Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Prime Minister has his rod in his hand"
"Salmon Fishing In The Yemen" is an entertaining ,original film about a Fisheries expert who gets involved in a bizarre plan to introduce salmon fishing into the desert land of Yemen at the whim of a rich Arab sheikh. Salmon fishing is his passion and he is prepared to spend millions to achieve his dream. Ewan McGregor plays the somewhat abrasive and unlikeable Fisheries...
Published on 2 May 2012 by L. Davidson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by casting
A rich sheikh loves salmon fishing and wants to introduce the practice to his native Yemen. After another PR disaster (that's war and killing btw) in the Middle East, the British government decides it needs a good news story and sends fisheries expert Fred (Ewan McGregor) and a member of the sheikh's consultancy firm, Harriet (Emily Blunt) to help establish a salmon...
Published 15 months ago by A Ryder


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Prime Minister has his rod in his hand", 2 May 2012
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Salmon Fishing in the Yemen [DVD] (DVD)
"Salmon Fishing In The Yemen" is an entertaining ,original film about a Fisheries expert who gets involved in a bizarre plan to introduce salmon fishing into the desert land of Yemen at the whim of a rich Arab sheikh. Salmon fishing is his passion and he is prepared to spend millions to achieve his dream. Ewan McGregor plays the somewhat abrasive and unlikeable Fisheries man and he hooks up with Emily Blunt's investment house official and tries to put this unlikely scheme into effect. McGregor's marriage has hit a rocky patch while Blunt's boyfriend is in Afghanistan. Will the pair find love as they strive to introduce salmon into the Yemen ? The film is part comedy , mostly originating from Kirsten Scott Thomas's Prime Ministers Press Officer ,and part romance. Although I thought the film was a little overlong , I quite enjoyed it , mostly for its quirky and unusual storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice, feel-good film, 9 July 2012
By 
read.a.book (Redcar, Cleveland UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Salmon Fishing in the Yemen [DVD] (DVD)
The story is unusual to say the least. A hugely wealthy Sheikh from The Yemen makes enquiries via his British PA (Emily Blunt) as to whether he can pull off his vision for creating a salmon fishing lake in the middle of the dessert.

The Prime Minster's press officer (played superbly by Kristin Scott Thomas) gets wind of this and jumps on it to secure some feel-good news between Arab-UK relations instead of the endless war stories. Ewan McGregor plays a boring, unhappily married salmon expert (rather well I might add) and helps the Sheikh to make his vision a reality although he takes some persuading that it is even possible.

There is great humanity to this story. Everyone is on a personal journey as well and there are plenty of laughs and tears along the way as we embark upon this unlikely love story.

I love Ewan McGregor and Emily Blunt anyway so this was always going to be a winner for me.

Great story, great acting, great scenery and goes to show what we can achieve if you have a little faith. Would definitely recommend if you're into all these things. I really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fishing for faith, 27 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salmon Fishing in the Yemen [DVD] (DVD)
The beautifully written script elevates this fishy tale above the norm, and turns a unique storyline into something highly watchable. It somehow manages to combine inspiration, sentimentally and comedy - in equal measure - into the mix of this quirky little film, without any of those aspects being overdone. Ewan McGregor and Emily Blunt give outstanding performances, whilst Kristen Scott-Thomas almost steals the show as the sharper-than-nails acerbic Prime Minister's Press Secretary, snapping and barking at everyone, with great comedic effect, in order to get the story she wants.

Whilst this was never going to be a box-office record breaker (and probably only really appeals to a small percentage of the population who like 'quirky', 'British' and 'gentle'), it is definitely one to be recommended. As unlikely as the subject appears to be, it somehow works. Probably because it doesn't try to be too clever, but, instead, shows up human frailties and injects that little bit of something we all need ... faith that it will all come right in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Boring!!, 4 Mar. 2013
By 
bizmandan (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How utterly boring does the title of this film seem? For me it brought thoughts of men in waders, drinking tea from a flask and eating meat paste sandwiches. Maybe it is because I was brought up no where near the sea and I haven't gone fishing in all my years on this earth but the thought of a film about fishing just seems like an instant low score. A great injustice the title does this film then, as after watching it, I can safely say that Salmon Fishing in the Yemen is easily one of my favourite films of 2012.

The story of this film is pretty much what it says on the tin, a very rich Sheikh loves salmon fishing and he wants salmon in the Yemen, something that is seemingly impossible. Again, I think this sounds like a snore fest, but you would be surprised how much story you can wrap around this original premise.

To my mind I can't think of a single character in this film that I didn't find completely likable. Ewan McGregor played one of the best parts I have ever seen him in, dropping his usual sexy charm for the wader-wearing-tea-drinking-meat-paste-sandwich-eating kind of person I was talking about in a previous paragraph. He is delightfully awkward and plays the old dog can't learn new tricks part so, so well. Of course his part would never be so endearing if the character didn't have layers, and McGregor hints at his immense dissatisfaction of his life without ever breaking his keep calm and carry on façade. To act with such a delicate touch shows such a mastery of his craft, and I'm sure credit is due to the director as well.

Emily Blunt brings plenty of electric to the production as a confident professional woman. In most things I have seen her in she seems to maintain an almost icy demeanour in her performances but with this part she is as warm and lovely as I have ever seen her.

Amr Waked plays the part of the Sheikh who is the instigator of the whole project within the film. He is wise to the point where you think he could give Yoda a run for his money. He sees fishing as something extremely spiritual and is convinced that bringing salmon fishing to the Yemen will bring nothing but prosperity to his people. You would be hard pushed to find a nicer, warmer and contented leader in the whole of the Middle East, and of course, he is completely likable.

My favourite character has to be the spin doctor played by Kristin Scott Thomas, her ruthlessness leads to some of the films biggest laughs. The character is as sharp and quick-witted with her staff and the Prime Minister as she is with her own kids. Even though she is meant to be the somewhat villain of the piece, she to, is completely charming in her own way and you never feel like you want her off of the screen.

The story takes us to the eclectic vistas of London, the Scottish highlands and, of course, Yemen. Each location is given oodles of love by the cinematographer, giving London it's metropolitan greyness, Scotland it's serine solitude and the Yemen it's exotic sun drenched heat.

The script is not a simple a to b either, thrown into the mix of the narrative are plot points that include broad humour, political satire, romance and even an assignation plot. The story really does take us on a journey both metaphorically and literally, allowing all the characters in the film to be deep, rich, warm and develop into different people by the end of the film.

If I was to make one criticism it would be that the romance aspect of the film does seem to be a little bit predictable and almost seems a little forced. To be honest though I can not think of a film in recent memory where the romance aspect of it wasn't predictable, can you?

This is a film that you expect to be boring, but it's not! If you are wondering whether you should watch this, the answer is and unequivocal yes! Absolutely! With a doubt! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by casting, 7 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Salmon Fishing in the Yemen [DVD] (DVD)
A rich sheikh loves salmon fishing and wants to introduce the practice to his native Yemen. After another PR disaster (that's war and killing btw) in the Middle East, the British government decides it needs a good news story and sends fisheries expert Fred (Ewan McGregor) and a member of the sheikh's consultancy firm, Harriet (Emily Blunt) to help establish a salmon farm. Fred is sceptical, but fleeing a failing marriage, and Harriet is trying to distract herself from her boyfriend who is MIA in Afghanistan.

This is a decent enough romcom, with Blunt managing to make posh girl Harriet sympathetic and Kristin Scott-Thomas stealing the show as a waspish, acid-tongued government spin doctor (and no-nonsense mum). What misfires is Ewan McGregor as Fred. You may not be prepared to believe that Harriet would fall for a middle-aged, nerdy, Aspergic fishing-fanatic, but that's the plot. As played by Ewan McG, he could virtually double for her soldier boyfriend. They've made no attempt beyond a cardi in one scene to transform him in any way whatsoever and the script and acting can't compensate. His Fred is in marked contrast to Rachael Stirling as his wife, who has a wardrobe, voice, hair style and demeanour which all suggest the rigidity of mid-life conformism and staleness. I know they'll have wanted a 'name' in the role, and I'm not suggesting they should have cast a proverbial 'JR Hartley' (sorry, that ref. will only mean something to Brits who were born before the 90s), but Stirling is young and attractive and manages to be convincing here. McGregor just doesn't, and it really shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Salmon fishing in the Yemen - Charming tale, 26 Nov. 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Salmon Fishing in the Yemen [DVD] (DVD)
Salmon fishing in the Yemen is one of those charming films that tells a story and entertains for a few hours and manages to walk the middle ground between being too deep and serious or too silly.

It tells the story of a fish specialist recruited by a rich Arab prince to introduce salmon fishing to the Yemen. It's not just so that the Prince can indulge in his favourite hobby however, he has a philanthropic vision for his people, and a fish farm is an integral part of that. Along the way our hero finds himself having to resolve some personal issues around the breakdown of his marriage and a new romance.

It's charming without being twee, it's thoughtful without being too deep. There is a touch of humour, some well drawn characters, an interesting story and a range of pretty good performances that make this film full of old fashioned charm and feel good factor. 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Salmon go leaping in the Yemen.., 16 Sept. 2012
By 
Petra just a girl who loves to read... "book ... (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salmon Fishing in the Yemen [DVD] (DVD)
Salmon fishing in the Yemen is a DVD which I would recommend to all as it is one of the funniest films which I have watched in a long time which did not depend on innuendos to bring on the canned laughter.
The main characters of the film were of course Fred Jones acted by Ewan McGregor a fisheries expert who is approached by Harriet acted by Emily Blunt with a plan to introduce salmon fishing to the desert covered Yemen to please her very rich employer Sheikh Muhammad (Amr Waked - Syriana). Harriet is his personal assistant and her character works brilliant with Fred Jones as her very glowing personality really seems to bounce of Fred Jones as he really is the most straight laced character who seems to come alive just being in the company of Harriet before meeting Harriet the only other living thing to bring happiness to Fred's face was being with his prized fish. As always Ewan McGregor's acting is first class and he gives a two dimensional character some soul, as I know through the film Asperger's was mentioned and it would really explain the personality of Fred. Like all romances there are problems along the way which come from very unsuspecting sources and some created by one of my favourite actresses Kristen Scott Thomas. Kristen Scott Thomas was the one character who always brought a smile to my face and she acts the very loud and sometimes very unlikeable Patricia Maxwell the Spin Doctor who controls her home as she does the government. This character could really make a story out of an ant hill but when she decides Afghanistan is getting too much bad press which was making the government look bad therefore this new venture of bringing fly fishing to the Yemen is the perfect story for the government to look good for a change. As I watched her trying to force the Prime Minister into fishing with the Sheikh while delivering her caustic thoughts on him and his associates were hilarious.
There is a serious tone to the film when the locals turn against the Sheikh because of his plans to change the land that they are proud off. The beautiful sceneries which were shown both in Scotland and the Yemen were a sight to behold which really added another dimension to this film which I thoroughly enjoyed and I certainly would recommend Salmon Fishing in the Yemen to most film watchers as there is something in it for everyone but what topped it for me was fantastic acting by brilliant actors along with a brilliant storyline just made a perfect film for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and entertaining, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salmon Fishing in the Yemen [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent and entertaining film (haven't read the book). Others might not like the feel-good nature of this story, but it feels like classic Lasse Hallstrom.
Pride and Prejudice - with fish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars differs from the book, but still good, 7 Nov. 2012
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Salmon Fishing in the Yemen [DVD] (DVD)
Salmon Fishing In the Yemen is the movie based on the book of the same title by British author, Paul Torday. The movie is well acted: Ewan MacGregor is perfect as Dr Jones (although I thought he would be older) and Emily Blunt was well cast as Harriet Chetwode-Talbot. Sheikh Muhammad was also well-played by Amr Waked (I imagined him smaller and fatter). I thought that Mary Jones, as played by Rachael Stirling, a little less acerbic that the character in the book, but Kristen Scott Thomas was perfect as the Prime Minister's spokesman. For those who have read the book, the ending comes as a complete surprise as the screenplay does not follow the book at all on many significant points at the end. I think the ending was tailored to movie audiences. It is easy to see how people who did not read the book might make enquiries about actually salmon fishing in the Yemen. The scenery was breathtaking, the dialogue often really witty and, despite the changes, I really enjoyed this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TO FAITH AND FISH, 2 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Salmon Fishing in the Yemen [DVD] (DVD)
The Sheikh of Yemen (Amr Waked) wants salmon fishing in his country which the British government is willing to do. Dr Alfred Jones (Ewan McGregor) and Harriet (Emily Blunt) are thrust together on the project. Both are stuck in relationships with other people and can't move on. The salmon becomes a metaphor for their lives as their DNA forces them to do the same thing, i.e. staying in their comfort zone. The fish movement to Yemen is symbolic that we can move on. We just have to have faith.

The production is a typical indie flavored with bits of humor and a warm fuzzy side of philosophy. It is in a way a romance, but not your typical romantic comedy. It is a good date movie, especially if you are dating a married man that is having trouble leaving his wife...or on second thought, maybe not.

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-bombs, no real sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Salmon Fishing in the Yemen [DVD]
Salmon Fishing in the Yemen [DVD] by Lasse Hallström (DVD - 2012)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews