Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars village - a good place to live
This is an excellent board game where you need to make many strategic choices from the options available, whilst being aware that your characters are aging and that you need to prepare them for entry into the village`s chronicle when they `pass on`. Planning the demise of youre characters is not really painful providing that by the time they go they have visited places,...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. Peter J. Harrison

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best board game
Quality of the game and selling ok

Board game too much difficult to learn

We are used to play games like Carcassone, Ticket to ride or Catan, but this game took us more than 3 rounds to work out how to play and even now we do not feel confident with it

There are better board games on the market
Published 7 months ago by Rafa


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars village - a good place to live, 20 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Peter J. Harrison "Peter J" (Gt Yarmouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Village Board Game (Toy)
This is an excellent board game where you need to make many strategic choices from the options available, whilst being aware that your characters are aging and that you need to prepare them for entry into the village`s chronicle when they `pass on`. Planning the demise of youre characters is not really painful providing that by the time they go they have visited places, earned money and achieved things - all of which will earn you valuable victory points! There is a random element built into the game which means that variety is guaranteed between games. Anyone who likes Agricola will probably enjoy this. The pieces, board etc are all well made and attractive. I have only played this as a two person game but it works well and would I think be even better with three or four people. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex and demanding but well worth the time, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Village Board Game (Toy)
This is not a game you will master in one or two plays. Neither is it a game you will be confidently playing after 15 minutes, however, it is worth the investment. A great game with multiple strategies and twists that has always kept me enthused to the end. Well worth the price and time needed to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Village Board Game (Toy)
Simply amazing! All my friends loved it! Highly recommend it to board games lovers. So many details, but still simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compelling entertainment, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Village Board Game (Toy)
Amost entertaining game with several strategies according to how your opponent(s) play. If you play a lot it will become addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and enjoyable with a slightly depressing element!!, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Village Board Game (Toy)
Great game. Check the reviews out but if you often dwell on ageing/dying and have depressive tendencies don't play!! You have to let some of your "meeples" die and put them in the churchyard so that the next generation can continue to earn you points. Clever mechanism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for both New and old Boardgamers, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Village Board Game (Toy)
A really lovely game. Pretty components (though it is mildly annoying that you need to stick on the numbers on your pieces yourself from a sticker sheet provided). The game has a lovely variety of options to pursue and slots into the Worker placement style of boardgame. The added mechanic of your people dying is quite fun too. I played this with both old veteran boardgamers and newbies and both found it equally accessible and intriguing. Also it doesnt take an epic length of time. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good game that falls into routine once you know how to play, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Village Board Game (Toy)
I loved this game to start with, very nice idea, mechanics, with 'time' causing you to kill off your family members, which can be worth points if done correctly. Lovely art and aesthetics.

The only issue is the game presents a lot of choice, but I have found that to win there is one way of playing worth much more point-wise than the others, which is disappointing in a game I really would like to play more of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An unusual twist, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Village Board Game (Toy)
The game of killing your family for fun and profit. It came as quite a surprise to learn that "time management" doesn't mean keeping everyone alive as long as possible, but creatively killing people off at the time that makes them famous. Those of a Christian persuasion love that every round ends up with a mass. Trying to stay alive forever by hiding in the black bag of invisibility and never quite getting to actually go to church is enjoyed more by the Secular. I've yet to fully understand it, but I'm looking forward to working on that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and well thought out game, 1 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Village Board Game (Toy)
My 10 year old daughter loved it. She found it stimulating and challenging, although us adults were a bit frustrated as the purpose of the coins only became clear towards the end of the game. However, after trying it out the first time and grasping all the complexities, it is now a family favourite! We have even bought the extensions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellant game for 2-4 people., 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Village Board Game (Toy)
A relatively simple, yet absorbing game which is different each time it is played. I have even managed to play it solo, although it is not designed for solo play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Village Board Game
26.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews