Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars34
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2013
The Nightmare Man was a one off project by the BBC and originally shown over four nights.
It is definately a product of its time - set during the cold war, Russia is the bad guy, the special effects would have benefitted from CGI etc. However for sci fi fans who remember Doctor Who or Blakes Seven this is really not a problem.
If you have a evening or two to spare and you like your sci fi a little camp and cheesey this is for you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Can't understand why this was never repeated or re-made. I rememeber being glued to the TV for the next episode.
OK typical BBC low budget effects but considering the time it's a real classic, great atmosphere clever plot and characters who do sensible things (mostly). The final scenes are a bit weak and they make for a disappointing denoument but well worth catching again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
I was 13 when this was first broadcast and i found it on amazon whilst looking for something else and i remembered how scarey it was in 1981.
Yes its dated and a little slow at times but the cast are great and the story stands up quite well but the point of view "nightmare man" was not as nightmareish as i remembered but still well worth a watch...........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
Excellent film though not as frightening as I. remember in 81,but that's the way life has gone on. If ever they remake this in the modern way it could be fantastic. Mind you these modern directors would probably alter it beyond recognition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
Great location filming...the last episode could have been more imaginative, but nevertheless a good eerie, atmospheric, chiller of the '80's. A number of well known actors making their earliest career appearances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
This series was a blind buy for me.
It is rather dated but is also a snapshot of the time.
The monster breathing is fantastic.
It would be a great watch for a quirky kid or a retro adult
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2005
Ever since this release was announced nearly 12 months ago I have been eagerly awaiting it's arrival. I was not disappointed. Time has not diminished the power and drama of the story or the excellent production values. All performances are excellent, especially Maurice Roeves, and it is still creepy enough to inspire a few shivers down the back of the neck. This is one of only 2 TV productions that have really made me want to check the doors and windows before i went to bed (the other being "The Woman In Black") and i cannot recommend it highly enough.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
showing its age being made during the time of the Coldwar. None the less a nice enjoyable watch with a ending I was not expecting till late on .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2011
This particular made-for-TV episodic movie is another proof of the genius that is BBC-creative unit. At a time when run-of-the-mill shows were dominating British TV and "Dallas"-type serials exported by the US TV were becoming standard-bearers of entertainment (whatever that might have meant then), this brilliant adaptation of a sci-fi horror novel into a 4-part movie had set new standards. Yes, the technical aspects are little dodgy. Yes, the monster, once revealed, does not match our thoughts (expectations?) evoked by the red-filtered images and harsh breathing sound that accompanied it, esp. during the killings. But the film is carried forward by some superb acting, gripping suspense, an openness regarding the identity of the monster, and with several undercurrents (islander-v/s-outsider, police-v/s-military) being handled in a deft manner. The Booklet accompanying the DVD is a real bonus, and would be treasured by me.

Overall, BBC should hunt their archives for more of such hidden jewels that would turn out to be superior to many of the contemporary sc-fi-thriller works, once we get to watch them again. Recommended!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
Brought back memories of spooky scifi goings on. Well worth a watch and im sure I'll watch it again and again. Only downside was a slighty disappointing last episode
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.