Customer Reviews


407 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (101)
3 star:
 (56)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (59)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT
The movie was slightly cheesy in some parts, but overall a BRILLIANT film!

worth a watch for anyone who enjoyed Pacific Rim or films like that.
Published 2 months ago by angus francis

versus
44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent effects
An immature moron joins the US navy, despite his obvious failings he attains an officer's rank and is given a position of considerable responsibility. He even manages to meet a female moron and the two get together. Aliens attack Earth but because they're morons they attack Earth on the very spot where multi national Naval forces have met up to conduct exercises. The two...
Published 24 months ago by Mr. S. Storey


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent effects, 29 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. S. Storey "eats beans" (not at work) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battleship [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
An immature moron joins the US navy, despite his obvious failings he attains an officer's rank and is given a position of considerable responsibility. He even manages to meet a female moron and the two get together. Aliens attack Earth but because they're morons they attack Earth on the very spot where multi national Naval forces have met up to conduct exercises. The two forces clash and the movie provides the viewer with a special effects extravaganza of blockbuster proportions. The effects are eye popping and the Alien beings look great. The screenplay provides levels of violence for fifteen year olds along with logic and dialogue for five year olds. In the end, the human morons win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No!, 12 Sep 2012
This review is from: Battleship [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Top Gun meets Transformers and fails in a big way! Wooden acting and a poor story line. The only thing of merit were the special effects. Save your money and wait for it to appear on tv. It won't be a long wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere near as bad as I expected, 6 Aug 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battleship (Blu-ray + Digital Copy + UV Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Battleship is the story of the RIMPAC joint-naval exercises that are rudely interrupted by an alien invasion. The Aliens set-up some sort of force-field around the Hawaiian islands, separating the John-Paul-Jones and a couple of other ships from the main navy. It becomes clear that the aliens are trying to contact home using the satellite array on Oahu and the only thing standing between the aliens and the array are a bunch of rag-tag survivors. Can they stop this invasion?

Well, first off a lot of people have likened this to Halo and they are pretty much correct. The aliens are pretty unimaginative, they just look like any number of FPS video game characters (Halo, Crysis & Haze all have similar suits & visors) but with some dactyl-alteration. This film stars Rihanna and Taylor Kitsch (John Carter) and surprisingly, Ri-Ri is not that bad, despite only having simple response lines ("Yes Sir, right away") but there are no scenes that hinge on her emotional performance. Liam Neeson provides a decent rendition of a stern but heartfelt Naval Admiral. The story runs in two arcs: the battle between the ships (clue's in the title) and the land-based advance on the satellite facility. It's fairly linear, but the revival of the U.S. Missouri ('The Big MO') set to AC/DC's thunderstruck was awesome and some points were pretty poignant.

Extra content: includes featurettes "Preparing for Battle", "All Hands on Deck: The Cast", and a 2-part Engage at Battle feature "Shooting at Sea", "All Aboard the Fleet". The Blu-ray includes an alternate ending with commentary by Peter Berg and a digital copy of the film - with Ultraviolet codings (UV is a digital locker for your media, you have to register an account and upload your unique product code, but then you can stream it or download it anywhere on the planet on any medium).

The CGI holds up well, even on large-scale alien ships & technology and, despite the dubious use of tsunami buoys (with a name like battleship they had to get a grid system in somewhere...) this is an entertaining film that is great for a wet afternoon. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cackleship, 26 Oct 2012
By 
D. Krol "deano76" (bradford) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battleship [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
having looked forward to seeing this for ages I finally got around to watching it. All I can say is what a MASSIVE disappointment it was.

First off, The Good things:
The special effects were mind blowingly awesome, some of the alien ships and weapons were just fantastic and looked so real on screen. And that's it!

The Bad things: Almost everything else, the script was laughable, it stole almost every cliche in the book and used them all 5 times. The dialogue was ridiculous, some of the (edited for a 12 certificate) one liners were beyond belief. The acting was attrocious for a big budget Hollywood blockbuster. Rhianna being the biggest culprit, whoever thought this girl could act needs to go see a doctor, she was awful. They also used several real life Navy veterans in the film all of which, were as wooden as an average shelf and even the old masters like Liam Neeson and Peter Macnicol were given so little screen time, they may as well not have been there.

Some of the scenes in the film were so bad they defy description. The scene where the real life Navy vets were introduced, standing at the various points on the USS Missourri is one of the corniest scenes ever put onto film. The fight scene with the real life Navy commander, (the one with the metal legs) and the 8ft armour clad alien, just has to be seen to be believed. it had me wincing with embarrasment. And lets not even talk about the scene where the captain tells his crew to drop one anchor to make the ship skid (Yes skid) out of the way of a barrage of missiles coming thier way. I swear, I thought I was a stigmatic because my eyes literally bled at that scene.

The aliens in the film are a million times more advanced than the humans and yet, they are completely devoid of any intelligence. I swear, some of the stupid things these beings do and some of the things they fall for are ridiculous.
And as for thier weapons, they constantly use rubbish weapons (giant cans of beans that explode) which do almost nothing, instead of using these giant razor ball things that are almost unstoppable and cause massive amounts of carnage. If they had used the razor balls all the time they wouldn't have bloody lost.

If the film hadn't have taken itself so seriously it would have made a good comedy.

I really haven't seen a big budget blockbuster this bad since "2012" and I'm hard pushed to decide which one is worse.

Dreadful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 28 May 2014
This review is from: Battleship (Amazon Instant Video)
The movie was slightly cheesy in some parts, but overall a BRILLIANT film!

worth a watch for anyone who enjoyed Pacific Rim or films like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Battleship meets Halo, 14 April 2012
This review is from: Battleship [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I saw the trailer and I didnt think it looked bad but it didnt really interest me enough to go and see it at the cinema. I was dragged along with my dad, brother and his friend and dad. I am glad I went.

As you all know, there have been MANY alien invasion-type movies being and have been released in the past year and this year, but among them stands a box office giant, and that movie is Battleship. The story is set around a naval fleet that accidentally makes contact with aliens known as "The Regent." Soon, the world is thrown into chaos as these creatures have a hidden agenda of which did not involve human presence, which is now to be dealt with in the most severe way; annihilation.

The acting all around was good. Taylor Kitsch was great, I've heard about him before but I've never actually seen any of his movies but he was great in this one. Liam Neeson, for the parts he was in, was fantastic as he always is. Rihanna wasn't as bad as I thought she was going to be and considering this is her first movie I think she did pretty well.

Peter Berg did a fantastic job directing this movie, he used a wide range of camera angles to show us everything that was going on. The sound fx and design was astounding and the soundtrack by Steve Jablonsky was superb too. All in all I think that Battleship isn't as original as something like Inception but it's still a great summer blockbuster and it's definitely worth watching on the big screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 22 Jun 2014
This review is from: Battleship (Amazon Instant Video)
This has absolutely amazing CGI and special effects, along with a decent foundation in the story line department. The heroic return and use of the American classic USS Missouri probably went well with the Yanks but other nationalities wouldn't be impressed. The idea that a fool managed to join the American Navy and be promoted to Lieutenant when everyone seems to hate him is a bit far-fetched, then for him to all of a sudden become a tactical genius even more so.

In Summary:
Amazing Special affects put this as a 5*, however poor acting and unbelievable characters let it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was it a comedy?, 5 Jun 2014
This review is from: Battleship (Amazon Instant Video)
Really goofy and cheesy, and some of the acting was pretty poor.

None of it makes any sense... but it was entertaining from an action point of view, there were a good few laughs and the effects and visuals were pretty amazing which made it easier to watch.

And yes, there is a scene where they play Battleship... I'm not kidding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lame aliens with beards, 26 May 2014
This review is from: Battleship (Amazon Instant Video)
Great alien craft but overall not a great film. The aliens were a bit of a let down, not much creativity. 5 out of 10. Very average score for an average film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Expecting more ..., 12 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. Mark Plant "origamimark" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battleship [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
As a SciFi, CGI and Rihanna fan, I was expecting a bit more from this movie, especially having read a number of quite positive reviews here and elsewhere. I'm afraid I found the whole thing a bit muddled and repetitive. Leam Neeson can do better than this.

The final sequences with the old battleship and its crew of old-timers was about the best bit.

Bonus features comprise a trailer for the computer game and .... nothing else.

Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battleship (Blu-ray + Digital Copy + UV Copy) [Region Free]
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews