Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN EXCELLENT READ!
The Measly Middle Ages is just like all the other horrible histories. Cramed full of jokes, puns, blood and gore. It makes this book an extremly intresting and funny book to read. The one problem with this book is that it isn't very long, and when you have finished you just want it to go on and on and on. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes reading about...
Published on 21 Feb. 2000

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Measly DVD
I was obviously confused when I read the other reviews, thinking they were for the DVD. Apparently they were for books? I bought this expecting the educational and comic sketches from the popular BBC series, and got this instead. It's badly animated, poorly narrated and lacking in educational value (I am a teacher) I think I've left it too late to return too. Poor value...
Published on 10 Jan. 2013 by S. K. Parkes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN EXCELLENT READ!, 21 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
The Measly Middle Ages is just like all the other horrible histories. Cramed full of jokes, puns, blood and gore. It makes this book an extremly intresting and funny book to read. The one problem with this book is that it isn't very long, and when you have finished you just want it to go on and on and on. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes reading about history or someone who just wants a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The telling of history!, 13 July 2004
'First you feel a little poorly,
Then you start to swell, (Raspberry)
Then you start to spit some blood,
And then you really smell(Pong),
And then you know it's time
To ring your funeral bell(Dong),
And then along comes Mr Death,
Who takes you off to ....where. (Gone).'

Typical humour from Mr Deary - witty little songs break up the dialogue which is easy to listen to and easily absorbed!

ooOoo

Review for the book of the same name.....The Measly Middle Ages (Horrible Histories) [Illustrated], currently amalgamated under the Amazon indexing system.

'The Measly Middle Ages tells you what life was really like in.......days of old when knights were bold, women wore tall pointy hats and the peasants were revolting.'

Want to know:-

a genuine jester's joke?
why chickens had their bottoms shaved?
what ten-year-old treacle was used for?

Read on for some gruesome games, revolting recipes and fantastic facts.
Find out about miserable Medieval monks, the dreaded Black Death and schools that 'really' knew how to make children suffer.
History with the nasty bits left in!
History has never been so horrible!'

A witty, colourful cover opens to 136 pages, split over 12 chapters:-

Timeline
Nasty Normans
Feudal fellows
Dreadful disease
Nutty knights
Awful Angevins
Foul food
Lousy Lancastrians
Woeful women
Cheerless children
Middle Ages mind-benders
Rotten religion

with an introduction and an epilogue.

Written with the typical Deary humour, in a variety of fonts, and superb illustrations/cartoons throughout, from Martin Brown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Educational, 27 July 2010
My 10 year old son loves this series and plays the Cd's whilst going to bed, I like the Cd format as he doesn't read much but he gets to use his imagination to envisage the period being so well described by Terry Deary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very entertaining, 9 Mar. 2010
What a terrific way for my 10 year old son to learn about historical events. He has got several of the series and plays them over and over again. Good fun for car journeys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Measly Middle Ages, 14 Dec. 2007
By 
Tami Brady "Integrated Whole Health" (Calgary, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Who says history has to be boring and serious? Measly Middle Ages tells the history of the middle ages while completely entertaining the reader. The book itself is filled with lots of interesting information, surprising facts, and insider jokes. It's great fun!

Measly Middle Ages is part of a series of Horrible Histories which teaches history in a interesting, fun, and humorous way. All of these books have great titles like Rotten Romans, Awesome Egyptians, Groovy Greeks, and Vicious Vikings. A copy of these books should be in every local school library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Measly DVD, 10 Jan. 2013
By 
S. K. Parkes "S.K.P" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was obviously confused when I read the other reviews, thinking they were for the DVD. Apparently they were for books? I bought this expecting the educational and comic sketches from the popular BBC series, and got this instead. It's badly animated, poorly narrated and lacking in educational value (I am a teacher) I think I've left it too late to return too. Poor value for money, not recommended. Disappointed as Scholastic usually produces better quality stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars fun - but only if you know the history, 29 Nov. 2011
By 
I ordered a couple of the Horrible History books for my child age 10. They are good fun, but only understandable if you actually know the proper historical facts already. If not, the kid will be hopelessly lost in jokes, hints and superficial, twisted facts. If today's kids learn their history through these books, we have a problem. Teach your child the proper history first, then they can read the Horrible Histories just to have a laugh, as they are fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 16 April 2012
As big fans of Horrible Histories, both my pre teen daughters love this CD. I always find it being played on their CD players and often have to switch it off when I check on them at bedtime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Frenchman liked it!, 19 Nov. 2010
My son bought this book as a gift for a French gentleman (a primary school teacher who is mad about history but had never heard of this series). He (the teacher) found it to be an informative, intelligent read, and he said that he "savoured" the "typically British humour" that he loves so much. Next, I think we should give him the Horrible History of France and see how he likes that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Having bought my grandson this DVD for part of his ..., 6 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having bought my grandson this DVD for part of his birthday parcel, he plays it over and over again many times, so it's good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews