Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is literally the funniest TV show I have ever seen...which is not an exaggeration., 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Community - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the funniest TV show I have ever seen, honestly. I don't think I've ever laughed so much, and every episode seems to get better. You probably think I'm exaggerating...I'm really not. I am completely obsessed with this show and, frankly, its hard not to be when even the worst episode is better than the best episode of any other sitcom on TV...

Basically if you don't buy this then you are seriously missing out, and don't forget to tell everyone you know about this hidden little gem. It shouldn't be kept a secret. I would hate to see a great show like this be ruined just because it isn't getting the audience it deserves.

Also watch out for these particular episodes: Cooperative Calliagraphy, Conspiracy Theories and Interior Design and Abed's Uncontrollable Christmas. Possibly the best episodes of Season 2. Oh and basically any episode in any season involving paintball and blanket forts is a gauranteed 'winger'. (I'm sorry, I couldn't resist that little inside (and by inside I mean anyone who's watched the show and knows the main character) joke). Don't let my questionable joke-telling-abilities put you off buying this, because I can gaurantee it'll be the best buy you'll make this month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic!, 6 May 2012
By 
Adam "Adam" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An awesome TV show with every episode being a joy to watch, following on from the antics of the community in season 1 but with spaceships, zombies and even more paintball. Commentary on every episode with most of the crew, must buy for any fan!

Even though this is a US import and requires a multi-region DVD drive, its well worth it - even if you have to do a quick google and unlock your computers drive to enable support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best current tv comedy?, 22 May 2012
By 
T. Hearn (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Community - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I have just finished watching the third season of community and I have to say, it is now one of my favourite shows ever. Much like the first series, the 7 main characters are still at Greendale and are now getting into even more ridiculous circumstances than before. The jokes in community feel so natural and unforced it makes them so much funnier, I found my self laughing out loud several times every episode which is extremely uncommon for me. The study group still get into ridiculous circumstances, but something about the writing makes it feel unforced and fresh every time.
In this series, some episodes include a zombie outbreak, an episode made out of entirely stop motion clay figures, a conspiracy episode with loads of characters getting shot and remember the paintball episode from season 1? Well this time there are two paintball episodes. The season finale is a two part paintball war which is even better than the paintball episode from the first season and has a western theme to it, it's amazing. Lots of shows resort to zombie episodes and such when they run out of ideas and it feels forced and silly, but with community the crazy episodes are some of the best, and only leave the viewer wishing for more episodes like these.
If you already watched the first season of community, you shouldn't hesitate for a moment to watch this one. If you havn't seen the show before, then watch it from the beginning as you won't want to miss anything.
I couldn't praise community any more highly and recommend it to anyone who enjoys any kind of television - the jokes are even funnier than before, the plot lines even more involving and the characters even more likeable and interesting, watch this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please rush through the Region 2 release!, 26 Nov 2011
"Community" is the funniest series I've watched in years; hopefully we might get a Region 2 release before the summer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Care for the Community, 3 April 2013
By 
This review is from: Community - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The world of American situation comedy has taken a giant step forwards since 6 friends visited Central Perk, but there are still plenty of shows that follow the hammy sitcom format. One show that has jumped on the recent trend to subvert classic sitcom tropes is `Community', and it continues to do so in its second season, but like in the previous outing it only just manages to balance its cynical edge within this traditional format. Season 2 coincides with the characters of `Community's' second year at College, this time it is Anthropology that takes up the main bulk of their lessons.

The characters do not move on much as the series progresses, that is not a bad thing. Abed continues to act a Meta character for the show, often talking like he knows he is in a TV show. The ensemble remains strong, with only Chevy Chases' Pierce becoming irritating. Therefore, it is interesting that Pierce is the one character who evolves through the season and is given the best arc.

It is the chemistry between the actors and the quality writing that really makes the show zip. Like with season one, it is not the format of the characters of `Community' that make it stand out, but the fact that the creators are willing to play with the show. The best episodes are the ones that go off on bizarre tangents; a city under sheets, or a day out in a KFC spacecraft. The show is extremely funny and produces frequent laugh out loud moments. However, it also still suffers from moralising that I have to assume is meant to be ironic. Overall, the momentum of season one is just about maintained through season 2, but will there be enough juice for a third outing? Some character development is going to be needed for the show to get better and not deteriorate further.

The extras are worth watching for fans of the show, the interviews are fun and the outtakes highly amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funnier and even more innovative, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Syriat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Community - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Season two of community carries on the story of the second year of the study group at Greendale Community College. It probably deals with hanging threads of the first season a little bit too quickly and then picks up pace and has the American comedy staples of Halloween, valentines, Christmas episodes. But this is community so it's a bit different. The Halloween episode is a proper zombie episode, the Christmas one is animated completely in stop motion. When I first heard this I was convinced it wouldn't work - but it does. The characters develop a bit more and there are increasingly storylines that touch upon their lives outside the college.

Episode highlights are the ones above, advanced dungeons and dragons and the two part paintball finale. This even manages to top the last seasons paintball episode.

It's a great season to watch and contains great one liners and set pieces. For instance the whole zombie episode has a soundtrack of ABBA. The payoff for this is right at the end of the episode and is genius. If you loved the first season then this is a must have. If you haven't watched before then this is one of the smartest, funniest and knowing comedies for a long time. Well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most underrated shows ever!, 9 Dec 2012
This review is from: Community - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
If you've never watched community you should, the first series took a while to get going & the first 8-9 episodes were watch-able but not great. Since then it just gets better & better it's genuinely hilarious I don't use that word lightly. My boyfriend & I LOVE this show, we often have to pause the DVD because we're laughing SO hard we miss the next part. I really, really, really recommend Community. It's hilarious, original, well written, well acted and genuinely great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If I could marry Community I would, 17 Sep 2012
This review is from: Community - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Community is, quite simply, the best show on TV. I am continuously blown away by its range of pop culture references and the fact that they never stilt the comedy: in fact, the Law & Order parody episode "Basic Lupine Urology" was pure perfection!
However, it's endangered. (Unfairly) low ratings in the US mean that it may well be cancelled after its fourth season of only 13 episodes. But YOU can help! Buy this DVD and help boost the sales! You won't regret it, I promise.

Also there's commentary on /every/ episode! What more could you want?!

#sixseasonsandamovie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute gem, 19 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I stumbled upon this show purely through someone mentioning it on Twitter. I don't use this word lightly, but this a GREAT show. It is very funny, smart and sweet with an array of rich characters that are played with vigour, by actors who are clearly enjoying themselves; it rubs off on the viewer I'm delighted to say. Even the 'minor' characters are involving. Can't wait to get my hands on the third season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best show on TV, 3 July 2012
This review is from: Community - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Words cannot explain just how good this show is. This show balances subtle humour with over the top quirkiness in such a way that that leaves me awestruck at the end of each episode. Although some of the references in the show may fly over most peoples heads, the genuine comedy stands up on it own and keeps its hooks in you till the very end. It is one of the few things on TV that can be watched and rewatched as new jokes and easter eggs can be spotted with each viewing. As someone who has watched each episode at least 3 times I can say with confidence that i still have not caught every satirical jibe or quip this show has to offer. Community is still a joy to watch and it easily stands up to if not surpasses the brilliance of shows like arrested development or firefly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6a2993c)

This product

Community - Season 2 [DVD]
Community - Season 2 [DVD] by Joel McHale (DVD - 2012)
18.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews