Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unfairly Underrated
I don't understand why people have disregarded this movie so harshly! I finally got around watching it on Sky movies after avoiding watching it in the cinemas due to its very over-exaggerated, and its quiet unfair, bad reviews. The movie develops at a good pace without purposely over-stretching the story or characters background. Just as with Blair Witch, Evil Dead, The...
Published 20 months ago by Tec-know

versus
28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad. Bad. Bad!
This film is bad on every level. But, what lets it down the most is the acting - I do not see how anyone can find a mokumentary horror film scary when they cannot believe in the characters.

It pains me to give any horror film only one star, but this film gives the genre absolutely nothing. The storyline is tired considering other exorcist films and the...
Published on 13 May 2012 by MJA81


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad. Bad. Bad!, 13 May 2012
By 
This film is bad on every level. But, what lets it down the most is the acting - I do not see how anyone can find a mokumentary horror film scary when they cannot believe in the characters.

It pains me to give any horror film only one star, but this film gives the genre absolutely nothing. The storyline is tired considering other exorcist films and the disturbing atmosphere often achieved through mockumentaries is non-existent.

This film makes The Rite look like The Exorcist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unfairly Underrated, 17 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Devil Inside [DVD] (DVD)
I don't understand why people have disregarded this movie so harshly! I finally got around watching it on Sky movies after avoiding watching it in the cinemas due to its very over-exaggerated, and its quiet unfair, bad reviews. The movie develops at a good pace without purposely over-stretching the story or characters background. Just as with Blair Witch, Evil Dead, The Exorcist, Paranormal Activity, Rec, and many other horror films, which all never really develop any real deep story lines or character backgrounds - The Devil Inside is no different! The film focuses dealing with the 3 main characters actions that develop by on ONE demonic event in the film. As this event gradually deepens, its here the film keeps its main focus, dealing with the characters actions based around situation throughout the film. The atmosphere is great with some disturbing creepy horror moments, with the live camera effect adding to its horror(its not over shaky too!). The acting is authentic and acted out well and quiet believable too: There is absolutely nothing wrong with the acting as some have unfairly commented or complained. If you can accept the acting in Blair Witch, Paranormal Activity, Insidious - You can certainly accept this!...The minimal used special effects are effective with a more 'real to life' approach, and for the better, with non of this OTT CGI, this allowing the movie to feel more horror like because of this. The story is decent enough with good pacing and climax, and if you can live with most horror movie stories, this is just as good. Overall an enjoyable horror film that is actually horror and not dependent on gore with some true jump-out-of-your-seat moments! It may have an opinionated climax ending but it's one that will keep you watching to the very end with some good development with scares and momentum along the way. As a low budget movie, this movie certainly doesn't feel that way, and one that has certainly has been strangely panned for doing a good job in making a good and atmospheric horror. Certainly worth a watch and if you liked horror like Blair Witch, Insidious(overrated), Paranormal Acrivity - This movie is on the same level!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great trailer!, 2 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Devil Inside [DVD] (DVD)
Damn it! I hate it when this happens. I was lured into this by the trailer and sat expecting a white knuckle ride. The only ride I got was the bus home; and at 10.45pm from the City, it was more frightening than what Id just watched. Save your money! Totally disjointed, bumbling and utterly boring. Even the actors looked as bored as I felt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The trailer made it look good...., 27 May 2012
This review is from: The Devil Inside [DVD] (DVD)
I went to see this film in the first week it came out, to get maximum jumps with a room full of screaming people. As someone who found paranormal Activity and Insidious scary (the idea of something huge and invisible being in your house is a horrible thought!) this was a total let down, it had some scary moments but the build up didn't ever get there, to top it off the things they had her saying were just hilarious, the whole room was laughing instead of screaming when she's writhing round the table being possessed and that and she's shouting all this funny stuff- it wrecked the atmosphere.
Honestly the biggest jump this film gave me was when a dog jumped at the wall when the characters were walking past. It was interesting that they pulled religion and the Vatican into it, but it wasn't enough and the story just didn't get anywhere.
The ending could have had another scene of exorcism where they really pulled out the stops but they chose not to, the ending is actually one of the worst I've ever seen, it's like 'Oh. That's the end?'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Half Hearted Attempt at Horror, 21 Oct 2012
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Devil Inside [DVD] (DVD)
Most of the Amazon reviewers of this film are right - this film is pretty poor all round and is not worth watching. It is yet another exorcism film in a clapped out genre. Compared to recent similar movies like "The Rite" and "The Last Exorcism", this film isn't even in their league. "The Devil Inside" features some of the worst acting that I've seen in a film for many a year (especially from the two barely credible "priests"),a dated "Blair Witch" mockumentary format,a cliched plot and unimpressive special effects. This film is a low budget affair which is unconvincing and flat throughout and which provides no suspense or thrills. I'm surprised it even achieved a cinema release as it is a classic straight to DVD and straight to DVD shop bargain bin effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars When Satan looks in the toilet, what does he see?, 16 Sep 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Devil Inside [DVD] (DVD)
The answer to the title question is most likely this near repugnant cash in on a horror sub-genre that is being milked for all its worth. As always with horror as a genre, even the most unimaginative movie will find staunch supporters, such is the case with this here picture from William Brent Bell. That's not to sarcastically put down those who enjoy it, for without doubt some do find any form of demonic possession in movies as being terrifying, but in a movie that runs at under 80 minutes, there's under ten minutes of unease, chills or possession based terror. Yes a couple of scenes hold the tingle on the spine, and true enough to say that Suzan Crowley as Maria Rossi acts superbly, but what about the rest of it? The structure and formula is tired, there's no attempt to spin something new into the demonic possession market, while the ending is undoubtedly as bad a cop-out as you may have heard it is.

Cribbing from any number of movies that are far better, devoid of a sense of build up and sustaining of atmosphere, it is what it is. A lazy cash cow aimed at a small niche in the horror fan universe who find the thematics reason enough to get involved with it. My honest advice is to just watch the trailer instead and skip the movie. 4/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Devil Inside, 13 Aug 2012
By 
Je Salter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Devil Inside [DVD] (DVD)
This is a watchable film and the story line isn't too bad either but compared to others in the same genre it's weak, the special effects are virtually nil and I don't think it got past one hour fifteen minutes. Suddenly the film ends and you are sat there thinking 'and?'

Save your cash and don't buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this film is sooo bad, 8 Jan 2014
This is the worst found footage horror I have ever seen. What a piece of garbage, who the hell made this?!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not the best..., 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil Inside [DVD] (DVD)
When I saw the film advertised I thought it would be really scary! I watched the film in the dark and it still didn't have an impact! I'm a 15 year old girl! The film had too many day light scenes and comfortable spaces e.g. lit up hospital ward! I would recommend "creep" (really makes an impact!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Been there seen that ..., 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil Inside [DVD] (DVD)
Predictable. Not the worst horror I've ever seen but not the best either. The price is good for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Devil Inside [DVD]
The Devil Inside [DVD] by William Brent Bell (DVD - 2012)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews