Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradox from history beautifully crafted
Once freed from a vile debtor's prison Captain Sparrowhawk of the 16th Light Dragoons had to pay for his freedom with a strange guarding mission. Four aspects of Paul Finch's novella drew me in: authenticity of geography and history; the exquisite writing style; personal coincidences; and most of all the grim storyline fascination of apparitional ghouls from the past, and...
Published on 19 Dec. 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an OK ghost story
This novelette will take you about three hours to read. It is set in London in the mid 1800's where an ex soldier is released from a debtors prison by a woman who needs a soldier to protect someone. Demons abound in this well crafted story. Not a bad read.
Published on 1 April 2013 by TVR-Andy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Past, 31 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sparrowhawk (a victorian ghost story) (Kindle Edition)
Had seen quite a few negative reviews about the authors work, but decided to download a book to make up my own mind. I enjoyed Sparrowhawk and although he wasn't a very nice guy (if you enjoy romances) he did show some compassion, which didn't make him all bad. Would definitely like to see more of him in future!!!! Because of the content of the book I kinda knew where it was heading, but still kept me galloping to the end. Obviously picked a winner, cos I will be downloading more of his books....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sparrowhawk (a victorian ghost story) (Kindle Edition)
I have really enjoyed reading this book. I will look to see what other novels the author has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Christmas ghost story, 17 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Sparrowhawk (a victorian ghost story) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable easy read. Brilliant for a cosy winters evening. A little long winded in one part but overall highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revisiting a classic!, 5 April 2011
This is a new novel, written by an author who, despite all his success with Dr. Who novels, and his BFS award winning stories & novellas, is comparatively "new" in the horror landscape. Then why the word "classic" in the title? To know the answer, you will have to read this slim book, published by the Pendragon Press.

This book deals with the experience of Captain John Sparrowhawk, ex personnel of Light Dragoon Regiment, Indian Army, and veteran of the 1st Afghan war. His personal losses (his wife is dead, and so are his newborn children), his spiritual losses (scars from the battle, in which only he had survived and countless others had died), and finally his financial losses, had landed him in hell (literally, because that is what the debtors' prison resembles). A mysterious lady clears her debt and frees her for a commission: to protect a man residing at a particular address for 3 weeks, without him being aware of his status (i.e. he is under mortal threat and is being protected). What happens thereafter is the subject of the major portion of the book, and it is quite a ride! It has its share of mystery, horror, action, character-development, and darkness (esp. in the grim portrayal of an imperial London with all its depravity, crime and poverty). But the ending (well-versed enthusiasts would be able to predict it much earlier) is a pleasant shock, nevertheless, the way this kind of book should end.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great story!, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sparrowhawk (a victorian ghost story) (Kindle Edition)
Great story and well written, the author superbly captures the atmosphere of 19th Century London, the plot is gripping from the outset, the ending is rather enigmatic. Thoroughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Many questions unanswered, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sparrowhawk (a victorian ghost story) (Kindle Edition)
I was looking for a pre Christmas good old fashioned ghost story and the description of this novella seemed to fit the bill. I did enjoy the book and whilst not a 'can't put it down page turner', I did find the book very well written and the storyline and characters intriguing. Two-thirds of the way through and I couldn't wait to finish the book to answer all the questions that the book had begged in my mind. However, upon completion, many of the questions were unanswered and indeed, the final few pages posed further new questions without answers. I had to read the last few pages again thinking I may have missed something.... sadly I didn't. All that said, I'm still thinking about it a few days after putting it down - the sign of a good read. Well worth a read on a cold December night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A twist on a classic, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sparrowhawk (a victorian ghost story) (Kindle Edition)
Paul Finch always has me hooked on his stories from the very beginning and this one was no exception. He recommended this as a chilling Christmas tale to get me in the Christmas spirit and he wasn't wrong. Captain Sparrowhawk had never known love and had spent most of his life at war.......would this Christmas be any different?
A Christmas tale with a twist that is captivating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Spooky Read, Especially in Winter, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sparrowhawk (a victorian ghost story) (Kindle Edition)
I read this a couple of weeks before Christmas, which gave me an extra layer of empathy with the protagonist, a military hero unable to cope with civilian life, who spends much of his time knee deep in snow and more afraid than he is willing to admit.

Several times I thought I knew where it was going, only to be skilfully headed off down another track - often at a gallop.

I did find the protagonist's choice of horse strange, given the need for anonymity, but the rest of the book was so impeccably researched, I wonder if piebalds (black and white pattern) were a cheaper and less remarkable mount for an ordinary man in Victorian times. I also wondered how he managed to gallop through icy streets without the horse, on iron shoes, losing its footing.

Those small caveat aside, the story had me gripped and left a sigh of satisfaction at an ending I had not managed to work out.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sparrowhawk (a victorian ghost story) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book wont spoil it for anyone but the ending was and wasn't a surprise. good story. I would buy from this author again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sparrowhawk (a victorian ghost story) (Kindle Edition)
This is a great 'dickensian style' story, brilliantly written by Paul Finch who I first found as the awesome Heckenberg detective in his other books. A truly talented author. Can't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews