Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£31.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 January 2013
This is an excellent board game where you need to make many strategic choices from the options available, whilst being aware that your characters are aging and that you need to prepare them for entry into the village`s chronicle when they `pass on`. Planning the demise of youre characters is not really painful providing that by the time they go they have visited places, earned money and achieved things - all of which will earn you valuable victory points! There is a random element built into the game which means that variety is guaranteed between games. Anyone who likes Agricola will probably enjoy this. The pieces, board etc are all well made and attractive. I have only played this as a two person game but it works well and would I think be even better with three or four people. Well worth the money.
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
This is not a game you will master in one or two plays. Neither is it a game you will be confidently playing after 15 minutes, however, it is worth the investment. A great game with multiple strategies and twists that has always kept me enthused to the end. Well worth the price and time needed to learn.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
The game of killing your family for fun and profit. It came as quite a surprise to learn that "time management" doesn't mean keeping everyone alive as long as possible, but creatively killing people off at the time that makes them famous. Those of a Christian persuasion love that every round ends up with a mass. Trying to stay alive forever by hiding in the black bag of invisibility and never quite getting to actually go to church is enjoyed more by the Secular. I've yet to fully understand it, but I'm looking forward to working on that.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
An excellent game. Plenty of strategy and tactics, with no dice throwing luck element. There are at least 4 alternative ways to amass victory points, so fun to try out different approaches and see which combination works best. Keeping an eye on what your opponents are planning, and trying to snooker their plans, adds interest. The most novel and fascinating feature is the way that your workforce gradually ages. Planning strategically which worker to kill off next to gain additional victory points and avoid the indignity of an umarked grave, without scuppering all your plans for that part of the board, is an interesting conundrum. It is a game that entertains myself as well as my 8 and 10 year old boys, who coped fine with it once the rules were explained to them. My only minor criticism is that a few of the graphics on the board are a little difficult to understand at first. For reference, we also enjoy games like Lords of Water Deep, Pandemic, Lewis and Clark, Stone Age, Puerto Rico, Race for the Galaxy and it provides a broadly similar level of complexity and interest.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
I loved this game to start with, very nice idea, mechanics, with 'time' causing you to kill off your family members, which can be worth points if done correctly. Lovely art and aesthetics.

The only issue is the game presents a lot of choice, but I have found that to win there is one way of playing worth much more point-wise than the others, which is disappointing in a game I really would like to play more of.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
A really lovely game. Pretty components (though it is mildly annoying that you need to stick on the numbers on your pieces yourself from a sticker sheet provided). The game has a lovely variety of options to pursue and slots into the Worker placement style of boardgame. The added mechanic of your people dying is quite fun too. I played this with both old veteran boardgamers and newbies and both found it equally accessible and intriguing. Also it doesnt take an epic length of time. Recommended.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
My 10 year old daughter loved it. She found it stimulating and challenging, although us adults were a bit frustrated as the purpose of the coins only became clear towards the end of the game. However, after trying it out the first time and grasping all the complexities, it is now a family favourite! We have even bought the extensions.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
I'm kind of uncertain about Village. It's got a lot of pieces and a lot of rules, but as of the third play through, I still haven't got any major ideas about winning strategies. It's a fun way to spend an evening, but it's no Catan contender. If you like the aesthetic, consider also Agricola, which has a more robust game mechanism.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
A relatively simple, yet absorbing game which is different each time it is played. I have even managed to play it solo, although it is not designed for solo play.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
Simply amazing! All my friends loved it! Highly recommend it to board games lovers. So many details, but still simple.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.