Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, delightful and very funny
Annie Hall is a rather odd film, with Allen's character - a neurotic Jewish comedian, that must have been a stretch for him to play - frequently addressing us directly, in one scene switching seamlessly from real-life to fantasy when annoyed by a boor behind him in a movie queue, in others suddenly becoming a cartoon character or using subtitles to show the subtext in his...
Published on 27 April 2012 by flahr

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AUDIO SYNC ISSUES WITH THE BLU-RAY!!
I am very disappointed with the Blu Ray of Annie Hall. It has a major audio sync issue. The sound is about half a second out in places, especially during the monologue at the beginning. I have been sent a replacement, which also has the issue. I have tested both discs on three players:

Sony Playstation 3 (Slim top loader)
Sony BDP-S185
Samsung...
Published 8 months ago by Jim


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth watching? � definitely, 10 Jan 2003
By 
John Waugh (Co. Durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Annie Hall [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
A wonderful film which comes as close to identifying the true nature of relationships as anything the film industry has ever produced. Whenever it appears to be becoming over sentimental (as Woody can occasionally be) there is always a joke to bring us back into the messy world of real life. A bittersweet tale of romance, with some touching moments (the lobsters, the spider, etc) acted superbly by Woody and Diane. In many ways a vindication of the necessity to search for the ultimate everlasting love it discusses the associated problems (the chase is better than the kill) and leaves the viewer with that "well perhaps it's worth another try anyway" feeling. Dated - probably....worth watching - definitely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woody Allen's Classic!, 24 Dec 2003
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Annie Hall [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
Annie Hall is arguably Woody Allen’s best film ever. Nearly a self-portrait of his affair with the luminous Diane Keaton, Allen paints a love affair in his beloved New York City, full of all the neurosis, eccentricities and oddball humor associated with Woody Allen.
Although New York is showcased, Los Angeles takes a second seat as the self indulgent, narcissistic counterpart. There are too many hilarious scenes to mention them all other than they are non-stop and all hit pay dirt. This is also one of Allen’s most inventive films, using split frame scenes for discussions between opposed families, cartoons representing the main characters and Allen narrating most of the film; sometimes directly into the audience’s face.
It should also be noted that many stars got a big start from this film. Carole Kane is featured as one of Alvy’s girlfriends, along with Shelley Duvall. Diane Keaton’s brother is played by Christopher Walken and her mother by Colleen Dewhurst. Paul Simon, Truman Capote, Beverly DeAngelo and Dick Cavett also make guest appearances. Watch for the very young Sigourney Weaver as Alvy’s date outside of a theater.
Academy Award winner for Best Picture, Best Director, Best Screenplay and Best Actress, this film is timeless. All of the jokes still hold up today and this is a keeper of a DVD. Unfortunately, there are not great deals of extras on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny Moments, But Not One of Woody's Best, 3 Jan 2012
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Annie Hall [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
Speaking as long-time fan of Woody Allen's work (both his 'funny' and 'serious' films), his 1977 Oscar-winning film Annie Hall is not one of my particular favourites. After his great series of pretty much straight comedies (Take The Money and Run, Play It Again Sam, Sleeper and Love and Death), Annie Hall marked the start of (perhaps) his more mature film-making, comprising a number of films which mixed comedy and more serious elements, as well as those which focused almost exclusively on more serious themes.

Don't get me wrong, Annie Hall has some great moments of comedy, but Allen's later trademark mix of comedy (normally focusing on the Woody Allen character in the film in question) and serious themes, is achieved more effectively in other films of his, such as Crimes and Misdemeanours and in his ultimate masterpiece, Manhattan. Even slightly weaker Allen works, such as Hannah and Her Sisters and Play It Again Sam have more high calibre funny moments than does Annie Hall. Similarly, whilst Allen and, one of his regular co-stars, Diane Keaton play effectively off each other in the film, for me, Diane Keaton is much more impressive in Manhattan, and indeed in both Play It Again Sam and the later Manhattan Murder Mystery.

Nevertheless, Annie Hall does contain many notable features. First, Allen makes more extensive use of a number of techniques used in some of his earlier films, such as voiceover narration, talking direct to camera, and even the appearance in the film of real-life (extraneous) characters referred to in the dialogue. The classic example of this latter technique is the famous sequence where Allen is standing in a cinema queue, and magics into life Canadian media theorist and philosopher Marshall McLuhan in order to make his point in an argument with a fellow cinema-goer. Allen also employs flashback techniques to illustrate, in particular, his strict Jewish childhood upbringing, giving rise to an hilarious scene where he expounds to his parents on the pointlessness of life due to the expanding universe. Such shots of Allen's character's childhood were, of course, much expanded upon as the basis for his later film, Radio Days.

In addition to focusing on Alvy Singer's (Allen's character) relationship and sexual hang-ups, featuring (as is traditional with Allen) repeated visits to his analyst, the other major theme of the film is his 'intellectual dilemma' which manifests itself through his (guilty) love of basketball and his revulsion at the prospect of visiting the carefree, hippy outpost of California (in contrast to his beloved cold, wet, urban, cultural cinemascape that is New York).

On a final positive note, the film does contain a number of classic Allen sequences, none funnier than that when Allen sneezes away thousands of dollars' worth of cocaine ... and also includes the immortalisation of the phrase 'Don't worry, we can walk to the kerb from here' (as Keaton parks her car).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpeice-that simple, 27 Oct 2001
By 
Mr. D. Woods "dwoods92" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Annie Hall [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Considered Woody Allen's greatest film, after watching this terrific example of his talents it's hard to argue.
Although 'Broadway Danny Rose' is probably my personal favourite, 'Annie Hall' is definitely Allen's most triumphant filmmaking effort. It's acerbically witty but with an underlying tenderness throughout. The characters are all lovable neurotics, Diane Keaton has never been better and Woody is on top form. Tony Roberts and Christopher Walken (brilliant as Annie's insane brother) are the pick of the support.
For me this is the best romantic comedy of all time and one of the best films of any genre. Even antagonists of Woody Allen cannot help but enjoy this uplifting and inspiring offering that finishes just far too soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Woody, I love you!, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Annie Hall [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
Just thoroughly enjoyable. I love revisiting the 70's with the film stock, locations, lifestyles etc and a superb script adds to the experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alvy Loves Annie, 17 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Annie Hall [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
A terrific film from 1977, and it's all been said before - Best picture and best director for Woody Allen, Best actress for Diane Keaton and Best original screenplay for Woody and Marshall Brickman, and all four Oscars fully deserved.

Of course I've seen it several times before over the years, and belatedly bought the DVD. And it's still witty, charming and also touching.

It also features an early rather scary flaky role for Christopher Walken, as Annie's brother - maybe leading to him being cast in The Deer Hunter a year or so later, in which he won the Best supporting actor Oscar.

If you've not seen Annie Hall, then watch it. The in my opinion vastly underrated 1993 Manhattan Murder Mystery, featuring Woody and Diane as a married couple, again set in New York, is also worth watching - it's a bit like how Alvy Singer and Annie Hall might have turned out if they'd stayed together!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very refreshing!, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: Annie Hall [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
It must be said that I approached Woody Allen's most famous film with a degree of caution. I had, before watching, been under the misapprehension that his films were pseudo intellectual pieces that were tightly welded up one's own posterior! So when bought this DVD for Christmas I was hesitant to watch, for fear of my suspicions being confirmed.
Not so however, this film, Annie Hall, is a fresh and empathetic piece of insightful comedy into the complex world of relationships. Allen's sharp witted writing and deftly touches of directorial brilliance make this film a true classic. The constant breaking of filmic "rules" is delightful to behold, and never does he exploit any of the tricks he uses, so to become kitsch or cliché. I was mightily impressed with the entire film from beginning to end, and can now safely say that Woody Allen is a masterful director, writer, and comedian, who tells his stories with sensitivity and warmth at the heart of them. Bravo, more please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best-Made Films In Film History!, 22 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Annie Hall [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The first time I ever watched »Annie Hall« was when I was a teenager. It was shown on television - and I thought that Woody Allen guy isn't he one of those whose films 'you should see'. So I did.
And I was impressed! Allen's very way of acting, his tragic-comically philosophical character, is so frustratingly realistic. And at the same time he manages to write characters and direct in such a way that you have to laugh! About the realism of it all! Because it is all about the small things in life, though in this case put into an academicized environment.
»Annie Hall« remains the best of all Woody Allen's genius films. A must-see for anyone who's interested in film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charming Love Movie from Allen, 26 Dec 2013
This review is from: Annie Hall [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
Contrary to wide belief, Annie Hall is not Woody Allen's greatest film- though it surely must rank as one of the best examples of a breakdown of a loving relationship.

Annie Hall as you would expect is full of wit, charm and a script to die for. Allen is in confident form, with his players and himself eager to speak to us the viewer. I can imagine that the likes of Jerry Seinfeld were inspired somewhat by this film and their own approach to comedy.

Diane Keaton probably plays the role of her career- and deserved her oscar as Allen's love interest. And it's always so nice to see New York from the 70s. The East-West coast rivalry is rather funny.

A sharp eye will notice a young Jeff Goldblum, he's literally on screen for a couple of seconds as an extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Acessible Allen, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Annie Hall [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
This isn't his best film, but if you're a fan, a must have for your collection. Manhattan and Hannah and her sisters might be worth a look if you're into Woody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Annie Hall [Blu-ray] [1977] [US Import]
Annie Hall [Blu-ray] [1977] [US Import] by Woody Allen (Blu-ray - 2012)
£10.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews