Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow...Star Crusades: Omnibus Edition, Fantastic Collection
Michael G. Thomas' "Star Crusades: Omnibus Edition" is a not to be missed Sci-Fi collection. This is the whole 5-book collection of this great series and if you like the first in the series, "Siege of Titan" then you do not want to miss the other 4 books in the series... Spartan, Teresa, Marcus, Admiral Jarvis, and the rest of the cast of characters are continuing their...
Published on 14 Dec. 2011 by D. Everetti

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad!
Not Bad, but more importantly not great. Passes the time I suppose. On to the next three books. Here goes.
Published 20 months ago by William Young


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow...Star Crusades: Omnibus Edition, Fantastic Collection, 14 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Star Crusades Uprising: The First Trilogy (Star Crusades Uprising Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Michael G. Thomas' "Star Crusades: Omnibus Edition" is a not to be missed Sci-Fi collection. This is the whole 5-book collection of this great series and if you like the first in the series, "Siege of Titan" then you do not want to miss the other 4 books in the series... Spartan, Teresa, Marcus, Admiral Jarvis, and the rest of the cast of characters are continuing their fight to save all the planets and their people from being taken over by the terrorist associated with the Church of Echidna and their genetic fighting machines. Will they prevail? Will they uncover who is behind this horrific war of terror? Will all of the favored characters make it through all of their battle? Will any survive? Will they conquer over these horrendous events? Will they...What happens... How does it end...?

To find out, pick up your copy of the 5-book omnibus, it is an out of this world deal at only $9.99. If you like Sci-Fi, if you like the first book in the series "Siege of Titan" then you will not be disappoint getting your copy of all 5 books in this series. The only fault that I found with this series was that it ended. I for one hope Mr. Thomas will someday give us fans a sequel to this remarkable series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My reviews of the series, 23 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Star Crusades Uprising: The First Trilogy (Star Crusades Uprising Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely loved this series, from starting the first book to finishing the last there was never a point when I was struggling to follow the story line of failing to engage with the characters. For faced paced action that will keep you turning the pages until the end I would advise the full series - I loved being able to keep on through to the next book without having to change on the kindle :)

Kirstyanne Ross author of Old Magick

Below are individual reviews for each book

Book One - Siege of Titan

Thrown the choice of prison or joining the Marines, Spartan sees a way to keep himself from rotting in a cell. But politics and religion are still causing chaos and mayhem throughout, not only the world, but the universe.
Spartan has to make a jump from the illegal blood sports of the underground to the ordered fighting of the marines before he and the rest of his squad mates are sent into the mix. A baptism of fire separates the good from the bad, and the truly brilliant from the good, as the navy station is over taken by the religious Zealots and hostages are treated in the most horrific ways, the marines and their commando counterparts wade through the stations blockades to take part in the battle. I can't wait to see what lies in store for Spartan next!

Book Two - Tears of Kerberos

After reading the first in this series I had to know what happened next to Spartan and Theresa! Although the main story follows Spartan and his quest to help the Confederacy retake the colonies where the Biotechs have taken over, Theresa plays a strong role and even though the pair are split you have to keep reading to make sure they meet up again. Spartan is quickly shooting up the ranks and is helping make new squads with bigger and better armour than before.
Their squad get dropped in the middle of the battle in New Carlos and Spartan has to prove his worth.
A brilliantly fast paced, well written second book.

Book Three - Fires of Prometheus

Picked as part of a select crew Spartan and General Rivers are sent into the battle with the Biotechs and wake up in chains. Teresa is fiercely determined that now she is back on active duty she will find Spartan no matter the cost to her career in the marines. Luckily her objectives are well aligned with the marines and she is sent to the outer rim to find the missing team.
In the uncontrolled outer rim anything goes, from blood sports to scientific research.
I know people have said that recruit to Sgt is a large jump, but even now and in the past field promotions have a way of sticking. Coming from a military background I know it doesn't happen so much now but did very much so in the world wars and before.
The detail in the story gets more in depth now and whilst reading this book parts had me taken aback at how visually descriptive the writing was. Not only could I visualise what was going on, I was there! Definitely worth a read :)

Book Four - Battle for Proxima

The confed are struggling now as the Zealots have taken charge of over half the colonies, their commander knows if she can get at least one back there is a chance, and they decide to try for Proxima.
As the Vanguards start out as a new unit, they face the enemies without and the critics within. Can Spartan keep them in line as the new unit leader? As Spartan battles on the ground the fleet are involved in a space war with all the ships being involved, keeping the book constantly moving forwards at an incredible pace.

Book Five - Fall of Terra Nova

Throughout this book as with the rest of the series the fast paced action kept me glued to my kindle whilst I read this. I couldn't put it down. With Spartan and Teresa in their hardest battle to date I just had to know what the outcome would be! As they battle for the Confed they find they are battling on two fronts which keeps you guessing throughout. Brilliant finish, would love to know what comes next for Spartan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good hard tech sci fi read, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Crusades Uprising: The First Trilogy (Star Crusades Uprising Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I reckoned this was a good tale and was not disappointed. Below is what I wrote when I finished.

Enjoy.

I really enjoyed the five books that make up this tale. It is well written a flows well. Characterizations are about right for this type of book. High art it is not, a good read it is.
If you like reasonably realistic sci fi that does not rely on a 'magic' to move it along then you will probably like this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read, 19 Mar. 2012
By 
K. Warren (Chester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Crusades Uprising: The First Trilogy (Star Crusades Uprising Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Although there are a few typos I really did enjoy this trilogy. There were enough characters to make the books flow without adding so many characters that it became confusing. I must say that this was my first foray into this type of novel so I cannot comment on it's accuracy or anything like that! However, it was very enjoyable and I would recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Sci Fi, 12 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Crusades Uprising: The First Trilogy (Star Crusades Uprising Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Once you get by the truly awful diction, grammar and bad word substitution this is a good holiday read does not require much thought or effort not a bad story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars really great read, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Crusades Uprising: The First Trilogy (Star Crusades Uprising Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
i ran out of things to read and came accross this and it served its purpose as i started and didnt stop till i finished it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars easy read, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Crusades Uprising: The First Trilogy (Star Crusades Uprising Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A romping tale which I found strangely compelling, enjoyed the characters as much as the story, will come back for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Starship Troopers by any other name, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Crusades Uprising: The First Trilogy (Star Crusades Uprising Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
While the underlying story of religeous uprisings and terrorism is good, the main plot is a little thin. In places it reads a bit too much like Starship Troopers, but without the vivid descriptions. I do think that more could have been made of some areas of the book, it feels a little like the author just glossed over some key bits.

On the whole, it's an average read but only if you enjoy your Sci-Fi packed full of US Marine Corps references(ooorah etc.), but for me there are better books out there that do this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Crusades Uprising: The First Trilogy (Star Crusades Uprising Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
great book the author has out done him self he has integrated the military in the book perfectly smiles to the author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Crusades Uprising: The First Trilogy (Star Crusades Uprising Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Could have done with a grammatical review before final publishing. Still a very good read.

Beginning of a great saga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews