Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ken Russell's surreal and hypnotic version of the rock opera
Back when directors and film projects were allowed to be amibitious, Ken Russell tackled the rock opera by the Who. Aided by a cast of actors and rock stars, Russell took the original album, updated the story to WWII rather than I, and added surreal touches to otherwise "normal" scenes. The film has been accused of being loud and garish, but would anyone...
Published on 26 April 2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Back In Time
Tommy:- You either loved it or hated it. However, it has stood the test of time. Is it a Rock remake of the story of Christ or just a rambling set of images designed to make the best use of the music? You have to make up your own mind. I love the film and filming my wife hates it! The Who have just made a come back and it is about time you dug out the Tommy movie...
Published on 13 Jan. 2008 by N. D. Jervis


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have - for the middle aged if no-one else!!, 17 Oct. 2007
By 
Ms. V. Wilkinson (Sussex (England)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The music is brilliant, even if some of it makes no sense. Much of it is very cliched, and was when it came out. My teenage daughters described the film as "a bit trippy", which is an understatement. Ken Russell's direction is ideosyncratic as ever. But hey, what the heck? Pour yourself a glass or two of wine and have fun watching it. Just don't take it too seriously! Men - AnnMargret, and those beans... And for the women, obviously- Roger Daltrey, bare chested and absolutely gorgeous, running, swimming, turning cartwheels on the beach - that excerpt alone is worth the price and first class postage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tommy, glad to see you again!, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommy [DVD] (DVD)
I have been looking for this DVD for ages. I saw the movie when it was first launched, and -as almost any Ken Russell film- I was overwhelmed by the exuberance of colours, sounds, etc. Even after all these years, the rather simple story (young boy turns deaf, dumb and blind, but becomes a Messiah to all) impressed me and even though things might seem a bit old-fashioned after more than 35 years, I loved it. Great performances of classic actors like Ann Margaret and Oliver Reed, and good cameos (or even more) of many famous pop artists as Elton John, Tina Turner and -of course- all of the members of The Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an exercise in excess, 23 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film version of "Tommy" is sheer audiovisual overload. It's probably impossible to sit all the way though this extravaganza without popping out the room to make a cuppa or putting the player on hold overnight It's probably unfashionable to admit to liking it, though calling it a Cult Classic goes someway to sparing one's blushes. But thanks to DVD, we can now treat Ken Russell's rendering of Pete Townsend's rock opera like a box of rich chocolates: dip into your favourite scenes, or digest the whole lot at one sitting. Everyone knows by now the rather slender storyline of how young Tommy becomes deaf, dumb and blind after witnessing his war-hero father (Robert Powell), supposedly long-lost, return, only to be killed by his wife's thuggish lover (the joys of having Oliver Reed to cast in those days). The mother (Ann-Margaret) and lover take Tommy around a bunch of "specialists" in the course of the film, looking for a cure, including visits to Tina Turner's Acid Queen, and Jack Nicholson's psychiatrist, but all to no avail. Tommy, played as an adult by the Who's singer Roger Daltrey, complete with famous bubble perm, goes onto become the Pinball Champion and a cult hero... and then on to become something much, much bigger.

The Devil is in the details, and what riches this film has for a fan of the 1970s! The music of the original late 60s rock opera is here revisted as a highly synthesized score; very prog in places. Its actually at ite most dazzling in the Overture, where we see Captain Walker and his young bride rock-climbing in the Lake District. For a film in which a mirror plays a significant and symbolic role, "Tommy" stands as an especially rich mirror of 70s infamous rock excess. Who can forget Ann-Margaret getting half-drowned in a torrent of baked beans, champagne and chocolate spewed out by the TV set? (Famously, she insisted on wearing her own jewellery on the shoot and lost a diamond earring in the melee: stagehands had to sort through all the choccy-beans mess on set to find it). Who can forget a seriously high Eric Clapton almost literally sleepwalking though his role as a cult leader in a white church filled with Marilyn Monroes? He looked so soporiphic on film that they had to get Arthur Brown in as his priest-cum-court jester to prance about and liven up the screen. There's Ollie Reed's Teddy Boy lover, all sideburns and brothel creepers: no singing voice whatsoever, but always a joy to see that famous mug on film. There's the creepy seediness of the late, great Keith Moon's Uncle Ernie, a paedophile on Ollie's side of the family ("down with the bedsheets/up with the nightshirt/fiddle about"), cracking a raw egg into his beer and gulping it down. And it would be a sin not to mention Elton John as the Pinball Wizard in probably Tommy's most famous song, towering over everyone on his enormous sequinned bovver boots. By the end of the film, the attention wanders a bit, and it all gets a bit anti-climatic: the best set-pieces are over and done with. But "Tommy" stands as a pretty entertaining mix of 70s Glam style and features some of the decade's biggest stars, from both sides of the Atlantic. "Tommy" actually looks a bit tame compared to some of the things Ken Russell went on to do (I'm thinking of the impaled nuns in "Lair of the White Worm" now). Ken's glory days may be behind him, but he is great fun to listen to, as his appearance on Celebrity Big Brother proved, and his audio commentary on the DVD is well worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Film Ever Made, 25 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Tommy [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
This really is the BEST film ever made in the whole history of cinema. First of all it was directed by Ken Russell during his golden age. Who else could really have directed something like this anyway? It is a magical experience from start to finish. I have seen it many many times over the years and I still love it.

Wonderfully cast and the musical arrangements are spot on, i never really liked the original Tommy album by the Who as it sounded dull, it is a real music joy.

Without doubt my personal favbourite film of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Come On The Amazing Journey, 30 Mar. 2010
Can I assume no one reading this is coming to Tommy for the first time?

Good, then I'll begin.

This is one of those things that you have probably grown up with, one way or another. As such, it stands up pretty well. It has lost none of it's wackiness, the music is still brilliant and the concept much copied. The movie - for me the introduction to Tommy and The Who back in my early teenage years - marries song and visuals better than I remembered. It's hard to imagine, for instance, Baz Lurmann making a better job of it today.

The songs are catchy and endlessly hummable which is a great part of the appeal, but it is the visuals which linger longest. The slight squalor of post-war Britian is neatly evoked, as are 70's home décor nightmares, albeit made just a bit larger than life. The contradiction of a Victorian theatre as pre-arena rock concert venue (as played by a pinball tournament) brought back memories of my younger years and going to see what I thought was cutting edge, young person's music in what my parents knew to be decrepit it flea pits. How new and original we all thought we were being.

So, be it for the music, the visuals, the period references or just Anne Margaret rolling around in beans and chocolate, then Tommy is to be highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tommy The Who. Rock Opera at its Greatest, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommy [DVD] (DVD)
Tommy remains an ageless psychedelic classic in the annals of rock opera.A sensational mind stretching combination of music by a great outfit at its stunning peak and an explosive visual experience keeps this release as fresh and attractive as it was in the 70 's where it was classified as groundbreaking and revolutionary. To a degree The Who had come to own "rock opera" and really applied meaning and definition to rock as an opera art form. Throw in Elton John who performs a great version of Pinball Wizard, a young and spicy Tina Turner and the beauitiful Anne Margaret swimming in baked beans and you have an offering which has never lost its appeal to the 70 's generation and must have subsequently recruited further ge\nerations of fans. Much is to be said for a group that was never intimidated by other big name stars and to all intents and purposes was quite happy to remain in the background of this production and yet never lost any profile or recognition as a result. But then the Who had achieved that sort of status in an era where great bands and song writers were just abour common place. This is a must for any rocker who is serious about his or her's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock Opera, 3 Oct. 2009
By 
A. E. Davies "mad davy" (Johannesburg SA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tommy [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent Cast, excellent music, brilliant production, would certainly recomend it to any rock fan especially fans of the WHO, ELTON JOHN and ERIC CLAPTON. For anyone wishing to see Jack Nicholson and Oliver Reed singing together a must. Fantastic performance from Ann Margret who really shows her class. A typical Ken Russel production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overrated, 14 Sept. 2014
By 
Elleppi (Rome, Italy) - See all my reviews
Too much kitsch, nonsense direction, caothic and camp scenes. I watched this film after knowing its soundtrack for ages and was quite let down by the way Ken Russel staged it. It's a boring, emoty, pretentious and cheesy musical. Last but not least, i honestly can't stand it when a musical is sung from beginning to end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exellant rock-opera that puts a new meaning to musicals, 29 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tommy [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
This rock-opera was directed buy the wierd and wonderful Ken Russel in 1975. This marvellous rock orientated musical was well known due to the band "the who" whom write all the songs for the "tommy" sound-track, "the who" band members (Roger Daltrey, Pete Townsend, Keith Moon & John Entlwistle)also had star roles in the movie. This brilliant musical's story line is about a boy who witnessed his mother and her lover murder his father who was lost and persumed dead at war. when his mother and her lover tells him "you didnt see it", "you didnt hear it" & "you will say nothing to know one" mixes with the young boy's traumer at that moment and causes him to become death, dumb & blind. As the boy (Roger Daltrey) grows into his adult-hood his mother and her lover attempts on numerous occassions to cure his illness. Some of the people the mother and lover go to in seek of a cure for there boy are the preacher (Eric Clapton), the acid queen (Tina Turner) & the local doctor (Jack Nicolson), all of these attempts to cure fail up until the moment the boy discovers pinball and defeats the pinball wizard (Elton John). Now he is cured he becoms a god, a teenage heart throbe, and a holiday camp owner.
This musical is one of the best ever made & its also one of those films that is even liked buy those who do not like "the who". "Tommy" hosts somthing for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tommy DVD, 21 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommy [DVD] (DVD)
Great film. If you are a fan of The Who then you'll really enjoy this rock opera. Its the story of Tommy, a young child who witnesses his father killed by his mother's lover and becomes blind, deaf and dumb. He goes through life trapped within himself but ends up becoming famous by playing pinball. In the end he manages to come back to his senses and preach about pinball to the people and help them. I know it sounds strange but give it a go, its ace. Roger Daltrey delivers a sterling performance as Tommy, and gives a great rendition of 'I'm Free' It also stars Eric Clapton, Tina Turner, Elton John, Oliver Reed, Jack Nicholson, Ann Margret and Keith Moon as Uncle Ernie (you'll have to see that one for yourself). All in all 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tommy [DVD]
Tommy [DVD] by Ken Russell (DVD - 2012)
£10.99
Usually dispatched within 12 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews