Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Abiding Beauty Of Small Things, 2 Jan. 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Living Room Songs (Audio CD)
Olafur Arnalds is an Icelandic composer/instrumentalist. His new album
'Living Room Songs' is an intimate affair befitting the context in which
he recorded these seven compositions. It is indeed a home made affair.
Mr Arnald's muse bears close kinship with that of Goldmund (aka Keith
Kennif), in particular his haunting 2008 album 'The Malady Of Elegance'.

Mr Arnald is clearly a gentle soul whose compositions, though beguilingly
simple, are full of restrained beauty and pathos. The piano sits at the
heart of the majority of the pieces in the set but his touching, almost
folksy, melodies are embroidered with warm string embellishments and the
addition, on one track, 'Near Light', of a subtle electronic rhythmic pattern.

Like the words of a carol from the season just passed "All Is Calm, All Is
Bright", this lovely music belongs to the long shadows of a summer evening
or a rolling snow-covered landscape at first light. Occasional incidental
sounds, like that of a creaking chair on 'Tomorrow's Song', are left in place,
which contributes an ineffable human presence to the piece's elusive magic.
Elsewhere, opening track 'Fyrsta' weaves a melancholic threnody from the
softly ambling piano osinato and luminous strings; the Janacek-like theme
of 'Agust' would not have sounded out of place had it been a part of his
delightful 1900-1912 thirteen-piece cycle for piano 'On An Overgrown Path'
and at just over two minutes long the final track 'This Place Is A Shelter'
generates a palpable sense of calm and tranquility. A tiny song for the moon.

A little serenity is good for the spirit. Mr Arnalds' heart is clearly in the right place.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw, 23 Mar. 2013
By 
J. Burdge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living Room Songs (MP3 Download)
There is nothing sophisticated about this recording perhaps that is why I like it.
Olafur's music is simple, haunting and beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just beautiful, 5 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living Room Songs (MP3 Download)
Bought this on a whim as I was off on holidays and wanted something new for the plane. Appeared as a recommendation for some other purchases and wow. It's quite a short album but the tracks are all beautiful, simple compositions, with little more than a piano and some strings. There's some extra layers added in some tracks either with simple background noises or synths (as in the 2nd track). Reminiscent in style to some of Ludovico Einaudis work, I can't recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful !, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living Room Songs (Audio CD)
This is absolutely mesmerising music. Wonderful to listen to anywhere. I just wish there was more of it on this disc!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More good stuff, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living Room Songs (Audio CD)
Another great collection of very simple sounding music that I never get tired of listening to. Less is more. Thank you Olafur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short and Perfect, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living Room Songs (Audio CD)
I've been watching bits of footage of this guy for a while and thought I'd try an album. This was the right one to start with. Not much over 30 minutes, but stands up to leaving on repeat three or four times! Just gentle piano and strings parts with a few electronic fairy dust moments. Great if you want life to move a little slower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Effortlessly enchanting, 8 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Living Room Songs (Audio CD)
As a huge fan of Olafur Arnalds I'd say that this is a great introduction album to his works. It, perhaps, doesn't have the depth of 'and they have escaped the weight of darkness' but its solid, rich and has the distinct Olafur Arnald mood and harmonies with some effortlessly beautiful moments and enchanting musicianship...highly recommended escapism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sublime, 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living Room Songs (Audio CD)
Beautiful and thoughtfully crafted music, a real find, I will certainly be buying more of Arnalds compositions. If you like Sigur Ros you will enjoy this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living Room Songs (Audio CD)
simply perfect in its simplicity of packaging and such beautiful music. def recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calming, serene music, 7 April 2012
By 
J. R. Dersley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living Room Songs (Audio CD)
The music on this short CD will appeal to those who like Arvo Part's "Alina" or the Hilliard Ensemble. It's gentle, slow piano and strings music, undemanding and soothing. I bought it for my wife who loves this sort of music and it's getting played regularly. It's not for those, like me, who want to be challenged by music but of its kind it's excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Living Room Songs
Living Room Songs by Ólafur Arnalds
Buy MP3 Album£5.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews