Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular Series.
This is a marvellous guide to the Great Barrier Reef. Visually stunning and presented by Monty Halls, a marine biologist, ex-marine and a diver. The series is delivered in three one hour episodes although they flow into each other seamlessly. We are informed that the Reef is over 2000km. long,created after the ice age meltdown and the only living structure on earth that...
Published on 16 Jan 2012 by ACB (swansea)

versus
15 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ruined by the Narrator
This review refers to the first episode which should explain how various factors (light, seasons, tides and so on) affect the marine life of the reef. There are of course nice images and interesting events (some referred to in a 5-star review), but the treatment of the subject is rather slow and sometimes pointless: so you learn that at night some fishes go to sleep while...
Published on 21 Feb 2012 by Bedino Stefano


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular Series., 16 Jan 2012
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Great Barrier Reef [DVD] (DVD)
This is a marvellous guide to the Great Barrier Reef. Visually stunning and presented by Monty Halls, a marine biologist, ex-marine and a diver. The series is delivered in three one hour episodes although they flow into each other seamlessly. We are informed that the Reef is over 2000km. long,created after the ice age meltdown and the only living structure on earth that can be seen from space. The reef formed by plankton polyps that form coral colonies that, with a microscopic plant, create a limestone skeleton into which they are embedded, and although only 1% of the ocean the reef is home to 1/4 of all known marine coral life. Halls may be no Attenborough but he is enthusiastic in his underwater diving and clearly delights in this project and its narration, often in close proximity to his subjects (even lying in mud sediment) It is, of course, the breathtaking, crystal clear photography that dominates this winner. Remote mini-cameras and remotely operated vehicles (ROVs) take us to places not previously captured.

The food chain from plankton to small fish and increasing sizes of predators are magnificently pictured. The necessity of hiding for protection and the need for dangerous escapades for food are portrayed as a force of nature, from groupers eating algae to to bump-head parrott fish the size of sheep ripping chunks of coral to tiger sharks dismembering and sawing through the shells of turtles. The sheer numbers and variety of sea-life are a veritable kaleidoscope of action. The beautifully coloured coral produced by algae bleaches when exposed to excess heat. Other aspects of the reef and their inhabitants are explored, the lagoons, mangroves, islands and rain forests all graphically shot from the air, ground level or beneath the sea. Wonderful rocks,rivers and waterfalls.
The whole package is eye catching. Memorable moments include the green turtle migration to Raine Island where up to 26000 arrive at one time to nest and lay eggs, a slow and hazardous journey, filmed with time-lapse. The hatching of the eggs and young turtles struggling to get to the sea before the herons eat them. The billions of larvae formed from mass migration seeking a home to form a polyp and a coral colony.The spectacular shipwreck scene sheltering over 120 varieties of fish, the largest of its kind in the world. The Queensland grouper the size of a car,venomous jelly fish and sea snakes, sea cows (once mistaken for mermaids) grazing on 40kg sea grass per day. Eagles fabulously caught in flight chasing and catching fruit bats. All shown with total brilliance. Noise from damsel fish and humpback and dwarf minke whales add to the attractions.

Halls ends speculating the effects of natural phenomena on the reef: cyclones, global warming, temperature and tidal changes but also the man-made effects: ranches, cattle farms, habitat changes to support agriculture. All affecting the ecosystem and possibly the long-term lucrative tourist industry.
This is a fantastic visual experience beautifully photographed and presented. Top star product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As beautiful as I imagined, 19 Feb 2012
This review is from: Great Barrier Reef [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The great barrier reef is over 2000km long and the BBC camera crew spent over 600 hours filming underwater, so you can imagine the amazing quality and variety of footage they managed to capture. Just a few hours of that is shown here, but without a doubt they are the most mesmerising and stunning you could imagine.

The series is narrated by Monty Hall who does a stirling job and really brings the footage to life. As part of the BBC earth series great barrier reef lives up to it's forbears and doesn't let the name down, another fascinating look into a world that I could never hope to get as close to as I can with this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning films. Highly Recommended, 28 Nov 2012
By 
Mark Thompson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Barrier Reef [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A brilliant series showcasing one of Nature's miracles. Extremely interesting and features some beautiful camerawork.
Highly recommended for any lover of Nature Documentaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great !!, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Barrier Reef [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Love this series of films on a very special part of the world. Looks superb on Blue Ray. Monty Halls makes for an informed and level headed presenter who doesn't feel the need (thank goodness) to wildly exaggerate his enthusiasm for the cameras. He lets the magnificence of the GBR speak for itself. Brilliantly filmed and full of knowledge and information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing...DVD, 28 May 2013
By 
"Sally Mc" "Sally Mc" (Herefordshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Barrier Reef [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoy the Great Barrier reef....
Wont ever go and see it, so can enjoy it in bed ,,,,just love it...
interesting, relaxing, quite amazing....a lovely soother....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 9 Aug 2014
By 
JLH (Clacton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Barrier Reef [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Watched this captivating disc over the last couple of days. The series on this disc consists of three approx. one hour episodes. Beautifully produced and thought provoking in places. It is presented by Monty Halls and has stunning photography throughout. It is impossible to put into words the beauty of the Great Barrier Reef- you need to buy the disc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very informative and visually stunning, 28 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. M. V. Meyerstein (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Barrier Reef [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My wife and I enjoyed watching this 3-episode Blu-ray. It's remarkably well filmed and visually stunning. The footage of sharks eating turtles was really interesting - they appear to have mounted a camera on the unfortunate turtle (which as already dead, it seems). My only criticism would be that it lacks a developing narrative to tie the episodes together and to differentiate them from each other. The episodes become "more of the same" after a while. Still, I am glad I bought it and I recommend it to others. I don't know if it's available in 3D but that would be really something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing viewing an eye opener !, 9 Mar 2014
By 
Lola-Bear (Northamptonshire , England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Barrier Reef [DVD] (DVD)
I am a massive Attenborough fan and as a rule only purchase his dvds - this dvd came up as a recommendation for me so I brought it and I must say Monty Halls is now a favourite too ! I loved this dvd from start to finish it was an eye opener for me I didn't realise just how large and fascinating the barrier reef is , and how it is connected by so many other eco systems this dvd kept my full attention throughout and I have watched it over and over.

Highly recommend to all ( I was bit disappointed to read this had been given a low review by anyone ! )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Barrier Reef [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Shame there are no extras but at nearly three hours long it is brilliant as there is plenty to watch. All the wildlife above and below the water around the reef. Excellent series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More beautiful than I imagined., 28 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Barrier Reef [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a superb series and even more beautiful than I imagined. Outstanding photography; breathtaking views unsurpassed and stunning shots of underwater wild-life, some of which are so close up and so amazing that I cannot fathom out how they are done!
I loved the presentation by Monty Halls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Barrier Reef [Blu-ray]
Great Barrier Reef [Blu-ray] by James Brickell (Blu-ray - 2012)
6.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews