Customer Reviews


230 Reviews
5 star:
 (155)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Macro & Cato series, always a winner
Praetorian: Book 11 of the Macro & Cato series, always a winner, i think the only time i have struggled with one of these books was gladiator and that was just the one character in the book.

Legion saw a return to old school Macro and Cato and Simons best work, so would Praetorian keep up that momentum?

Yes and No: No because the book is different,...
Published on 10 Nov. 2011 by Parm

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, But Provides Only A Glancing Blow
The Praetorian Guard is a rich, under-mined topic in historical fiction. It has a lot of potential, and so far has only has been briefly touched in the work of Robert Graves and Robert Fabbri.

I have only read a few of Scarrow's earlier books, and swore I would never touch another. However, a book around the Praetorian Guard was too tempting to resist...
Published on 22 Jan. 2012 by Dignitas


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Macro & Cato series, always a winner, 10 Nov. 2011
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Praetorian: Book 11 of the Macro & Cato series, always a winner, i think the only time i have struggled with one of these books was gladiator and that was just the one character in the book.

Legion saw a return to old school Macro and Cato and Simons best work, so would Praetorian keep up that momentum?

Yes and No: No because the book is different, the style not what you normally expect from Macro and Cato, more mature almost (the characters), with more intrigue and danger around every corner, never knowing who they can trust.

Yes because the book is excellent, the usual fast paced exciting writing with characters we know so well and can honestly care about. This is one of the best in this series.

The Intrigue in this book gives it more depth without losing the great camaraderie which grows and grows with every book, the intricacies of a relationship that has to change and evolve as changes in rank and relationship occur, as the young Cato matures and grows.

As usual with my reviews i wont touch on the story too much as i feel reviews should not contain plot and spoilers. But if you have not read Simon Scarrow before, yes you could read this as stand alone, (but i also encourage you to buy them from the start) if you enjoy historical fiction with pace, passion, great research and also reality in your characters then look no further, this tale unlike some of the others just has an extra dimension (the politics)

And at the end...well for those readers who follow the series...the boys are coming home...Whoo Hoo!! Im really looking forward to book 12.

Highly recommended book and series.
(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Triumph!, 7 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again Simon Scarrow delivers with the 10th sequel in this excellent series, this time with the indomitable Macro and Cato posing as members of the Praetorian Guard on a mission for the duplicitous Narcissus. The narrative is fast paced, full of intrigue and never lets up, a real page turner.

The perfect companion to the eagle series is The ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

Indeed Simon has one of his own, in his review he says:

Beautifully sculpted it is a very handsome thing! The reason why I particularly like this cup is that it features the men and insignia of the second legion, the unit in which Cato learned how to become a soldier under the affectionate eye of Macro! it's a lovely thing and has pride of place on my desk right now!

For those who would like further information on this epoch of Roman military history, I highly recommend the OSPREY Campaign, Warrior, and men at arms booklets, with great overviews, excellent illustrations, and highly detailed maps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 10 Nov. 2011
I have to admit it.I don't know if to be happy or sad.It took me just the first afternoon and evening i managed to be undisturbed, to end it up and i feel now as if i ran for it all the time.The book this time is so fast-paced and hooking that i have to protest Mr Scarrow,next time do something more boring please,a thing which can last a week at least
It struck me how the style of the narration this time was completely different and unexpected and nonetheless even more exciting than the past if possible.It's a more devious plotting story than i could have ever imagined.I stopped the reading many times just trying to understand how the plot could probably evolve,and i dare say no one will come up with "i got it at once".Really really a wonderful book.a sort of James Bond in nailed boots with the Liberators as the SPECTRE lurking at every corner.The part on the cloaca maxima or Great sewer as you prefer,is so vivid that it looked like playing at assassin creed brotherhood.I lived for some hours into the story,completely plunged into the story.I thought Legion was the peak of Simon Scaorrow.I was wrong.A beautiful diversion on the world of spy-stories without losing nothing about realism and the old good fightings.And a new Cato this time.Unexpected and tougher.My genuine compliments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fictionalised Ancient Roman History, 4 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. G. Johns "Master Mason 6407" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again, Simon Scarrow pens another book starring his duo of heroes, Cato & Macro, who had to join the Praetorian Guard as lowly guardsmen in order to prevent the Emperor Claudius from being assassinated. These two Legionaries had forged a bond that has survived war, rebellion and torture, yet nothing had prepared them for a daunting mission on the deadliest and bloodiest battlefield of all: the bloody streets of Rome. It is AD 51 and traitors threaten to plunge the Roman Empire into bloody chaos. No one can be trusted. The Emperor ordered Cato and Macro to join the Praetorian Guard, his private bodyguard. Their deadly mission is to work undercover as ordinary Guardsmen and root out the traitors before Rome tears itself apart. As the true scale of the corruption dawns, they realise they are facing terrifying odds. Two men against many, in a desperate race to save, not only the Roman Empire, the Emperor Claudius, but each other as well...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Macro and Cato and the Intrigues of Rome, 10 Nov. 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Cato and Macro are thrust back into the cut throat world of Rome in this, the latest outing for our heroic duo who as usual are up to their necks in the thick brown stuff as they're played on the chess board of Romes Political Machination by Narcissus. It's devious, has all the elements of a bygone Rome and of course, pitches the soldiers into a world that they're not really equipped for.

Finally add to this, great pace, cracking prose alongside a great heaping dollop of double dealing which leaves the reader sated by the books conclusion. If you want an Historical Fiction series that ticks all the boxes of Cornwell for the Roman period or even just a book to keep you tied over and happy for the seasonal period, they you really have to get this. Cracking entertainment with a massacre or two thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caught in the middle, danger everywhere..., 6 Mar. 2012
By 
John "John75222" (Leeds, Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Scarrow's well drawn and fleshed out characters, the chalk and cheese legionaries Cato and Macro and have been a fan since Under the Eagle. Scarrow's ability to richly describe the backbreaking and violent daily life of the Roman legionary is well done throughout the Eagle series and to this he now adds the complex political intrigue at the end of the reign of Claudius as well.

However, Scarrow hasn't let up on the blood and guts in this book. You can still hear the clash of sword on sword, the screams of the injured and dying, the smell of blood and sweat and the immediacy, proximity, desperation and tension of the fights. This is Scarrow at his descriptive best.

Rome is starving and the overt and covert infighting now taking place in the first family and their supporters in the Roman civil service is now coming to a head and this is one Narcissus will loose eventually to his rival Pallas. Cato and Macro need to get out and away from this and the resolution to Praetorian gives them the opportunity to escape the upcoming infighting that was synonymous with regime change, with the added bonus of Cato earning a `get out of jail' card from Nero along the way as well.

I can't wait for the next three or four books in the series, let alone book XII, as there is so much potential still to be tapped.

A welcome addition to the series, an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Praetorian (Roman Legion 11), 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book, flowing narrative and your two main characters back to take you through another adventure. I personally like the way the relationships between all the characters changes between books sometimes with subtlety sometimes less so. The end of this book has a significant change but i'll let you read it to find out which. It was nice for Macro and Cato to see Rome once again although i'm fairly sure there would have been more who remember Cato, but I guess thats Mr Scarrows perrogative to play up or down. To sum up, a nice plot and continuation of the story, well worth a read. Although if you are new to Simon Scarrow I would suggest you start at the beginning of the series as its essentially one long story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Praetorian - Simon Scarrow, 21 Jan. 2012
By 
Je Salter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Praetorian sees a departure from the usual legionary capers for Macro and Cato as the two intrepid heroes return to Rome to work undercover as members of the Praetorian guard as they try to uncover a plot to undermine the Emperor, Claudius and bring his reign to an end.

Being a big fan of all Mr Scarrow's books, I was really looking to this story especially as it was going to be different. Although enjoyable, the pace of the storyline was a lot slower than usual and I thought there was less humour and cutting remarks especially by Macro that usually have me chuckling away to myself.

The picture created by the writing easily allows you to 'see' the environment where the two spies find themselves especially during their escapades in Rome's sewer system. There is also an unusual attempt on the Emperor's life but I won't spoil it for you in-case you intend to read the book.

Overall it's another good story and addition to the previous books and best of all, the boy's are returning to the legions and Britannia in the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 5 Feb. 2012
By 
K. Hughes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Scarrow does not disappoint in the latest roman action movie for the imagination. I adore Macro and Cato and only wish his imagination and writing speed could match the speed at which I read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different, but superb., 29 Jan. 2012
By 
Mr. M. J. Underwood (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This latest book is a bit different from the others in the series with a lot of sneaking and talking as opposed to large battles and raids. I found it more interesting than anything to see two characters who I am so familiar with in such a different situation. Superbly written and it's nice to see Macro and Cato stay true to themselves wherever they may travel to. I am looking forward to the next book! I thought this book would get a mixed reaction because it is quite different from those that came before it, but as always the characters are the strength of these books and they shine through once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews