Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pressure and Time by The Rival Sons
Difficult to actually criticise apart from that its a shame the album isn't longer..Refreshing to listen to a new band that takes their sound from Led Zep and The Kinks while managing to create their own noise.
Published on 31 Oct 2012 by Gav B

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Money making?
OK; I really like Rival Sons and this redux edition benefits from the 2 extra songs and the video clips. They do look really cool in concert. But (and a big but) I am concerned about the value for the money and whether we are being taken for a ride. The 2 extra songs were already available for download and could have been included in the original release. That CD was only...
Published on 17 Mar 2012 by Mr. Robert Ward


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pressure and Time by The Rival Sons, 31 Oct 2012
This review is from: Pressure & Time Redux Edition (Audio CD)
Difficult to actually criticise apart from that its a shame the album isn't longer..Refreshing to listen to a new band that takes their sound from Led Zep and The Kinks while managing to create their own noise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Money making?, 17 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. Robert Ward (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pressure & Time Redux Edition (Audio CD)
OK; I really like Rival Sons and this redux edition benefits from the 2 extra songs and the video clips. They do look really cool in concert. But (and a big but) I am concerned about the value for the money and whether we are being taken for a ride. The 2 extra songs were already available for download and could have been included in the original release. That CD was only just over 30 minutes long. The video clips from High Voltage are excellent but why have we got only 3 songs? Surely the whole set could have been issued. Look for comparison to Electric Mary III - who gave us a CD of new material and an extra DVD with 30 minutes of live material. So excellent music but one star for the way they regard their fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good I bought it twice !, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pressure & Time Redux Edition (Audio CD)
Ok so I already had the original release from 2011 of Pressure & Time and I loved it and then saw that the record company was doing like many others these days and issuing an expanded version of the CD with a DVD included.
While it may be a cheek for record companies to do this I think this version was worth it as you had 2 bonus tracks on the CD which were the 2 tracks released as a 7" vinyl for Record store day in April 2012 and a DVD with 7 live & promo videos as well as a video trailer. Since I bought it for £9 when it was released in March it was even cheaper than the original CD I bought last year !
Also was lucky enough to catch them live in March with Black Stone Cherry and they were excellent live. Just pre-ordered the new CD Head Down due in Sept 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
By 
Mr. I. Boswell (SHEFFIELD UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pressure & Time Redux Edition (Audio CD)
Another cracking album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pressure & Time Redux Edition (Audio CD)
Awesome band, another awesome album! Love these guys!
Came well packaged straight from Earache Records (the label) in good time.

Can't wait for their next album too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pressure & Time Redux Edition (Audio CD)
Bought this album on my sons recommendation and was not disappointed. This band have got amazing potential, they sound like a cross between Led Zeppelin, Free, The Doors and The Faces, one's to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funkingly rocking, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pressure & Time Redux Edition (Audio CD)
Ignore the obvious Led Zep influence - these are actually good! Slick and greasy rock 'n' roll to get the feet stomping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Retro rocking revelation. please sir, can I have more crunchy riffs..., 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pressure & Time Redux Edition (Audio CD)
Please sir, can I have more crunching guitar riffs? Yes you can!!

"They don't make them like they used to ..." I thought that until I came across this fantastic band. Short punchy rock tracks, channelling the old masters (Led Zep, Stones, Doors). American cultural imperialism at its finest. Good bonus DVD too. Since bought the second album, "Head Down", which doesn't disappoint. Restored my faith in modern rock after the let down of Muse's latest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pressure & time, 24 Jan 2013
This review is from: Pressure & Time Redux Edition (Audio CD)
excellent album by a cracking band ..a must for rock fans ... retro rock of highest callibre..cross between .bad company, led zeppilin& INXS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not "Retro", but "re-defined"., 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pressure & Time Redux Edition (Audio CD)
There are a lot of "sound like" and "reminds me of" tags around Rival Sons, and as flattering they are to the band, they're also a millstone. Instead, they take a rich mix of rock, soul, funk, folk, give it a good shake and pour it in a striped-back but heavy, rich concoction. One of thier gigs is like standing in a sonic hurricane. Classic Rock magazine really fete this band, and its not just hype.

This is a great debut album that has been augmented with a couple extra tracks and DVD of live shows - well worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pressure & Time Redux Edition
Pressure & Time Redux Edition by Rival Sons (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews