Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The big wedding
The film was interesting. I enjoyed every minute of it however I wouldn't recommend it to families as there are a lot of explicit scenes in the film that I wasn't aware when I purchased it. All in all though it was a brilliant film with great actors.
Published 6 months ago by satnam kour

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a remarkable ensemble, and what a disappointment.
Oh no, what happened to the romantic comedies recently? Have they become completely extinct? Please alert me if you come across a decent romantic comedy (I am serious!), which does not involve Robbie Williams playing a priest, Robert De Niro playing an ageing dad and Katherine Heigl tagging along with the rest of the cast of yet another "comedy" of dated jokes and...
Published 10 months ago by Lola


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars COULD WE PLEASE JUST SKIP TO THE HAPPY ENDING, 19 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Big Wedding [DVD] (DVD)
The theme of this film is that "there are different kinds of love." Alejandro (Ben Barnes) was adopted from Colombia by Don (Robert De Niro) and Ellie (Diane Keaton). Alejandro is getting married to Missy (Amanda Seyfried) whose parents (David Rasche/Christine Ebersole) are embarrassing white. Don is divorced and married his mistress Bebe (Susan Sarandon). After a decade his wife and ex-wife get along very well. Robin Williams plays the priest that will preside over the ceremony. There are also two siblings. Dr. Jared (Topher Grace) is a 29 year old virgin. Lyla (Katherine Heigl) just left her husband. Just about everyone in the group has a dirty little secret that comes into play, but for the most part doesn't mesh well.

If this wasn't enough, Alejandro's biological mother (Patricia Rae) is coming up from Colombia for the wedding. She is very Catholic and considers divorce a sin. She doesn't know Don and Ellie are divorced so they will pretend they aren't (yawn). She shows up with a daughter (Ana Ayora) who has designs for Jared.

The film has great stars and a great indie style plot and characters. The secrets make for a great story. However it didn't come together. The dialouge failed to create on screen chemistry. Too much of the film seemed fake, the characters never hooked you. The humor consisted of embarrassment more than anything. Attempts to make fun of the Catholic Church were weak. It would make for a decent one night rental, but not the heart warming indie keeper we love.

Parental Guide: F-bombs. Brief sex, brief nudity (Ana Ayora).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars But generally a poor movie. Struggled to engage from the start and ..., 27 July 2014
2 marks as there were a few laughing moments. But generally a poor movie. Struggled to engage from the start and lots of sickly corny parts. Ok as a time filler but nothing to rave about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Movie I have ever seen, 23 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. M. A. Ephgrave (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Wedding [DVD] (DVD)
Given the cast I forgive myself for paying to watch this unutterably awful film. What on earth are four of my favourites: Diana Keaton, Susan Sarandon, Robert De Niro and Robin Williams doing in it? And the younger talent . . . my sympathies to them for having to endure such nonsense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely cringeworthy, 20 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Big Wedding [DVD] (DVD)
So disappointed; great cast but terrible film. Watched with my 15 year old daughter but all the jokes were sex related and the use of THAT four letter word inappropriate for a film rated 15. I'm not a prude but found it all quite horrid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So so film, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had some funny moments and enjoyed when watching but forgettable after it fin thought would be a lot better .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming romantic comedy aimed at the over 30's, 10 Aug 2013
By 
Beanie Luck Spud (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Big Wedding [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this last night and i have to say i thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it.

Its definitely not one for the teen brigade but a smart well written romcom for the over 30's.

I am 40 so it suited me perfectly.

Diane Keaton and Robert de Niro play a divorced couple Ellie and Don, whose adopted son Alejandro is getting married to Missy, played by a tango orange Ben Barnes and Amanda Seyfried respectively.

Susan Sarandon plays Bebe, dons girlfriend and once best friend of Ellie.

Katherine Heigl plays Lyla, the bio daughter of the couple and Topher Grace plays Jared, the virgin doctor son.

This film was amusing, with some very good one liners, Robert was very funny in this film, he isnt usually and i have to say his performance was one of the best ive seen from him in a while.

Diane keaton and Susan sarandon however stole this film for me, they have amazing onscreen chemistry and should do more films together, i could of happily just watched monologues between the 2 of them for the entire film.

Heigl was wasted in this movie, plus she has truly awful hair, i would of made her wear a wig, its that bad.

She does however share some truly sweet scenes with Robert but i would of liked to of seen more of it.

Topher is his usual charming self, very witty and sweet.

Ben barnes put in a solid performance but i found it hard to get past his umpalumpa tan.

All in all a great film for older couples for a saturday night stay in with a curry and a bottle of wine..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Wedding [DVD] (DVD)
Big Wedding DVD exactly as advertised. Prompt service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than 40 minutes of Fun, 3 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Big Wedding [DVD] (DVD)
The Big Wedding holds a 7% rating on based on 89 reviews with one online site that calculates review scores with the general consensus stating that its "all-star cast is stranded in a contrived, strained plot that features broad stabs at humour but few laughs." On another site, the film scores 29% based on reviews from 29 critics (1% from each critic).

O.K. now you may have noticed that I have scored this film four stars. Why? Well first of all "all-star cast" really? Are these critics serious? This film stars Ben Barnes (B-List), Amanda Seyfried (B-List), Katherine Heigl (B-List, you might disagree with me here but lets face it she is a television actress who was in Knocked Up- a Seth Rogen vehicle and hasn't done much since), Topher Grace (Eric Foreman) and a bunch of has-beens or Living Legends (which is pretty much another word for has-beens; Robert De Niro, Diane Keaton, Susan Sarandon. I have not included Robin Williams as a has-been/Living Legend due to the following films Bicentennial Man, Jumanji and Patch Adams. Anyway so there you my expectations were low as I did not deem the cast to be "all-star". I have seen bigger stars on Home and Away (no, really alot of them go on to be in Hollywood movies).

Next issue with the general consensus "... stranded in a contrived, strained plot ...". You may have noticed that this film is a rom-com, now having seen alot of rom-coms I have yet to see one that was totally ground-breaking.

Just one more thing as Colombo used to say "...broad stabs at humor but few laughs". Generally comedies will try and tell a few jokes while some will land on target others will miss the spot completely. Now in this film for the most part I found the jokes to be funny especially De Niro who gets all the best lines and is absolutely hysterical. Now lets face it, in this film he is not playing Jake La Motta and is probably only present to receive a paycheck. But he earns every penny.

Eric Foreman is less funny but thank goodness Robin Williams is only on screen for 5 minutes as he is generally awful.
Now if you are looking for a film that has a groundbreaking plot or really fleshed out characters or any real chemistry then look elsewhere but if you are looking for an above average rom-com with Robert DeNiro in great form then this for you.

PS; 40 minutes (definitely my favourite moment). Yes, Bobby you still got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SO Wrong!!!, 25 Nov 2013
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Wedding [DVD] (DVD)
How can a film with a cast like this be so bad? Please do not look at the cast and think this film can be redeemed it can't. Don't fall into the same trap I did.

Someone called this dated American Pie for adults I think it is more like American Pie with adults, I cannot see any one over the age of 9 who would find this funny. Not that for one moment I am suggest you expose a poor child to a moment of this film. They try too much with shock humour, I said try, there is not a moment in this film I found funny. Very poorly done, I agree with another reviewer just fast forward to the happy ending and pretend you saw it if you must. I am only glad I borrowed it from lovefilms rather than paying for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a load of rubbish, 15 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. G. I. Davies (marchwood, hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Wedding [DVD] (DVD)
Biggest load of rubbish I have watched this year.
Those acclaimed actors should be ashamed of appearing in this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Wedding [DVD]
The Big Wedding [DVD] by Justin Zackman (DVD - 2013)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews