Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Falkllands Play
In this day and age of cynicism it's refreshing for a film (tele-play?) to tell it how it was. At the end of the day a militaristic dictatorship invaded a peaceful little Island, watched over by a democratic nation. Sorry but those are the facts. This is how it's told. You then throw in a strong, charismatic leader and you've also got a damn good story. Patricia Hodge (I...
Published on 16 Dec. 2011 by Alan L. Jones

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is it historically accurate or a chance to polish up the 'Iron Lady's' image.
As a production I think this is worth watching. The acting is generally very good, particularly Patricia Hodge as the indomitable Mrs Thatcher, although it appears to unfairly represent Francis Pimm as something of a benign, slightly idiotic and misguided member of the war cabinet. I don't remember him being that way. In fact, I seem to recall that he was more the...
Published 3 months ago by Canuteronomy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Falkllands Play, 16 Dec. 2011
By 
Alan L. Jones "jonah91" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Falklands Play [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
In this day and age of cynicism it's refreshing for a film (tele-play?) to tell it how it was. At the end of the day a militaristic dictatorship invaded a peaceful little Island, watched over by a democratic nation. Sorry but those are the facts. This is how it's told. You then throw in a strong, charismatic leader and you've also got a damn good story. Patricia Hodge (I would never have cast her) was marvellous. Anyone wishing to see a balanced view of the conflict should watch this and An Ungentlemanly Act and this presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling TV Play, 25 Feb. 2011
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Falklands Play [DVD] (DVD)
A great TV play which depicts the events leading up to the Falklands war and how then Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher and her cabinet handled the conflict and the efforts made by the United States to act as a peacemaker between the Argentinian and British Governments.

The dialogue and drama is very good and edge of your seat stuff at points and is very interesting and detailed as a piece of our modern history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly written, beautifully acted, 29 Jan. 2009
By 
R Rumble (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Falklands Play [DVD] (DVD)
A remarkable play that tells the story of the Falklands conflict as it was, gripping from the very beginning and with some splendid performances by outstanding actors, in particular Patricia Hodge as the Prime Minister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXTRAORDINARY! An excellent quasi-document showing how Margaret Thatcher answered to Argentinian agression., 23 Jun. 2014
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Falklands Play [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This barely 90 minutes long TV play about Iron Lady and her lieutenants in time of Falklands War is an absolutely extraordinary thing, more tense and dramatic than most action or SF mega-productions! I loved every minute of it and I count it as one of the ABSOLUTELY BEST films about recent history I ever saw.

This film shows, I believe, quite faithfully the events as seen by the Prime Minister and her ministers - the fighting is not shown, except in the news, on the TV screens and sometimes we can read the dispatches and hear the radio communications. The play begins before Argentinian invasion, when first concerns are raised - and from that moment the tension rises and rises, all the way until the last exchange in the Parliament, immediately after Argentinian capitulation.

This play was supposed initially to air in 1986, but because it was showing Margaret Thatcher in a sympathetic light, BBC management (completely dominated by far-left) censored and shelved it - instead, films and plays criticising the war and the Prime Minister were produced... This censorship lasted for sixteen long years! The play finally aired in 2002, only after a campaign of protests...

It is an absolutely REMARKABLE thing, which I recommend with all my heart! A thing to buy, watch, keep and re-watch! ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Politics is not all Glitz and Glamour, 9 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This captures vividly, the mood and emotion of the Time perfectly. There is little doubt in my mind - both at the time when the Events unfolded - and even now decades later, that Margaret Thatcher was the right individual, in the right place, at the right time. The Play captures perfectly the overall mood of the time, which amounted to Great Anger at the Bullyboy tactics employed by Argentina in invading the Falkland Islands in the first place. The Play takes on the run up to the Invasion and all the twisted complex issues that had to be dealt with as the time for the Invasion approached. The Play equally deals well, with all the attendant sensitive human issues, with alacrity, and forthright honesty, a refreshing change.

All in all a superb Play that dealt with the run up to the Invasion to re-take the Islands superbly well without over dramatizing the real issues present as the casualties mounted. Such Actions are easy to criticise from afar, but when on the inside dealing with a Reality that is likely to cost lives, its a whole different proposition - no matter anyone's stance on the Conflict. That human reality came across forcibly, and extremely clearly. This is a first rate factual representation of events, and I highly recommend it without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Margaret Takes Charge, 2 Nov. 2011
By 
F. S. L'hoir (Irvine, CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Falklands Play [DVD] (DVD)
Patricia Hodge is formidable in her role as Margaret Thatcher. She portrays the confidence of a woman in utter control, who deftly manages the escalating crisis as Argentina becomes ever more belligerent in its attempts to claim the Falkland Islands, which had been a British dependent territory since 1832. We see Margaret Thatcher at what was arguably the pinnacle of her career, undertaking complex and risky negotiations, finally sanctioning the war as a last resort. Well aware of the consequences, she is, at the same time, stricken by the loss of life, when the casualty lists come in.

Ably supported by an outstanding ensemble cast, Patricia Hodge, a consummate actress, turns in a powerful performance. She makes no attempt to imitate any of Mrs Thatcher's characteristic speech patterns, and perhaps because she is playing for truth of character, rather than imitation, she convinces us absolutely in her portrayal of Margaret Thatcher's statesmanship; her exercise of diplomacy; her frustration over Argentine intransigence and Washington's attempts to straddle the diplomatic fence; her anger over the plight of the Falkland Islanders; her profound sorrow at the deaths of the troops that she has sent to war; and her sincerity in personally writing letters of condolence to each of the families of the fallen.

Even though we know the outcome of the Falklands War, this film is compelling in its suspense as the negotiations unfold.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inherent in the film were Thatcher's expression that serve to remind how fortunate our generation are to live in a world with .., 17 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. Ian P. Onions (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was simply very enjoyable. Inherent in the film were Thatcher's expression that serve to remind how fortunate our generation are to live in a world with the rule of law, freedom etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fair and exciting account, 7 April 2010
By 
Eriksson Dick (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Falklands Play [DVD] (DVD)
It's nice to see a play that portrays a historic event without political bias in any direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... Patricia Hodge as Margaret Thatcher but she was utterly brilliant is all respects, 11 Dec. 2014
By 
Savoyite (Cheltenham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Falklands Play [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Could not visualise Patricia Hodge as Margaret Thatcher but she was utterly brilliant is all respects, even down to the walk! Some of the portrayals of other government officials were equally brilliant. One or two of the lookalikes were so close to the real thing as to be astonishing. The storyline was excellent and it all added together to make an absorbing play. Well deserved 5 Stars.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting to watch, well produced, 4 Sept. 2011
By 
R.E. Viewer (Scotland, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Falklands Play [DVD] (DVD)
This is an interesting story of a modern conflict. The acting and script are both fantastic. This was a genuine pleasure to watch, and a great political play. Being a drama seemed to really add an element of gripping interest over a documentary, and I am a lover of a good documentary.

Hard not to love Thatcher in this particular matter, and the principled stance portrayed in this work is done well and comes across as truly admirable. Polarising opinions on The Iron Lady herself aside, this really is good viewing.

As other reviewers have said, this is well worth watching, and at this price what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Falklands Play [DVD] [2007]
The Falklands Play [DVD] [2007] by Michael Samuels (DVD - 2011)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews