Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice to see Grant back
It's great to see Peter Grant back with a new album. This is another fine piece of work, more "contemporary" in sound than the often big-band backed previous albums, but that's probably to be expected as this an album of all-new songs. Grant's voice has barely changed (thankfully), and the songs themselves are generally very good, and cover a wide variety of styles from...
Published on 22 Feb 2012 by Shane Brown

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pop goes the Crooner!
In his first two albums Peter Grant impressed with his exemplary interpretations of the Great songbooks. From Cy Coleman through Michel legrand to Jimmy Webb. Each of the songs carefully chosen to highlight the talents of this superb interpreter of song. Using broad strokes one could call Peter Grant a crooner, and why not? It's not many artists who possess in spades an...
Published on 30 Mar 2012 by C. Sax


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice to see Grant back, 22 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Grant (Audio CD)
It's great to see Peter Grant back with a new album. This is another fine piece of work, more "contemporary" in sound than the often big-band backed previous albums, but that's probably to be expected as this an album of all-new songs. Grant's voice has barely changed (thankfully), and the songs themselves are generally very good, and cover a wide variety of styles from the discoish feel of the opening number through to Adele-like soul elsewhere. My fear is that the record won't get the publicity it deserves to make it a hit (the singles certainly haven't), but this is great adult contemporary music with just enough of a pop edge to keep it firmly out of the easy listening genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pop goes the Crooner!, 30 Mar 2012
By 
C. Sax (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Grant (Audio CD)
In his first two albums Peter Grant impressed with his exemplary interpretations of the Great songbooks. From Cy Coleman through Michel legrand to Jimmy Webb. Each of the songs carefully chosen to highlight the talents of this superb interpreter of song. Using broad strokes one could call Peter Grant a crooner, and why not? It's not many artists who possess in spades an ability and talent for phrasing. Frank Sinatra had it and most recently the likes of Peter Cincotti and Michael Buble. This is I think the difficult 3rd Album for Peter Grant. Maybe he wasn't reaching the audiences with his first two efforts, being overlooked while people blindly clamour for the Pop Idol and X Factor song factory rejects. Whatever the reason Peter had produced an album that detracts from his talents. Over produced in most part and treading a well worn pop/contemporary path which disseminates his singular ability to interpret a great song.

It's a shame and a sham that choices made here reflect a desire to reach as many listeners as possible. If the contemporary music Zeitgeist is pointing towards the likes of Adele you would think current listener tastes would play to Peter Grants strengths and as a result this third Album would be very different. Not all is bad. In the mix we still hear the beauty of his voice and it is as good as ever. The songs however are just not that good or memorable. I doubt if any of the songs here could stand up alongside the likes of didn't we, Joanna or Windmills of your mind. With so many amazing songs out there begging to be sung by this equally amazing interpreter of song why oh why shoot for mediocrity. It's a sad state of affairs and a sign of the times, which is why when the likes of Adele appear the nation and the world clamber over one another to offer plaudits and praise. Peter Grant has not been served well with this album and my hope is he returns to form and creates music that plays to his great talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Grant (Audio CD)
I have already got a couple of Peter's CD's which I love. I went to see him perform this album it was very different form the other shows & albums but never the less very good . It really is totally different, but his own work & not covers. You may have to listen to it a couple of time to appreciate his talent. He is certainly a natural performer. I'm glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PETER GRANT CD, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Grant (Audio CD)
This is the third CD I have bought from this artist, and each one has been entirely different. He is very young compared to me(I am 67). He has a very good voice which can only improve with age. Each CD gives a different listening experience. He deserves more recognition than he appears to get. I will certainly buy any future CD's he puts out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Fan, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Grant (Audio CD)
I'm new to Peter but saws him at an impromptu performance at a local charity music night. He just stood up an wowed the whole audience with his amazing voice. Bought the album and really pleased I did, the best buy of the year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent songwriting talent, 4 Mar 2013
By 
G. Forrest (Ilkley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Grant (MP3 Download)
We were fortunate in seeing Peter the day before I downloaded this album in a small club with just a pianist ( the excellent Danny McCormack) as accompanist. Peter sang a lot of jazz standards beautifully, but we were struck by the quality of his own songs which are featured on this album. That's why we we were keen to hear his songs with full orchestrations and we were not disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 29 Nov 2012
By 
Ms. June Elliott (Maidenhead, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Grant (Audio CD)
I bought this CD on the strength of Peter's previous two albums (both of which I loved), which I purchased after seeing him perform live.

This album is absolutely brilliant and Peter deserves to be heard by many more people.

To my mind, there isn't a bad track on this album. The production is superb and lyrically, it is right up there!

Peter has an amazing voice and one would hope his breakthrough comes soon!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible singer who needs to be "found", 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Grant (Audio CD)
This new cd from Peter Grant is excellent and this man should be a star of today !!!!!!!!!!! He has such a versatile voice and writes many of his own songs and should be better recognised by the music industry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in The Business, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Grant (Audio CD)
This album is unique and new. No matter how often you listen to it you hear something new every time. AMAZING!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive stuff, 14 Mar 2012
This review is from: Peter Grant (Audio CD)
I have this album on repeat in my car at present and it just gets better with each listen.

A great mix of songs and styles which I hope will get the airplay they deserve.

Could this be his breakthrough album?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peter Grant
Peter Grant by Peter Grant (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews