Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A DIVINE GAME IN A VAST WORLD OF SOARING DRAGONS
The end of this decade was a small Golden Age for cRPGs. Oblivion, The Witcher, Fallout 3, Dragon Age, Risen, even the humble Torchlight revived the genre with fresh ideas and renewed vigor. And DIVINITY II: ERGO DRACONIS comes as the cherry to this cake.

If one remembers the (excellent) Divine Divinity, well gone are the days of isometric gameplay. Larian...
Published on 28 Jan. 2012 by NeuroSplicer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars elegant graphics, gameplay can be awkward
Having broken the back of this game with the original release, i got hold do this value pack for the add-on, and to see what differences there were in the original now that it is called "remastered".

Second point first: no obvious difference. There's still a huge lack of diversity in character faces and all the female NPCs look like they're twelve years old...
Published 20 months ago by F. M. Havicon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A DIVINE GAME IN A VAST WORLD OF SOARING DRAGONS, 28 Jan. 2012
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Divinity 2: Dragon Knight Saga (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The end of this decade was a small Golden Age for cRPGs. Oblivion, The Witcher, Fallout 3, Dragon Age, Risen, even the humble Torchlight revived the genre with fresh ideas and renewed vigor. And DIVINITY II: ERGO DRACONIS comes as the cherry to this cake.

If one remembers the (excellent) Divine Divinity, well gone are the days of isometric gameplay. Larian Studios started with a clean slate and the result is a beautiful third-person action cRPG. The graphics are not cutting edge and yet they are gorgeous. Imagine what a cross between Titan Quest and Fable would look like today [by the way, ..."thank you" Peter Molyneux for snubbing PC gamers with FABLE II!].
The trees and flowers move slightly to the wind; the skies change in beautiful colors; the sunlight and shades play tricks to your eyes; the characters and gear are very artfully designed; and the fighting moves are impressive. If only the animation of the NTCs were better I would be talking about one of the best-looking cRPGs ever.

Nevertheless, what grabs you from the beginning is not the imagery but the story. The first PC game to introduce flying like a dragon was Drakan: Order of the Flame. But a dragon-slayer who can shapeshift into a Dragon and back? That's some table-turning.
What is more, character development runs parallel to your Dragon development, on different skill trees. Diversification may satisfy your curosity but do not specialize at your own risk: as you advance you better have some well honed skills if you wish to survive and fight yet another day.

In the best cRPG tradition, there are quick-slots, inventory and life/mana/stamina levels as well as a small local map. Other than that the screen is free of unnecessary clutter.
What is more, I particularly appreciated the music, subtle or emphatic where appropriate. The same care was exercised to the sounds of battle, from unsheathing your sword to letting go of an arrow. As to the English dubbing (the original game was in German) it was very nicely done.

This DRAGON KNIGHT SAGA edition includes both the (remastered) original Divinity II: Ego Draconis as well as its expansion Divinity II: Ego Draconis - Flames of Vengeance.

Now some bad news. The game comes with SecuROM 7.x DRM which is supposed to be patched out. Yet it still requires OnLine Activation so it is a mixed bag, barely making my tolerable limit (with a star withheld though). Even if bought through STEAM, it will still ask for Activation when installed and you will have to de-authorize your copy when uninstalling. Moreover, be wary of the Russian edition: that one comes with StarForce, an infamous DRM scheme (that simply refuses to die).

Patch 1.497 is already out and I heard it to be especially useful for Win7 users (I cannot speak from experience on this one, I am sticking to my reliable WinXP until Win7 SP2 is released). Nevertheless, after many hours of gaming I found no major bugs.

The graphics are exceptional, the world is vast and beautifully designed, the battles are absorbing and the gameplay immersing. All in all, an excellent game and a major addition to any cRPG collection.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars elegant graphics, gameplay can be awkward, 16 Aug. 2013
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Divinity 2: Dragon Knight Saga (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Having broken the back of this game with the original release, i got hold do this value pack for the add-on, and to see what differences there were in the original now that it is called "remastered".

Second point first: no obvious difference. There's still a huge lack of diversity in character faces and all the female NPCs look like they're twelve years old. The combat system is a close clone of the industry standard model so takes no time at all getting used to, however the game is highly unbalanced from an early stage, pitting you at level 6 against a cluster of level 28-ers, that sort of nonsense. Just a bit of bad programming and sloppy attention to detail that hasn't been corrected, you learn to skip the parts that are so oriented and aim for what's possible, which is most of the game. A few original notions, like as vendor that sells counterfeit goods and the assembling of your own side-kick, though trying to get the sidekick's creator to let him out is another blip in the system. Generally acceptable in most respects, spoiled somewhat by not performing as well as was clearly intended, but this shortcoming is well compensated for by the beautiful graphics, up there with the likes of Drakensang at the time of its release.

One other bother: save games from the original don't seem to work in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divinity 2 Dragon Knight Saga, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divinity 2: Dragon Knight Saga (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
My daughter likes to play this pc game on the computer and has a lot of fun playing it and you do not need to be on-line to enjoy it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lot better than I expected, 11 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divinity 2: Dragon Knight Saga (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I wasn't sure if this was going to be any good as I had completely missed it when it was first released. I picked it up on budget and was very pleased with it. I tried an Archer for a challenge (as I heard they are weak at the start) but didn't have too much trouble. A bit hard work until you get a good bow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for every RPG players, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divinity 2: Dragon Knight Saga (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
End of 2009, the original game Divinity II came out at the same time as Dragon Age : Origins and Risen. No easy task to compete in this context, but the game was great and the only flaw was the conclusion which left some players unsatisfied.
This flaw has been corrected with this pack, which gather the original game and the extension "Flames of Vengeance", and is a must-have for every RPG players.
Great scenario with a final twist, many quests really well-written, fascinating story which keeps you playing ... that's what I call a great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buy., 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divinity 2: Dragon Knight Saga (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Does everything it should do for an RPG Superb! Graphics & storyline great.
Attention to detail second to none . I would recommend it to anyone except inexperienced gamers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divinity 2: Dragon Knight Saga (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
great game and hours of gameplay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Divinity 2: Dragon Knight Saga (PC DVD)
Divinity 2: Dragon Knight Saga (PC DVD) by Mastertronic Ltd (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews