Customer Reviews


226 Reviews
5 star:
 (173)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It almost popped my bubble...
I was very tentative whilst taking my younger brother to go and view the film at the cinema; not so much about the actors involved, but purely to do with the storyline. However, i was wrong. The film was a hit for everyone in the screening!
What a perfect DVD to buy for the family, as it guarantees fun, laughter and total enjoyment for the entire household...
Published on 19 Dec. 2011 by ChasTheManWhoWritesReviewsOnAm...

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Got led into paying £3.49 just to rent it BEWARE!!!!!!!
Ok sort of film but not enough warnings from love film that you actually HAVE TO PAY to watch this film. BEWARE.
CHANGE YOUR SETTINGS ON LOVE FILM SO THAT YOU HAVE TO INPUT A PIN NUMBER BEFORE BUYING ANY FILMS. Your little darlings could easily run up a massive bill before you realise it.

LOVEFILM IS NO LONGER FREE (After basic subscription)...
Published 13 months ago by Groucho


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It almost popped my bubble..., 19 Dec. 2011
I was very tentative whilst taking my younger brother to go and view the film at the cinema; not so much about the actors involved, but purely to do with the storyline. However, i was wrong. The film was a hit for everyone in the screening!
What a perfect DVD to buy for the family, as it guarantees fun, laughter and total enjoyment for the entire household!

The quirky adult jokes that Mr.Popper (Carrey) portrays are great with of course the poo-ing penguins, keeping even the smallest of the family entertained. The unexpectedly great storyline that the movie has to offer are a great addition to the many other fabulous and eventful films that Carrey has been fortunate enough to be apart of.

I have to admit that i am not a terribly huge Jim Carrey fan myself. Despite this, i feel that he played the perfect role of Mr.Popper in this movie and it could not have been played by a better actor. It really shows his true acting skills, which even i had to sit back and admire.

Why would you not want to view this DVD??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family fun, 12 Feb. 2012
A great film for slightly older kids (6/7 years onwards) My 4 year old was not entertained although did enjoy watching the penguins. It was a great film and thoroughly enjoyable but perhaps not so much for younger ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great family comedy, 27 Nov. 2011
These days, most films I see I think are either OK or rubbish. But Mr Popper's Penguins, however, I thought was good - hilarious and very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laughed all the way through, 16 Sept. 2011
By 
Mrs. D. M. Brown "Avid Reader" (Peterborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Took my 8 year old granddaughter to see this film and we laughed out loud the whole way through.
Will definately have this dvd on my christmas wish list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poppers Penguins... :), 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Popper's Penguins [DVD] (DVD)
My Boy Loved this Dvd and so did i :) His played it so many times ive lost count..lol..brill family fun dvd... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kids Will LOVE it, 7 Nov. 2013
By 
gina452dy "Gina" (Ilford, Essex, London) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Popper's Penguins [DVD] (DVD)
My 2 Grandchildren saw this film at the cinema, they loved it, my grandson has an obsession with Penguins so I bought the DVD, they talk about it continuously, IF they could they would watch it again & again & again......but their limit is once a week.
I paid £2.17 for a used DVD, it was immaculate, I buy ALL my DVDs & CDs this way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pet Penguins, 15 Aug. 2011
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I thought that "Mr Popper's Penguins" was a good family film suitable for all ages. The basis for it's humour is the idea of a rich, successful businessman keeping six penguins as pets in a luxury New York apartment and this surreal spectacle is in the main quite amusing. Jim Carrey is that businessman and he excels in this film as he tries to win back his estranged wife and keep his two children entertained. The penguins are the stars of the show however as they revel in Carrey's attempts to turn his apartment into a mini Antartica and run amok through the Guggenheim. As I said this is a good,wholesome type of film to take your kids to see and it's good to see Jim Carrey back on form again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the few family movies that every member of the family will enjoy., 8 Mar. 2012
By 
Jay (Cardiff, WALES UK) - See all my reviews
We go to movies as a family - my wife and I with our two children, nine and six years old. We are looking for family fare that Mum and Dad can at least abide. It's not easy.

Jim Carrey as Mr. Popper is restrained in this family friendly movie. Some of the charm of the original book is lost by the contemporary New York setting. The film has a bright happy look highlighted by excellent art direction and set design.

In a summer filled with super heroes and explosions it is a welcome change of pace.

The best scenes involve the penguins. As go the penguins so goes the movie. It's a message movie on the importance of family and don't sell out for a fish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truly Charming, 11 Oct. 2011
Mr Popper's Penguins is a truly charming movie. Don't expect a whole lot of inane action, or scantily, clad-dressed, humanoids. No, this movie is about family, trust, love and devotion. It is what we call a "feel good movie", and it does just that. It makes you feel good, and it smittens you with hope. A hope that when it all comes down to it, what is more important than family? Jim Carry delivers his best performance in years, and he is truly engaging. The rest of the cast is equally as capable, but worth a special mention is the legendary Angela Lansbury. It is truly a joy to see her back on the Big Screen. Her mere presence is enough to lift this movie a notch above others of its kind, which is a testimony to her legendary status. The penguins themselves are also little stars. They each have distinct personalities, and children are bound to pick out their favorites as the movie moves along. It is beautifully show, and the dialogue is adequate, and not overdone or dumbed down. Just cast your eyes in this direction, and be sure to get your hands on this truly enchanting movie. The perfect Christmas gift!

Do you like penguins? Well, who doesn't? Do you like Jim Carry? Well, I certainly do. Does Angela Lansbury remind you of your granny? Well, not really, but she sure does have an unparalleled presence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant fun, 25 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great family film. Enjoyed by all including 2 adults & 4 kids (12,11,9,2). Recommended. Oh, fab price too x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr. Popper's Penguins [DVD]
Mr. Popper's Penguins [DVD] by Mark Waters (DVD - 2012)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews