good acting of the others and tends to give it a slight amateur feel which it never had before.

Still it would have been great to see more and am so sad to see it go. Congrats to all involved at producing such great material and especially to the wonderful Elisabeth Sladen. She will be in our hearts forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best and saddest series, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Sarah Jane Adventures - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Due to the death of Elizabeth Sladen, this is the final series. It is only 3 episodes long, and unlike the past series there has been little Doctor who references (as opposed to in the past where the brigadier and doctor guest starred or they fight the slitheen) other than that there is very no complaints about this series
Sky introduces a new character, an alien child named sky, who Sarah Jane adopts. She is used to bring back the child factor, as the original children are grown up by now, and it is a children's program. The episode sky is quite childish, but otherwise good, and I was a little concerned that it would go back to the childish show it was in series 2.
Episode 2 is the curse of Clyde Langer. This is the most emotional and grown up episode of the entire series, and it is sad and lets us see the best side of Clyde, the man he has become that is usually hidden by the cocky cheeky boy. Clyde, a character we have come to love and care for since pretty much the beginning, has been cursed so whenever anyone hears or says or even thinks his name, they see him as the worst person on the world and shun him like he is a monster. Sarah Jane, rani and even his mum shun him in an emotional opening episode. In part 2, we see Clyde getting by as homeless person and falling in love, we see him managing at rock bottom. The ending is a little bit simple, but managed brilliantly, and the story as a whole is possibly the best Sarah Jane episode ever.
The final episode is the man that never was. This is a pretty good episode, but the worst of the 3. It is full of funny scenes, but the plotline is not great, the motive behind the villain's actions is one we have seen dozens of times before over the 3 whoniverse series', and it is a very childish episode. But on the upside, we see Luke and sky meeting in the flesh, and the dynamic between them is a good one. They ended it with a montage of clips and the same speech Sarah Jane says at the end of series one, and end it with the brilliant line "And the story goes on... forever." I feel this was the best way to end the series.
As a whole the series is the best series to reach out to such a range of people, and if this is where the series was heading, I wish there would have been more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars R.I.P. Sarah Jane, 3 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sarah Jane Adventures - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
A short final season of the very enjoyable Doctor Who spin off that feels more like classic Doctor Who than the new Doctor Who series thanks to the cliffhangers and half hour episodes. The first story introduces new girl Sky who Sarah Jane goes on to adopt. The girl's one of those annoying kids that keeps asking why every 5 minutes but sadly as it's only a short season due to Elizabeth Sladen's death half way through filming she's never given a chance to develop. The remaining 2 stories are enjoyable and the final episode is a fitting tribute to a fine actress allowing the series to go out on a high. A fun show and while it's sad to see it go the BBC did the right thing cancelling it after Elizabeth Sladen's death as it wouldn't have been right to carry on without her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AN AFFECTIONATE FAREWELL, 21 April 2012
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sarah Jane Adventures - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
The truncated Season 5 - three two-part adventures, watching inevitably tinged with sadness. Sarah Jane in her sixties is again awesomely active - thwarting OTT villains, rescuing enslaved aliens, saving our planet for the umpteenth time.

A newcomer is Sky, so named because she descended from it - she quickly morphing from a baby to a teenager, programmed bomb capabilities a complication. A gruesome totem pole renders Clyde an outsider in the most disturbing episodes. A revolutionary computer launch scam is excitingly and amusingly exoceted.

Yes, parts are uneven but it seems out of place here to dwell on weaknesses. Overall the signs are that Season 5 would have ranked amongst the best.

The bonus is a moving tribute to Elisabeth Sladen, whose death so shocked - reminders of past Doctors she teamed with, current Doctor Matt Smith striving to control emotion as he praises. He points out how rare it is for one who inspired such affection amongst current young to have achieved the same loyalty from their parents, perhaps grandparents, when they were young too. Those who played Rani and Clyde share memories of the colleague always so full of fun and warmth.

An essential addition to the collection of Elisabeth Sladen's great legion of fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sarah Jane Adventures - Series 5 [DVD], 9 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Sarah Jane Adventures - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
my little girl and I like to set and wach them with a bag of popcorn.
we set and just in joy the time with each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Finish, 4 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Sarah Jane Adventures - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This final series of the Sarah Jane Adventures demonstrates just how much longer the series should have been on air. The stories are all well written, humorous and clever. Sarah Jane, Luke, Clyde, Rani and Sky saving the world from Bannerman Road will be missed forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fast secure delivery, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sarah Jane Adventures - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
my granddaughter loved it now she has the complete set, many thanks teenagers are so hard to please ideal gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 2 Dec 2013
By 
Ian J. R. Johnson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sarah Jane Adventures - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent. Just what I wanted. It is a great shame that Elizabeth Sladen should have died when she did. It took the BBC a long time to get the last series out. I am glad that AMAZON did not waste time getting the set to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RIP Elizabeth Sladen, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sarah Jane Adventures - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
My son now has the complete Sarah Jane Adventures. A must see for any and all Doctor Who fans and a wonderful way to remember the amazing Miss Sladen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sarah Jane, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sarah Jane Adventures - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
The BBC has produced another great children's TV show a spin off from Doctor Who and it's excellent. Well done BBC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sarah Jane Adventures - Series 5 [DVD]
The Sarah Jane Adventures - Series 5 [DVD] by Elisabeth Sladen (DVD - 2012)
7.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews