Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun
There is one low review on here, and i have seen bad reviews elsewhere, why? because those people didn't know it wasn't book 2 and didn't know it was a short story.
Seriously people...read the description, you claim , by spending the money to be fans of reading and the author, so read the description.

This prequel, is fun, the characters are great and like...
Published on 17 Jan. 2012 by Parm

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short Side Story
I bought the US Kindle Edition of this book shortly after reading Vespasian: Tribune of Rome. The Crossroads Brotherhood narrates one of the episodes in the life of Magnus shortly before his appearance in the Vespasian series. In fact the final part of the book weaves into the part where Magnus first meets Vespasian and his party on their entry into Rome.

I...
Published on 30 Mar. 2012 by Sukanya Ramanujan


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 17 Jan. 2012
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Crossroads Brotherhood: A Crossroads Brotherhood Novella from the bestselling author of the VESPASIAN series (Kindle Edition)
There is one low review on here, and i have seen bad reviews elsewhere, why? because those people didn't know it wasn't book 2 and didn't know it was a short story.
Seriously people...read the description, you claim , by spending the money to be fans of reading and the author, so read the description.

This prequel, is fun, the characters are great and like Duncan McDonald my only critic is that this wasn't saved for a full length book. This novella just reinforces for me the writing ability of Fabbri, his skill with characters and the roman world.
If anything i liked this more than Vespasian...damn...why wasn't it a full book...Robert, there must be a book or series on the seedy underbelly of Rome!!

well Liked and recommended

(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vespasian - The Prequel, 1 Jan. 2012
By 
Mr. William Oxley "oxenblocks" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crossroads Brotherhood: A Crossroads Brotherhood Novella from the bestselling author of the VESPASIAN series (Kindle Edition)
The Amazon website does clearly state that this is a prequel to the first of the series on Vespasian. The second book in the series is called Rome's Executioner, due out in May 2012.

The file size is 348 KB which is less than half of the size of the Vespasian story at 783 KB. I would suggest that the price of £2.46 is probably too high when compared to the cut price of the Vespasian novel at £3.58 for the Kindle edition. The relative high price loses the rating a star.

The story is written in the same flowing style as Vespasian and also includes some of the same characters, including Lady Antonia and Sejanus. The novella fleshes out the background of the hard man like Magnus, who now is Vespasian's batman whilst on expedition fighting for Rome. The gangs of men who inhabit the Crossroads are a necessary evil, but at the same time they can be a force for good. The story also fleshes out the workings of patronage, political intrigue and spies, and the power of the Praetorian Guard. An enjoyable short read but not an essential purchase.

I really enjoyed Vespasian: Tribune of Rome, and I can not wait for book 2 in the Vespasian series, Rome's Executioner. If you are looking for books to read in the meantime you must look at First Man In Rome (Masters of Rome), or Under the Eagle (Roman Legion 1).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 31 Dec. 2011
By 
Duncan McDonald (Surbiton, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Crossroads Brotherhood: A Crossroads Brotherhood Novella from the bestselling author of the VESPASIAN series (Kindle Edition)
If you understand that this is a novella and is a prequel to the Vespasian novel then it is an enjoyable glimpse of the lives of the crossroads brotherhood characters and the end of the novella segues nicely into how they meet up with Vespasian's family on their entrance to Rome.

It is a fascinating insight in how the mechanics of cities worked, from the protection rackets, the political classes and posturing at all levels and what most of us would consider outrageous was considered normal every day life. Murder, prostitution, extortion and protection rackets, all considered run of the mill and normal life and whilst these still exist today they are discreet and considered antisocial rather than accepted business practices.

I really enjoyed this novella but my one criticism is that I wish it were an actual novel and longer, the characters have so much scope, I would like to see more of the lives of these characters in the Vespasian series and it gives Robert Fabbri scope for further sub-plots on the periphery of main stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Crossroads Brotherhood, 24 Jan. 2012
By 
Je Salter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crossroads Brotherhood: A Crossroads Brotherhood Novella from the bestselling author of the VESPASIAN series (Kindle Edition)
Robert Fabbri's first book last year, Vespasian: Tribune of Rome was without doubt one of the novels that I enjoyed the most last year. The Crossroads Brotherhood is a prequel to that story which is touched upon in the debut book and revolves around life on the streets of Rome, which proves to be a fascinating insight, well researched and authentic in the telling. It's a short story but easily worth the few pounds it can be purchased for on Kindle.

Robert Fabbri is quickly establishing himself as a great story teller, who so smoothly allows the reader to picture the environment he discusses in his books. For anyone interested in this era, I would highly recommend his books, I for one can't wait for the sequel to Vespasian: Tribune of Rome, a fantastic story that mirrors history and the life of one of Rome's greatest personalities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short Side Story, 30 Mar. 2012
By 
Sukanya Ramanujan (Chennai, India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crossroads Brotherhood: A Crossroads Brotherhood Novella from the bestselling author of the VESPASIAN series (Kindle Edition)
I bought the US Kindle Edition of this book shortly after reading Vespasian: Tribune of Rome. The Crossroads Brotherhood narrates one of the episodes in the life of Magnus shortly before his appearance in the Vespasian series. In fact the final part of the book weaves into the part where Magnus first meets Vespasian and his party on their entry into Rome.

I have given the book 3 stars because of the following reasons: (a) The Crossroads Brotherhood is just long enough to be a short story rather than a stand alone novella or novel by itself. The pricing (at $3) seemed a tad high for such a short story. (b) As a big fan of Ancient Roman civilisation I could enjoy the story (with all the details about Rome) but the tale or the narration by itself is not very remarkable.

I guess this book is a good choice if you have a couple of hours to spare, a kindle to hand and an interest in Rome and the Vespasian series that the author is releasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but very different to Vespasian, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crossroads Brotherhood: A Crossroads Brotherhood Novella from the bestselling author of the VESPASIAN series (Kindle Edition)
A really clever prequel to Vespasian set in Rome prior to Vespasian entering the city in Tribune of Rome. Great characters and a fascinating insight into Roman life including the sleazy underworld. Should be pointed out that Vespasian does not figure at all in this book but do not let this put you off. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 11 Mar. 2013
By 
E Rogers "ER" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crossroads Brotherhood: A Crossroads Brotherhood Novella from the bestselling author of the VESPASIAN series (Kindle Edition)
i quite like the Vespasian series, although find some of the 'historical facts' a bit stretched. This though is terrible, reviewers seem to be uncomfortable saying what this book is about for some reason so let me clear that up for people who may be considering buying it. It is a story featuring a couple of the main characters from the books and centers on the homosexual rape of children. In fact one rape is described in detail while the characters stand around and watch.
The story is supposed to highlight the dark, seedy underside of Rome etc etc, and focuses on a dispute between 2 rival brothels who pimp young boys. However the story is a flimsy affair at best and the abuse of children as described in it is unnecessary and gratuitous. It even ends with one of the characters deciding to 'give it a go' the ' it ' being anal sex with a young boy.
Dreadful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corrupt old rome, 8 Jan. 2013
By 
Mark I. Grant - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crossroads Brotherhood: A Crossroads Brotherhood Novella from the bestselling author of the VESPASIAN series (Kindle Edition)
A great little teaser story for the books would look forward to hear more of Magnus and his grubby choice of life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ripping Yarn, 8 Nov. 2012
By 
Mr. P. V. Connolly "Bootser" (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crossroads Brotherhood: A Crossroads Brotherhood Novella from the bestselling author of the VESPASIAN series (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed Tribune of Rome and bought this to tide me over until I buy his follow up. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Crossroads Brotherhood, 21 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crossroads Brotherhood: A Crossroads Brotherhood Novella from the bestselling author of the VESPASIAN series (Kindle Edition)
Anyone who has thought about reading the first of the Vespasian books should read this first. It gives an excellent insight into Roman Life and the book ends with the main characters meeting Vespasian as he takes his first visit to Rome. Only a short book but a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews