Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars folk subtlety bombast & well-executed blues-rock
This their 2nd LP comes across like a more interesting expanded version of The White Stripes with a great pure drums guitar sound. Commences via a slow grinding heavy dirty bluesy rock'n'roll title track 'Sweet Sour' as it hammers the senses "sour by the minute but you're sweeter by the hour". 'Bruises' is similar fare whereas 'Lay My Head Down' is a reflective...
Published 3 months ago by R.Cooper

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for Everyone!
Sweet Sour sums up the album I guess. It has some outstanding tracks, and some less so, and I don't just mean the ballad-y types. Live, they're ace, but like most studio performances, this doesn't quite capture the moment. It's definitely a grower, and will no doubt grow on me further, but I'm going to file this one under "enigmatic".
Published on 17 April 2012 by Nick Redfern


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars folk subtlety bombast & well-executed blues-rock, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Sour (Audio CD)
This their 2nd LP comes across like a more interesting expanded version of The White Stripes with a great pure drums guitar sound. Commences via a slow grinding heavy dirty bluesy rock'n'roll title track 'Sweet Sour' as it hammers the senses "sour by the minute but you're sweeter by the hour". 'Bruises' is similar fare whereas 'Lay My Head Down' is a reflective gentle piece. 'The Devil Takes Care Of His Own' engages an effective stop-start riffing - a certain heaviness but which is attractive. 'Wanderluster' is an ace wonderful luxurious power-drive of a number - it's like she's Luster and he tells her to go and wander "when you return I will be waiting in spite of all - that's gone before"... no wonder that some have said that this was the track/song of the year 2012. Then follows a beautiful 'Navigate' sung by Emma & sounding a bit like Daughter & is gentle & reflective "oh we're drifting out to sea, into deep water". 7th 'You're Not Pretty' is hard rock. 'Hometowns' folk acoustic guitar with gentle harmonies (almost CSNY / S&G) "to see what you have become". Then 'Lies' now back to a power-drive "lies are the truths that you tell to yourself". 10th 'Close To Nowhere' is more persuasive type gentle folk. Emma Richardson is quite an accomplished painter & this album was inspired by a series of paintings by her. In conclusion folk subtlety bombast & well-executed blues-rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweeter by the hour., 29 Jan. 2013
By 
Lee Bratley "Fleaberto" (Lichfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Sour (Audio CD)
Dollface may have been their debut, but this is the one that lifts Band of Skulls into a new arena! Deep down dirty rock n roll - 'Navigate' is just beautiful, 'Sweet Sour' hammers your skull like the first time you heard 'Sad but True'.....grow a beard. Buy some flares, pretend you're in 'frisco.........nod sagely and do your best 'devil horns'. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sweet sour, 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Sour [VINYL] (Vinyl)
First album i have bought by Band of Skulls, recommended by a friend. I was well impressed and would certainly buy another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Band of Skulls - yes, 8 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. A. Mowatt "humour magnate" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Sour (Audio CD)
I reviewed another of the Band of Skulls CD's. Both of them were purchased at the same time which should be testament to their performance first heard within the context of a program on television. I recommend this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Sour (Audio CD)
Saw Band Of Skulls when they supported the Black Keys, Bought this album as a result of that.
Great hooks, if you like blues based rock, with a nod to Led Zeppelin then you will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Super album, 26 Mar. 2014
By 
M. D. Watts "Mike" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Sour [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I like the music a great deal. Pity the vinyl is not 180 grams but it sounds pretty good. I wish that vinyl would state the quality on the amazon site..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Sour [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Never heard this band before, they were playing at Sterophonics, the family enjoy it and I am glad I bought it on Vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good follow up, 27 Aug. 2013
By 
J. Casey (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Sour (Audio CD)
Good follow up, very similar to the previous record, which is not at all a bad thing. Keep 'em coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, 26 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Sour (Audio CD)
I love this album and I'm addicted to listening to it. It's fast with a great beat, just brilliant music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No difficult second album for B of S., 24 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Sour (Audio CD)
A great follow up to Baby Darling Doll Face Honey, contiuing with some heavy rock and roll riffs and some clever songwriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sweet Sour
Sweet Sour by Band Of Skulls
Buy MP3 Album£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews