Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars9
3.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2012
I bought this book after reading Master of Doom by the same author and found it to be just as good! I'd played a lot of Dave Jones games growing up from Bloody Money on the ATARI ST to Lemmings on the PC and when GTA 1 came out in 1997 it was a fun little game I enjoyed. I stopped gaming as much so didnt get GTA 3/4 and all the add on and side projects but knew of the mark it was making on the entertainment industry. This book takes the reader from the humble beginnings in Dundee, Scotland to the high roller times in America when the guys making these games told Burt Reynolds to sit down and shut up because the last game they produced made more money than all of his movies combined. Even if you arent a hardcore gamer or really played GTA in any of its guises this is a page turner that explains how the video game industry came from nowhere to take the entertainment crown. Highly recommended.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Jacked is not as good a book as I'd hoped for. After reading some reviews and having purchased all rockstar games, I wanted to see more into the scenes behind GTA and what made it so great. True it has shown me an insight into how Rockstar was born and the different types of prejudice it has faced over the year from die hard protesters of the franchise but it just lacked that connection that made me feel anything for the people who built Rockstar from nothing.

In fact in more ways than one it made me feel more disconnected by giving the impression that someone like Sam Houser who is a genius of business, went from wanting to build this amazing game/world where anyone could be anything, it shows how someone can turn quite power hungry and forget their roots when they hit the big time.

The story depicts the rise of one character, Sam Houser, from an idealistic youth, to captain of the Rockstar fleet and its rise from a tiny game design crew to the mighty organisation it is now, and the protests of Jack Thompson, a man obsessed with righting the world and making it a perfect place to live in, whilst having the delusion that video games, or one in particular, is corrupting the youth of society.

It does make an interesting read to see both sides of the story, and two sides that I personally can relate to. Whether that be the gamer in me, or the father in me.

Its worth having a read if you have some spare change and time, but once you have read it once it will either remain on the bookshelf for a long time or end up at a boot sale.

Verdict: Its ok!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
It is as it says - a detailed look at the story behind Grand Theft Auto.
That said, I find it to be a little less technical than Masters of Doom, which I also thoroughly enjoyed - but if you want to feel like you were there, a fly on the wall, during the deals and trials occurring throughout the birth of the Grand Theft Auto series, it's definitely worth a read. If you were looking for a more objective look and technical details involved, it is lacking on that front.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
Had been waiting for a book like this for a while. self-confessed gta-addict. Always wanted to read a book which gave a good history of the franchise. The earlier sections of the book detailing DMA, Dave Jones and the beginning of Rockstar are really interesting, but there are long sections later on which didn't grab me as much. GTA4 was also not a large part of the book either. Even San Andreas, which I thought would be an amazing section to cover was boiled down to hot coffee and the sex minigames which, to me at least, seemed to be only a small part of the game.

Maybe I'll write it instead lol
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2012
A really interesting book on the GTA franchise from start to finish. A must read for big Rockstar and Grand Theft Auto fans. But be warned this book will make you want to play the games so badly!! Even if it means buying then again haha.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
Its an interesting read, but basic major errors crop up all over the place, from calling the Amiga the Omega, getting mixed up between a NES and SNES, and comparing reception of Simcity 2000 to Mortal Kombat in 1993 - when the former wasn't released until 1994/1995. And this is a minor selection of errors in the first 20 pages. These very basic errors really highlight the fact that the author is completely unfamiliar with gaming, and cant be bothered to basic fact check. When the author is so out of touch with the very subject he is writing about, it undermines everything he is trying to do - ultimately this book is a waste if time I'm afraid.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
As the books says, this is the story of Grand Theft Auto. The book does contain some errors though, for example, it says Sam used to own Atari and 'Omega' computers and that the 'Spectrum ZX, a popular computer, coming out of Dundee, Scotland' These statements while not factually correct, question the accuracy of the information contained in the book. An entertaining read none the less for fans of the series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
The book was grand...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
This book was a gift. It arrived in record time, was exactly in the condition as promised, and packaged correctly. The recipient is happy with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)