Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very realistic story about the reality of family life...
A story about life, life behind closed doors and beyond the mask of perfectionism that a family creates for the public eye. I liked the honest realism of this story. The fact the character owns up to being annoyed at the crying infant and the nagging wife. Having to curb his temper when he wants to lash out at either of them, because he is overtired due to lack of sleep...
Published on 14 Jan 2012 by Cheryl M-M

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story but with no ending
Loved this book and the storyline was brilliant and couldn't put it down. Really kept me gripped and wanted to get to the end to see what happened which is when it fell flat for me. The ending left me feeling disappointed and frustrated as it did not tell you what happened after and could have been better so not happy with this one.
Published 18 months ago by Lynda


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very realistic story about the reality of family life..., 14 Jan 2012
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remorse (Kindle Edition)
A story about life, life behind closed doors and beyond the mask of perfectionism that a family creates for the public eye. I liked the honest realism of this story. The fact the character owns up to being annoyed at the crying infant and the nagging wife. Having to curb his temper when he wants to lash out at either of them, because he is overtired due to lack of sleep and nagging suspicion. The story also shows how the choices we make define and shape our lives, especially the ones we forget to make. I enjoyed the read, perhaps because it was something different, or because it didn't make it frilly and butterfly nice. The only thing I think it could do with to make it a little bit better is to trim it down and take out some of the superfluous details and centre on the main storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 15 April 2013
This review is from: Remorse (Kindle Edition)
This was such a brilliant book I loved it. Stephen Edger had me gripped from page 1 and i could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remorse, 14 Nov 2012
By 
P J. Jackson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remorse (Kindle Edition)
I came across Stephen Edgar around a month ago and have since read all three of his books.
Excellent. They kept me on the sdge of my seat throughout.
Remorse. Now this is a work to keep and re-read.
Those parents out there have all experienced this at some stage, the twists, the turns, the drama this work provides is second to none.
A real contender and challenge to likes of Waites and Billingham.
Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, 19 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remorse (Kindle Edition)
Just finished remorse the second Stephen Edger book I've read another highly enjoyable read very different to his first book but still excellent ,would recommend without doubt looking forward to his new book shortly. For £1 it's unbelievable . I read lots of crime fiction and he is on par with many other authors I enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book, 7 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remorse (Kindle Edition)
Read this book after reading Integration. Again great book, loved the way some of the characters from Integration found their way in to this book. Sort of loved and hated the main character at the same time. Great twists at the end. I would highly recomend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Story, 29 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remorse (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book a lot, the main character is portrayed very honestly with many weaknesses and flaws and clearly adores his baby daughter, which makes the reader warm to him and to an extent have an empathy with his actions. It is clear from the start that he is writing an account of events leading to his ending up in prison, and it is also made clear from the outset that one of his family dies during these events. This made me want to keep reading to discover what happened.

The two main characters are well developed and you can sympathise with both of them, and the other characters are also realistic, you could imagine bumping into any of them in real life! I thought the juxtapositioning of the mundane day to day routine, with the main character's growing stress and the knowledge of where it was all inevitably heading, was a good technique to keep you reading. I liked the story in the background about the supermarket and all the goings on there, it's part of the reason the end events sneak up on you despite the author letting you know from the start that tragedy will strike. There were many moments of dry humour which I enjoyed throughout the book.

There were some typos and grammatical errors throughout but not to the extent that it spoiled an otherwise good story. I did find myself noticing a limited use of contractions which meant the characters' conversations didn't always flow as they might. The book is written in the first person and in a couple of places this slips to a narrator's voice and then straight back into the first person, which could be confusing. I think if a book is written in first person there should be good reason (ie what does it add to the reader experience) to deviate from this, and that devices should be used to ensure that it is consistent and not confusing. However, this is me being pretty 'pernickity'!

Overall I really enjoyed this and look forward to reading more of Stephen Edger's work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read from Stephen Edger...., 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remorse (Kindle Edition)
This really is a great read, the tension mounts from the first page. John Duggen is a hardworking Husband to a lovely young wife & Father of a 4 month old little girl. Its unbelievable how in the space of one week his life is thrown into complete and utter turmoil. This book is very well written and holds the reader from the first to the last page - I can thoroughly recommend this book, and will certainly be downloading more from this Stephen Edger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thrilling, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remorse (Kindle Edition)
Loved the way the writer told the story. It was one of those books that you couldn't just finish the chapter.. you had to read on to find out what happened next. Very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remorse, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remorse (Kindle Edition)
a great read , this author keeps the reader enthralled until the very last page, I loo for new titles eagerly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remorse (Kindle Edition)
brilliant, book is very well written, had me wanting to flick through, excellent book, will buy the rest of the author's novel's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Remorse
Remorse by Stephen Edger
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews