Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truth stranger than fiction!
Older viewers may recall the news story in the 1970s of a young Mormon man who was allegedly held captive by a woman and forced into having sex with her. The tabloid press went mad with the story with the Daily Express and the Daily Mail later vying with each other to tell the story. The woman in question was Joyce McKinney, the former Miss Wyoming, who is the subject...
Published on 23 Feb. 2012 by Bluebell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful
I can see why Joyce McKinney was less than impressed by this documentary - tawdry and sensationalist are words that spring to mind. She comes across as a sensitive soul who deserves better. I feel ashamed for buying this DVD.
Published 22 months ago by London Lass


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truth stranger than fiction!, 23 Feb. 2012
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tabloid [DVD] (DVD)
Older viewers may recall the news story in the 1970s of a young Mormon man who was allegedly held captive by a woman and forced into having sex with her. The tabloid press went mad with the story with the Daily Express and the Daily Mail later vying with each other to tell the story. The woman in question was Joyce McKinney, the former Miss Wyoming, who is the subject of this documentary film. The 1970s story was only the start of a jaw-dropping series of events that, if this was mere fiction, no one could believe was true. Miss McKinney appears to be a Walter Mitty-like character living in a fantasy world of obsession. Interviews and short film clips from her, and the other protagonists in her eventful life, are the substance of this documentary film. She is obviously very resourceful and determined to get her own way no matter what the expense and is engaging and very confident on film. Don't be put off by the beginning of the film, which seems like an amateur video, because it really is a extraordinary story with some hilarious revelations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Skiing naked down mount Everest, 27 Mar. 2012
By 
technoguy "jack" (Rugby) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tabloid [DVD] (DVD)
The tale of the Mormon missionary abducted at gunpoint in Surrey and press ganged into sexual enslavement by a former Miss Wyoming that had followed him here.The dominant Miss,who was Joyce McKinney,found herself at the centre of a tabloid storm. Kirk Anderson was the victim supposedly brainwashed by his Mormonism to recant the 3 days of love and sex he had in a Devon cottage,to stay within his church.Morris shows us the feeding frenzy of 3 tabloids, The Daily Express,The Mirror and The Sun,depicting the `war of pictures' that ensued.Miss McKinney,she remains unmarried to this day,tells her side of this extraordinary yarn.Morris utilizes tabloid-style or tongue-in-cheek photographic and cinematic inserts and McKinney's in-studio interview to dominate the film's running time. Morris makes the effects of the frenzy plain.:"you learn when you're famous who your friends are",she says,what few friends she had betrayed her.She comes across as an eccentric,incurable romantic,with undying love for Anderson.She is rendered at the end with some dignity,crying over the death of her dog Boogie,and the elation of having it genetically cloned by a Korean geneticist,a victim of our own crazy notions of love,loyalty and idealism.She has since filed a suit against the film's creator,claiming to have been once again,misrepresented. Anderson,wisely, refused to be interviewed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tabloid [DVD] (DVD)
I can see why Joyce McKinney was less than impressed by this documentary - tawdry and sensationalist are words that spring to mind. She comes across as a sensitive soul who deserves better. I feel ashamed for buying this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tabloid [DVD] (DVD)
Underrated, one of Errol's more playful and throw away films but that's the nature of a tabloid story I guess. Such a well told tale and beautifully, craftily edited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tabloid [DVD] (DVD)
What a story! Fascinating documentary, keeps you gripped and sometimes in disbelief as the story unfolds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not very interesting, 4 April 2012
This review is from: Tabloid [DVD] (DVD)
I couldn't decide on two or three stars, but ultimately I think compared to other documentaries I have seen, which really captivated me, this documentary was quite boring in comparison.

The start just shows different people sitting down in front of a grey background talking about not very interesting things. I understand that these interviews are to enable the viewer to get an idea of the story and to form their own opinion of what Joyce is like, but I found it quite slow and dull.

The story does get more interesting after about 20 minutes, and the tabloid headline collages that pop up on the screen provide a welcome visual break from the interviews, as do the photos and film clips. There were a few moments when I was interested in thinking about how tabloids perpetuate the public's interest in the absurd, but the documentary isn't really about that unfortunately. It is about this woman's eccentric story and ultimately I was left thinking "Who cares?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sharks and vampires, 14 Nov. 2013
By 
J. Martin (New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tabloid [DVD] (DVD)
There are some extremely stupid people who shop at Amazon, and it looks like every one of them has reviewed this movie.

Joyce McKinney is not a nut, she is not crazy, and she did absolutely nothing wrong in trying to liberate the man she loved from a dehumanizing cult that had (and still has) him in its clutches. Her mistake was in thinking he was worth saving, but love often isn't rational.

She is a very colorful person, but that's good, not bad. The world needs more colorful people and a LOT fewer mindless clones (they're the ones who think she's crazy).

The life she led in LA before the incident in England had absolutely nothing to do with that incident, and she had done nothing illegal in LA either. But the slimy British gutter press smelled blood, and they went tearing into her for all the blood they could spill.

They're disgusting. That they are STILL gloating over their assassination of her character 35 years later - one of the slimiest even having the gall to call HER a vampire, while smiling the creepiest vampire smile I ever saw - is testament to their total depravity.

I greatly admire McKinney for having survived what they did to her with most of her charm and sense of humor intact. She's a survivor, and she hasn't faded away among the millions of Stepford Wives like a good little girl. She's still her colorful, charming, open, vulnerable and feisty self after all she's been through, and I greatly admire her for it. SHE gets four stars.

I would give Errol Morris one star for showing the British press scum as the gutless, amoral, grinning creeps they are - but he gladly plants himself with them in the "Joyce is barking mad" camp (it sells tickets and wins awards), so he gets nothing from me but the contempt he and all those "press" sharks deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Dubious Kidnapping !, 12 Jun. 2014
By 
Malcolm (Edlesborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tabloid [DVD] (DVD)
Tabloid: an Errol Morris Love Story is a documentary about the 25 year old
American woman who flew over to England to 'kidnap' her 19 year old Mormon
missionary lover, Kirk Anderson in 1977.
The film does little to take the story forward and just highlights the lurid tabloid
journalism at the time of the first breaking of the 1977, reportage.
Joyce McKinney met Kirk Anderson whilst both were attending Brigham Young
University in Provo, Utah, where they fell in love.
They had a brief love affair and then according to Joyce, Kirk simply went
and disappeared from her life.
What had in fact happened was that in accordance with LDS/Mormon doctrine,
the teenager had been sent on the two year obligatory mission that all worthy
Mormon males are commanded to undertake. Missing her lover, Joyce, plans
to 'kidnap' her man, so armed with a replica gun, handcuffs etc., she flies to
England, with a male assistant. This little woman of just over 5 feet, 2 inches
lures Kirk, a big guy of 6 feet 4 away from the LDS chapel in Ewell, near
Epsom, Surrey, and ostensibly keeps him spreadeagled and tied to a bed
in a cottage in rural Devon, miles from his mission home as an attempt to
reignite their passion.

No doubt the teenager, realised that his Mission President, Richard M Eyre,
would have reported him missing, the prospect of a disciplinary council
or church court and possibility of excommunication from the LDS church
would have been uppermost in his mind and so he tried to play victim in
all of this.

McKinney was arrested, remanded to Holloway prison and then bailed to
await trial. She then skips bail and returns to the USA.
Later reports that she tried to stalk Anderson in 1984, appear to be true,
with the FBI investigating, but she omits this from her account.
The film shows that Joyce had a sleazy background as a friendly
dominatrix and also worked at one time as a sexual escort.
Kirk Anderson is totally absent from the film and is now married
and working as an estate agent in Utah.
The film is presented in bite size montages with contributions from Joyce,
an Ex Missionary, and Press reporters.
It is the story of one woman's obsessive sexual love complete with her
personal rantings making her appear to the viewer as being, daft as
a brush!
I gave it 4 stars for it's amusement value and total silliness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars quite intersting, 12 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tabloid [DVD] (DVD)
a liitle too long documentary . I remember being fasinated by Joyce and the kidnap as a child , secretly reading about it in the paper and so this film was great fun for me . My partner didnt remember her and so he was rather bored .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tabloid [DVD]
Tabloid [DVD] by Errol Morris (DVD - 2012)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews