Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars170
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£9.28+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on 8 February 2013
Anyone in the U.K. or anywhere being put of buying It's a Mad Mad Mad Mad World [Blu-ray] [1963] [US Import] Take no notice of any description this Blu Ray will play on any region with loads and loads of extras EXCELLENT
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
on 23 November 2002
I first saw this film 40 years ago when it was first released in Cinerama. It blew my socks off then and still does now in this DVD version. In the meantime I have seen it on TV and on video. Both were disappointing because what this film needs is to be shown in its original wide-screen ratio. This together with pin sharp picture and superb stereo sound recreates the original cinema experience although you need to sit very close to the screen to get the Cinerama effect!
One of the best things about the film is the total lack of CGI. Most of the stunts were done for real and there are plenty of them. There was some process photography by Farciot Edouart which was ahead of its time. The car stunts were care of Carey Loftin (the truck driver in Spielberg's "Duel") and have rarely been bettered.
This film has been severely underrated in the past and for some reason is one I cannot do without it. I thoroughly recommend.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 17 December 2009
I also saw this in a big cinema 40 years ago, when cinemas were one screen only and holding a couple of thousand people all told - the atmosphere of communal enjoyment was electric.

This underated film directed by Stanley Kramer (and what a job that must have been, handling what are some of the biggest and most ego-driven actors going) is a must for comedy fans.

Featuring some of the 20th century's biggest stars, and to a person, acting their socks off and giving 110% all the time, is wonderful. The car stunts, and skills of the stuntpeople generally, as another reviewer notes, are breathtaking, given that no CGI existed. Yes, it can be over-long in parts, but you are swept along with all the characters to the mayhem of the last scenes.

For some years you couldn't even get this on video, so I was thrilled to buy the DVD recently.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
on 8 September 2002
I first saw this film over 10 years ago and laughed until I cried, as did my husband and daughters. It starts out with a collection of four very different vehicles each on their own way until a car crashes. The dying man states there is hidden loot under the big W in a park. The personality changes, showing human nature in all it's faces, greed,obsession,anger and frustration. They are unaware that every move is being watched by the police, waiting for them to find the money! The film contains everything,mother in law, slimy salesman, innocent female and drunken pilots who leave an inept person in charge! I can guarantee you will laugh until you cry, whatever you do, do not miss the fery end of the film, it has to be seen to be believed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
on 13 April 2002
This first effort at a comedy by Stanley Cramer features almost every comedian available in the early 1960's. All of the famous television and film comics from 1963 appear in this wild comedy.Appearances by some of the most popular stars such as Jerry Lewis, the three stooges, Jack Benny, Joe E. Brown and others. Regular characters are played by Mickey Rooney, Sid Caesar, Ethel Merman, Buddy Hackett, Milton Berle, Don Knots, Phil Silvers, Terry Thomas and Jonathan Winters. It's difficult to find anything not to like in it.It's fun just watching for who will appear next in the action. The humor is timeless and will appeal to all ages.
The DVD edition includes quite good documentary. There's also 1 hour of "out-takes" from the original Cinerama 70mm release. And there's two trailers.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 8 July 2013
Although an import, the film itself is region free but the menu and extras seem blocked on a U.K. player (Oppo 105) ... so don't be alarmed if you see a blank screen when starting it, just forward into the film itself.
Putting so many comedy stars together is usually a recipe for disaster but for once it actually works! Remarkable detail in this blu-ray transfer, surpassing many modern films. The transfer is a visual treat, on a 65 inch plasma at 8ft away you will be totally immersed in early 60's California.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 29 September 2010
In the late 50's early 60's there was a silent film comedy revival and this film really pays homage to that great era in a glossy colorful widescreen 60's style. Every character and scene is masterfully directed by Stanley Kramer and loaded with hilarious short sightgags and oneliners throughout the film and holds up very well after all these years. The story line is a quest to the find the Big W for a group of travelers who witness a car wreck. Then the movie splits up in to about six different madcap story lines and jumps back and forth between all their mishaps as they race through southern California until they all meet up at the State Park on the coast. One of the funniest chase films ever made and I highly recommend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 16 August 2013
A great car chase comedy the kind they don't make anymore ,full of the best comedy actors at the time of production.I rate this as the best comedy film ive seen,and ive seen quite a few.I now own 3 versions of the film VHS,DVD and now this wonderful Blue-ray transfer that brings out the best in picture and sound.The one disappointment for me is that the original VHS version is 188 minutes long while both the DVD and Blue-ray versions are much shorter at 159 minutes leaving out many funny scenes.Hope that one day they will release the full version on Blue-ray.Never the less great value for money so get yourself laughing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
on 6 July 2004
It's A Mad...World is one of the finest comedies evr and an all time classic. I rmemeber seeing this for the first as young boy when shown on TV. I loved it then and continue to love it whenever I put it on, which is very regularly.
The basic plot revolves around a car accident, where the driver, Jimmy Durante, tells a group of fellow drivers who se him crash and go to his aid about hundres and thousands of dollars in cash buried under a 'Big W' in a park in California hundreds of miles away.
Mayhenm ensues as all the rescuers race for the cash using any form of transport they can can beg, steal or borrow.
The script is sharp, with several sub-plots keping the action moving right to the climax of the movie when all the cast come together at the park under the 'BIG W' where the treasure is supposdly buried.
The cast is superb, with some very well known stars of the time on show, includong Phil Silvers, who basically plays the role of Bilko (another great classic comedy), a sharp, fast talking opportunist. Milton Berle (Mr TV in America), a hen pecked husband supported by Ethel Merman as a loud brash mother in-law. Other stars include Mickey Rooney, Jonathon Winters, Sid Ceasar and terry Thomas playing a very typical English gentleman, a role he often played to great effect.
There are seveal cameo appearances by very well known actors, Buster Keaton, Jerry Lewis to name two.
One of the starring roles goes to Spencer Tracey in one of his last roles as a totally despondent Police Chief about to retire after 40 years service with a measly pension, who sees the opportunity to set himself and his wife up for retirement by taking the buried treasure from the motley crew after they discover it sating he is going to hand it in.
Obviaously this doesn't go down well and once the rescuers work out that they have been tricked, a chase and more mayhem ensues.
Who ends up with the money...Buy the film and find out. You won't be dissapointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 5 June 2013
I've read many a review this Classic and I understand we all believe it is a classic. One reviewer lamented the fact that it's a shortened version and that nothing much is being done to 'put it all back together again' to the original shot length, remastered too of course with both 'smile' and 'flat' versions on Blu-Ray and in wonderful Cinerama.
Let's all remind the 'Masters in Hollywood', you know the keeper of this film, (together with; now let me list a long line of films that should be produced/remastered on Blu-Ray in their original lengths and aspect ratio's) of their responsibility to maintain and 'hold' the beauty of film for now and future generations.
The Wonderful World of the Brothers Grimm, Those Magnificent Men in their Flying Machines, Those Magificent Men in their Jaunty Jalopies, The Great Race, Rails into Laramie, The Long Ships, The Alamo, 55 Days in Peking, The Barbary Coast Gent, Bye Bye Birdie, The Pigeon That Took Rome, and of note that brilliant David Lean film, Ryan's Daughter.
As a chorus we need to remind 'Holloywood' of their unique position and privilege they have in bringing again to life films of such statue.
My question now is...where do we start?

All feedback welcomed...lets go. (Bill Gunning, Sydney.)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Those Magnificent Men in Their Flying Machines [Blu-ray]
Those Magnificent Men in Their Flying Machines [Blu-ray] by Sarah Miles, James Fox, Terry Thomas, Eric Sykes Stuart Whitman (Blu-ray)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.