Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story on the rise and fall of video game gangland
I bought this book after reading Master of Doom by the same author and found it to be just as good! I'd played a lot of Dave Jones games growing up from Bloody Money on the ATARI ST to Lemmings on the PC and when GTA 1 came out in 1997 it was a fun little game I enjoyed. I stopped gaming as much so didnt get GTA 3/4 and all the add on and side projects but knew of the...
Published on 22 May 2012 by Rikki

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not quite what I'd hoped for
Had been waiting for a book like this for a while. self-confessed gta-addict. Always wanted to read a book which gave a good history of the franchise. The earlier sections of the book detailing DMA, Dave Jones and the beginning of Rockstar are really interesting, but there are long sections later on which didn't grab me as much. GTA4 was also not a large part of the...
Published 23 months ago by M. Dixon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story on the rise and fall of video game gangland, 22 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book after reading Master of Doom by the same author and found it to be just as good! I'd played a lot of Dave Jones games growing up from Bloody Money on the ATARI ST to Lemmings on the PC and when GTA 1 came out in 1997 it was a fun little game I enjoyed. I stopped gaming as much so didnt get GTA 3/4 and all the add on and side projects but knew of the mark it was making on the entertainment industry. This book takes the reader from the humble beginnings in Dundee, Scotland to the high roller times in America when the guys making these games told Burt Reynolds to sit down and shut up because the last game they produced made more money than all of his movies combined. Even if you arent a hardcore gamer or really played GTA in any of its guises this is a page turner that explains how the video game industry came from nowhere to take the entertainment crown. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is as it says - a detailed look at the story behind Grand Theft Auto.
That said, I find it to be a little less technical than Masters of Doom, which I also thoroughly enjoyed - but if you want to feel like you were there, a fly on the wall, during the deals and trials occurring throughout the birth of the Grand Theft Auto series, it's definitely worth a read. If you were looking for a more objective look and technical details involved, it is lacking on that front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not quite what I'd hoped for, 29 Jan 2013
By 
M. Dixon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jacked: The unauthorized behind-the-scenes story of Grand Theft Auto (Kindle Edition)
Had been waiting for a book like this for a while. self-confessed gta-addict. Always wanted to read a book which gave a good history of the franchise. The earlier sections of the book detailing DMA, Dave Jones and the beginning of Rockstar are really interesting, but there are long sections later on which didn't grab me as much. GTA4 was also not a large part of the book either. Even San Andreas, which I thought would be an amazing section to cover was boiled down to hot coffee and the sex minigames which, to me at least, seemed to be only a small part of the game.

Maybe I'll write it instead lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jacked, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really interesting book on the GTA franchise from start to finish. A must read for big Rockstar and Grand Theft Auto fans. But be warned this book will make you want to play the games so badly!! Even if it means buying then again haha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting if you ignore the errors, 22 Sep 2013
By 
A. MCEWAN (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As the books says, this is the story of Grand Theft Auto. The book does contain some errors though, for example, it says Sam used to own Atari and 'Omega' computers and that the 'Spectrum ZX, a popular computer, coming out of Dundee, Scotland' These statements while not factually correct, question the accuracy of the information contained in the book. An entertaining read none the less for fans of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book for gift, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was a gift. It arrived in record time, was exactly in the condition as promised, and packaged correctly. The recipient is happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Factual errors undermine this book, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its an interesting read, but basic major errors crop up all over the place, from calling the Amiga the Omega, getting mixed up between a NES and SNES, and comparing reception of Simcity 2000 to Mortal Kombat in 1993 - when the former wasn't released until 1994/1995. And this is a minor selection of errors in the first 20 pages. These very basic errors really highlight the fact that the author is completely unfamiliar with gaming, and cant be bothered to basic fact check. When the author is so out of touch with the very subject he is writing about, it undermines everything he is trying to do - ultimately this book is a waste if time I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews