Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cosy Collection
Having read and enjoyed all the separate stories on Kindle, I was delighted to find this anthology containing all the cosy mysteries surrounding Laura and Rupert Latimer based around the perfectly imagined English country village of Claresby.

This is a great collection at an attractive price - a must for all fans of author Daphne Coleridge's very British...
Published on 27 Dec. 2011 by Peter Piper

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars unoriginal puzzles
Picked this book for the short stories to read before going to sleep. Certainly did the trick- it was so boring i fell asleep aster a couple of pages!! I did however persevere and finally finished all the stories in the collection. I thought it would be more like mystery stories but they were more like puzzles and i didn't find them to be very good ones at that.
Published on 8 Nov. 2012 by goldenoldie12


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cosy Collection, 27 Dec. 2011
By 
Peter Piper (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Claresby Collection: Twelve Mysteries (Kindle Edition)
Having read and enjoyed all the separate stories on Kindle, I was delighted to find this anthology containing all the cosy mysteries surrounding Laura and Rupert Latimer based around the perfectly imagined English country village of Claresby.

This is a great collection at an attractive price - a must for all fans of author Daphne Coleridge's very British mysteries. It contains all the delightful stories from the Kindle books: 'The Claresby Mystery', 'Three Mysteries', 'Two Claresby Village Mysteries', 'Rupert Investigates', and 'The Claresby Ghost and Two Other Mysteries'.

Warmly told, these stories all kept me guessing until the end. What I also like about this collection is the way in which Laura and Rupert's relationship is developed through each story. My particular personal favourites are The Treasure of Claresby Manor and The Curious Legacy. I hope you enjoy these stories as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very pleasant surprise, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Claresby Collection: Twelve Mysteries (Kindle Edition)
I hadn't come across the author before, but decided to give it a try on my relatively new Kindle. I must say I found the stories very easy and entertaining and I suppose a little old-fashioned...nothing wrong with that at all! For a relaxing read and, though I read them either in my garden or sitting at a table in Kingston armed with a large americano with extra shot to enhance the taste, I would strongly recommend to anyone who enjoys a good yarn. I also liked the continuity per chapter which of course built up a better picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lord Peter Wimsey meets Midsomer Murders, 25 May 2012
By 
This review is from: The Claresby Collection: Twelve Mysteries (Kindle Edition)
Well-written mysteries in a charming, British village setting. One or two of the first stories were a bit too quiet for my taste, but the anthology picked up later. My favourite stories were "The Claresby Mystery" and "The Black Widow".

The perfect choice for the long summer holidays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short stories, 1 Mar. 2013
By 
A. Holmes (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Claresby Collection: Twelve Mysteries (Kindle Edition)
This is a great little collection, each story follows on but is short enough to be read in one sitting. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars unoriginal puzzles, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Claresby Collection: Twelve Mysteries (Kindle Edition)
Picked this book for the short stories to read before going to sleep. Certainly did the trick- it was so boring i fell asleep aster a couple of pages!! I did however persevere and finally finished all the stories in the collection. I thought it would be more like mystery stories but they were more like puzzles and i didn't find them to be very good ones at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 28 April 2012
By 
Ms. Diane Nicholls (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Claresby Collection: Twelve Mysteries (Kindle Edition)
a great read, keeps you intrested,from the first page
a good book to snuggle up with on a cold winters night
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light and undemanding, 8 Mar. 2012
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Claresby Collection: Twelve Mysteries (Kindle Edition)
These short `mystery' stories seem to me to be modelled on the stories of Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayer and others, updated to a contemporary setting. They are very undemanding, light reading that barely require any concentration, and the `mysteries' are sometimes very half-hearted, just fizzling out into nothing.

That said, there is something very soothing about the complete lack of excitement and surprise in the stories. There are some incredible absurdities here (the pickled toad artwork that gets eaten in the night; the assassin who tries to shoot a student in a graduation parade with a crossbow, only to have Rupert snatch the bolt out of the air like Superman...) which made me question how serious the author really is.

So these are a tad silly but fluently-written - perfect switch-off reading to lull you smoothly to sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Claresby Collection, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Claresby Collection: Twelve Mysteries (Kindle Edition)
Very clever writing, thoroughly enjoyed them, I will look for more by this author; good luck to her in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Claresby Collection: Twelve Mysteries (Kindle Edition)
Very easy reading with some good mysteries. Enjoyable for all ages. Stories not too long, can't wait to read some more Claresby mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Claresby collection, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Claresby Collection: Twelve Mysteries (Kindle Edition)
The stories were short enough to be a bedtime read. Would recommend to my best friend who only reads for a short while at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Claresby Collection: Twelve Mysteries
£2.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews