Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect as a Christmas special
Sometimes the Doctor Who Christmas specials are rather bittersweet, or over-heavy for the festive season. We only just watched the 2011 special, `The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe', and as far as I'm concerned, this is exactly what a Christmas special should be like. There's a Christmas surprise, some amazing visual effects, a large nod to CS Lewis and Narnia (not...
Published 11 months ago by Sue

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst Doctor Who episodes, ever
Matt Smith is/was a great Doctor Who. Inventive, funny, serious and above all totally right for the role.

I feel sorry for him therefore to have been caught up in this puerile slice of stodge. Its AWFUL TV as well as bad Doctor Who.

The Doctor is not a kid's magician, he's a time travelling genius and yet here he is reduced to his lowest ebb...
Published 16 months ago by M. Hevingham


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who Xmas Special 2011, 17 Jan 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe, 2011 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
I was warned off this episode by several Who fans who said it was disappointing, and I've often found the 'Specials' disappointing - nature of the beast; got to please the whole demographic at Xmas time. It wasn't nearly as bad as I'd expected; magical, a bit scarey, some good jokes...but the Doctor shedding a 'manly' ('Gallifrayanly'?)tear at the end was over-egging the pudding and not trusting the audience (frequent problem with the background music in the whole series: this is the frightening bit, this is the awe-inspiring bit and so on - credit the audience with some brain power!.

I got the impression that Mr Moffat and co had thought, "Yeah, we did Dickens last year and got away with it [Don't get me started!] so this year...erm...Narnia and Xmas trees that grow their own ornaments - oh, and a bit of "A Matter of Life and Death" - we get that Armstrong chap cos he plays RAF chappies - and some ecology stuff and -". "Stephen, what about a plot and a big denoument?" "Oh, it's Xmas - we'll wing it."

I did enjoy it and if you like the present incarnation of the Doctor it's not half bad - but it could have been much more coherent and the fate of the forest, tsk. If the Doctor had looked up at a twinkling night sky and said, "They're up there now, those stars flickering eternally in the darkness of space," I'd even have bought that guff. But it was very much, "Oh yeah, they've gone off somewhere. I mean, they're only trees."

And nobody, even a Time Lord, likes to be alone at Xmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 26 Dec 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe, 2011 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
What a great xmas day Dr who. Of all the rubbish on the tv, on the day this was the only show that was chritsmasy in any way. It was also the only show to have a happy ending for those children, which i thought was great, unlike all of those depressing soaps AGAIN! Can't any writer's have a happy ending anymore? Well done Doctor Who!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doctor No, 26 Dec 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe, 2011 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
What was it all about? It is Such a shame what is happening to a great franchise. . . Its being killed slowly and its since Matt Smith and Moffat came in.

Basicly, the storyline is LION THE WITCH AND THE WARDROBE. Which I watched on CHRISTMAS EVE and then we got this on Christmas day. This was very predictable. I think Moffat is aiming this more at kids, as he blasted someone interviewing him calling the show a family show and mofat said no its for kids. That might be why they have a clown playing the doctor.

Also, why do they have to have all these guests stars in it? I like Bill Bailey but just because he is in something doesnt mean I will watch it. They should spend less on getting guest stars and focus on the story itself because so far I have not enjoyed 1 episode with Matt Smith in it. I have liked one or two scenes but that is it

They said it was going to be Doctor Whos saddest episode yet. well actually its not. FOR ME David Tennants regeneration scene is still top, very sad.

BUT Its Christmas, so why cant it be cheery? everything else is all doom and gloom and this hasnt got to have sadness in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OK it's not Arthur MIller ..., 5 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe, 2011 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
and thank the Lord for that! It was quite fun - if a little crazy and off the wall.

Still it's supposed to be a family show and it succeeded on that level. I've watched my recording three or four times so far and it makes me smile each time. Even the "crying when happy" gets me. Yes, some of it is good old Christmas Schlock, but what more do you want? Intellectual stimulation is not high on my list of requirements by 6pm on Christmas Day. I want something pleasing on the eye, easy to understand and with an ending that won't have every five year old and under in the country wetting the bed for the next three weeks! Oh, and without some deep message about how the world is bright and shiny! (Well you can't have everything but at least there weren't flying sharks!)

So, I enjoyed it - I admit it - and as for the flick the sonic screwdriver and fix things whingers - watch it again because the screwdriver didn't work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Escapism on Christmas day, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe, 2011 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
A lovely episode of Dr Who. Not too scary and maybe some hints about the next series. I wonder if Madge will make another wish and meet up with the doctor again. Can't wait for the next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute rubbish !!!, 30 Dec 2011
By 
spectrus (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe, 2011 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
Moffat should stop sniffing the white lines, sober up a bit or hand the job over to a better writer - must be millions about.
Complete nonsensical rubbish with no redeeming features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's just not Christmas without the Doctor!, 17 Jan 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe, 2011 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
The great thing about `The Doctor, The Widow and The Wardrobe' apart from its frivolous festive charm is the fact that anyone can watch it. What I mean is, you don't have to have any prior knowledge of Doctor Who in order to enjoy it. The Christmas episode is guaranteed to whisk you away on a magical adventure.

With Matt Smith as the Doctor and a star studded cast including Claire Skinner, Bill Bailey, Arabella Weir, Paul Bazely and Alexander Armstrong, head writer Steven Moffat does not fail to deliver.

It all begins when the Doctor befriends Madge Arwell and her family from war-torn Britain. They are about to experience a Christmas they will never forget. A mysterious present, a wintry wonderland, aliens made of wood... what more could you ask for? But that's exactly what they get, an adventure far bigger than they could possibly imagine!

Another Christmas classic from the BBC. It just isn't Christmas without Doctor Who! The episode made me laugh and made me cry. It's everything a festive episode should be and more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Next Doctor is still the best Christmas Special I'm afraid., 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe, 2011 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
Good points. Matt Smith is excellent as usual. A Steven Moffat story. The effects.
Bad points. Not enough Karen Gillan :-(
Also don't really fancy going back to watch it again because as always the music overkill just ruin's the moment when you try to get soaked up in the story. Classic Who didn't have the over the top bombastic classical music. Instead, back then and when I re-watch them, they do a much better job of drawing you into the tale. It's getting the right balance. I liked the Sea Devils early seventies electronic score with the Deleware. Death to the Daleks and Terror of the Zygon's is also memorable.

As I've said on previous new series season's. DITCH THE OVERUSE OF THE CLASSICAL MUSIC PLEASE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad At All, 2 Jan 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe, 2011 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
The last Doctor Who Christmas Special, "A Christmas Carol", I was extremely disappointed with - this one, however, I feel was so much better. It had a good storyline, great acting and good directing. Still not to the standard of the great series beforehand, Series 6, but not a bad buy at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humany-Wumany, a true Doctor Who Christmas tale, 30 Dec 2011
By 
Danny Lunn "TheOncomingStorm" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe, 2011 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
first of all i for one dont understand the bad reviews of this episode, it was a truly brilliant traditional Doctor Who Christmas episode and it Did actually make sence!, as Steven Moffat said the Christmas episodes are meant for all fans even the casual fans and it suits that analysis, its not full of in-jokes and story arcs which made it watchable for anyone (there are some DW references from older series that long time fans will enjoy) i see Doctor Who as a show with great emotion, amazing acting and excellent musical scores and this episode had all 3 and more, im a long time fan of DW so i know what i like from Doctor Who and i loved this episode

oh and its great to see the actual Time Vortex back in an ep (though they did do that in the last series...briefly)

basically if you enjoy the humour and emotion of Doctor Who this is a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews