Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faithless Barry
Stringbeat is the sound of John Barry in the early 60s .The sound that was to be found on all of the early Adam Faith records and made them original at the time.On this cd John Barry and his Orchestra (minus Adam Faith ) play a mix of popular and new (at the time) music .It adds up to being right up there with anything good being made in the early 60s,and anyone who...
Published 12 months ago by vistavision

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AVOID THESE HALLMARK ISSUES
THESE HALLMARK REISSUES HAVE BEEN TAKEN FRM ORG RECORDS THAT HAVE SURFACE NOISE SCRATCHES AND SPEED VARIATIONS.THEY SOUND LIKE A V POOR COPY BOUGHT FRM THE CHARITY SHOP .AVOID!
Published 9 months ago by CENTRAL LONDON MAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faithless Barry, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stringbeat (Audio CD)
Stringbeat is the sound of John Barry in the early 60s .The sound that was to be found on all of the early Adam Faith records and made them original at the time.On this cd John Barry and his Orchestra (minus Adam Faith ) play a mix of popular and new (at the time) music .It adds up to being right up there with anything good being made in the early 60s,and anyone who enjoyed the early 60s or indeed anyone who enjoys John Barrys music will love this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AVOID THESE HALLMARK ISSUES, 13 Nov 2013
This review is from: Stringbeat (Audio CD)
THESE HALLMARK REISSUES HAVE BEEN TAKEN FRM ORG RECORDS THAT HAVE SURFACE NOISE SCRATCHES AND SPEED VARIATIONS.THEY SOUND LIKE A V POOR COPY BOUGHT FRM THE CHARITY SHOP .AVOID!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stringbeat, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having owned the original album since it was released I had been trying to put this onto my MP3 but did not have the right equipment therefore I was very pleased to see that the album had been re-released. The new album is excellent with the addition of extra titles. The only argument I have with it is the same one I had with the original. The wrong man's name is on the front. It should be Vic Flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stringbeat lives again!, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Paul Muldoon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stringbeat (Audio CD)
I bought the LP of Stringbeat in the 1960,s but hadn't played it for years.

I didn't realise how good the music really is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not what is promised with the original sleeve design, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stringbeat (Audio CD)
I ordered a CD in what was displayed as the original John Barry LP design sleeve (red, black and green circles etc) This is not what I got. It was the "Hallmark" copy with a completely different sleeve and very poor reproduction and the stereo is completely lost. Do not order from this suppliers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Twang's The Thang, 29 April 2014
This review is from: Stringbeat (Audio CD)
A perfect example of the John Barry trademark style of the early 1960's. Vic Flick's strident guitar work dovetailing neatly with the pizzicato strings give us memorable tracks from this period. The clavioline is also heavily featured on a number of tracks, recorded many months before the Joe Meek produced hit of "Telstar". It would have been fitting to see the excellent musicians of the John Barry Seven being given credit on the sleeve notes. A momentous album of Barry's work in this period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Got it at last., 27 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Russell Cowe "R J Cowe" (Linlithgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stringbeat [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Didn't have the cash to buy both this and The Shadows first album in the early 1960s. Great to have this LP now with superb sound mastering. Goes well with "Meeting with the Shadows" on the same label, which also sounds incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars String beat - John Barry, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stringbeat (Audio CD)
Been trying to get another copy of this for years after my vinyl copy was lost.
This LP was originally offered in 1961 and showcases John Barry's arranging skills over a variety of instrumentals.
All the tracks on this CD are absolutely of the time - early sixties/pre Mersey-beat - and are timeless.
I wish today's music was as tuneful and as memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hallmark cd is rubbish. Audiophiles-Get the Doxy vinyl version!, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stringbeat (Audio CD)
The CD offered by Hallmark is a cheap vinyl transfer. Hiss, clicks etc have not been cleaned up. This is why it is being sold at this cheap price. There are no notes inside about the music and the printing of the inlay has been done cheaply. The Cd doesn't sound too bad on my top end system but there is distortion at times. You gets what you pays for but it is a shame that it has not got a proper release on CD. I am sure there are plenty of John Barry fans who would be willing to pay for a decent release from the master tapes. For the meanwhile, we have this.

Update: I have now listened to the vinyl version being offered by Doxy records. Research shows that this is a label from the Russian Federation. The vinyl is pristine and the sound tremendous. The cover is laminated and high quality. The inner sleeve is poly lined. The vinyl itself has no warps or non fill issues. It is exceptionally quiet. This mono version comes thumping out of my speakers with glorious early 60's beat! I'm a very happy man. Hats off to the Russians!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars j.barry stringbeat., 30 July 2012
By 
Ta Breakspear - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stringbeat (Audio CD)
first heard this in 1963 in malta.malta radio used one the tracks as a start up to one of their programmes.liked it then though
probably a bit dated now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stringbeat
Stringbeat by John Barry (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews