Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Myrtle Clover Mystery
A nice little cosy mystery in the 'Myrtle Clover Mystery' series, I think this is the second novel. Myrtle is an octogenarian and former English teacher. Residing in the town of Bradley, North Carolina, her son Red is the local chief of police.

When Tammy, the owner of a local hairdressers is found dead, Myrtle is on the case, trying to get her friend and...
Published on 19 Jan. 2013 by M. Dowden

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Dyeing Shame
dIDN'T MIND THIS BOOK, BUT IN PARTS YOU KNEW WHAT WAS COMING.

Didn't mind this book, was not too heavy to get into. If I had to put it down quickly I could just pick it back up and continue where I left off .Not too mind boggling to keep up.Kept me entertained. Would now look for more of her books.
Published 18 months ago by MRS A CASSIDY


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Myrtle Clover Mystery, 19 Jan. 2013
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dyeing Shame (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
A nice little cosy mystery in the 'Myrtle Clover Mystery' series, I think this is the second novel. Myrtle is an octogenarian and former English teacher. Residing in the town of Bradley, North Carolina, her son Red is the local chief of police.

When Tammy, the owner of a local hairdressers is found dead, Myrtle is on the case, trying to get her friend and neighbour Miles, to assist her. Tammy has been hitting the bottle hard, and talking out of place, and everyone is worried about what gossip she has on them. This isn't exactly a difficult case for us to solve, but it is a fun light read as Myrtle is just such a character.

If like me you read a cosy mystery for fun and relaxation then you should quite enjoy this. With Myrtle always having to battle her son to stay out of a retirement home, and in this story having to deal with the dilemma of an horrendous painting this is ideal for putting your feet up with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun read, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dyeing Shame (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this having read another Myrtle Clover Mystery - the characters are well rounded and believable. I would definitely recommend this to other readers looking for a light-hearted read with a feisty, if elderly, heroine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Dyeing Shame, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dyeing Shame (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
dIDN'T MIND THIS BOOK, BUT IN PARTS YOU KNEW WHAT WAS COMING.

Didn't mind this book, was not too heavy to get into. If I had to put it down quickly I could just pick it back up and continue where I left off .Not too mind boggling to keep up.Kept me entertained. Would now look for more of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charmingly delightful read, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dyeing Shame (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The main character is a cross between Miss Marple and Murder She Wrote but with an added sense of humour. The story engages you because the characters are believable and the main character's wit and cunning in getting answers is entertaining throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun book, 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dyeing Shame (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book. It is not a "deep" book but rather a lot of fun. I enjoyed the insights into small town America and the personality of the main character. definitely worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A gentle read, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dyeing Shame (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
It's OK with nice characterisation and you can't help falling in love with Myrtle. Plot is a bit thin but it rolls along and I enjoyed the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Dying Shame, 27 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dyeing Shame (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
A lovely light fun read, which I enjoyed very much. I'm looking forward to reading more novels by the same author. Good job, Elizabeth Craig.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Myrtle Clover - My Heroine, 23 Mar. 2014
By 
P. Monks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dyeing Shame (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Love these books, keeps me entertained from cover to cover. The characters are well drawn and the plots amusing. Looking forward to more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Myrtle Clover cracks another case!, 7 Mar. 2014
By 
Olliebeak (Merseyside, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dyeing Shame (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
She might be a little slow on her feet these days but there's nothing slow about her wits! Fortunately, when it comes to confronting a murderer, there's nothing slow about her cane-wielding skills either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb easy reading., 17 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. Rj MEEDS "Heraldryman" (Boston, Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dyeing Shame (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This is a book for those looking to wind down with a coffee in the evening. a little bit of murder mixed in with the tittle tattle of nieghbours and the rum goings on in a small american town. It would be a shame to spill the contents too much, just get out there and read a copy for yourself. I can almost guarantee you will read others in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Dyeing Shame (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 3)
£1.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews