Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Fantasy
If you love Xmas, the Narnia plot, you will love this. The Doctor without the companions, but new chums and a promise he is repaying, will bring a tear at the end !
Published 21 months ago by heather

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst Doctor Who episodes, ever
Matt Smith is/was a great Doctor Who. Inventive, funny, serious and above all totally right for the role.

I feel sorry for him therefore to have been caught up in this puerile slice of stodge. Its AWFUL TV as well as bad Doctor Who.

The Doctor is not a kid's magician, he's a time travelling genius and yet here he is reduced to his lowest ebb...
Published 19 months ago by M. Hevingham


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars great, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe, 2011 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
as i said about the other doctor who dvd its great i love doctor who i am glad to have it in my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its the doctor, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe, 2011 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
a modern twist to the lion, witch and wardrobe with the doctor as the hero of the hour enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice episode, 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was not sure of this one at first but got it anyway because i have all others but its grew on me when watching it again. Quite a good story and overall episode
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just what i wanted, 4 Jan. 2013
By 
Miss (Newcastle, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe, 2011 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
can't wait to watch
feel another duvet day coming on
am glad to add this to my Dr Who dvd collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Christmas Special 2011, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe, 2011 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
It's like watching a sci-fi make of The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, but better, a Time Lord, and mother who wants her husband back from the dead to help take care of the children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift my son loved it, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe, 2011 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
With my son being a massive Dr Who fan it was an absolute must and he loved it.
Great gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Special 2011., 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe, 2011 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
As always the Doctor Rocks!!! A great story - can't wait to watch Christmas Special 2012 tonight. I really like Matt Smith as the Doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 88 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Lobotomy, 2 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe, 2011 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
For a long while now Steven Moffat has been getting lazy with his plots and this Christmas "special" seals his reputation as the new master of corny Deus Ex Machina. Just when you believed they couldn't wheel out the "love conquers all" ending again, BBC Cardiff proves you can never have enough of a terrible thing.

I miss the old Doctor Who show, where the Doctor used to actually get put in genuinely threatening situations which he couldn't just cockily extract himself from with a flick of the sonic screwdriver or an exhortation to "believe". It's insulting to the intelligence of the viewer, but moreover, it's just plain boring telly.

Nice visuals, a creepy forest and a touching couple of last minutes are about all the good you'll be able to extract from this story unfortunately.

D- Must try harder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas treat once again for the Doctor!, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe, 2011 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
Well I think that the 2011 Christmas Special of Doctor Who was a good episode. I mean some people say that this was not
a PERFECT Christmas special but in general terms I liked it. Once again I think that Matt Smith who is of course playing the nation's favourite Time Lord has stolen the show and he presents his imagination into the character superbly. The cast of the episode was particularly good. The famous faces in this episode that I know of is Claire Skinner who played the character of 'Sue' in the BBC sitcom of Outnumbered a comedian who worked alongside Ben Miller in the Armstrong and Miller Show. He is called Alexander Armstrong and a musician who is called Bill Bailey. There were all good characters. The casting of Madge Arwell's children were slightly average but I did not mind that too much. That is all I will have to say. Overall this a brilliant DVD for collectors who cannot wait when Christmas comes round again or I would recommenced it to any Doctor Who fan who is young or old of the show. Thank you Amazon.co.uk! Four stars all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Xmas disappointment, 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe, 2011 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
I am a massive doctor who fan but I feel although the cast is fantastic, the story is absolute rubbish. Claire Skinner gives a brilliant performance as does Matt Smith but the plot is just stupid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews