Customer Reviews


273 Reviews
5 star:
 (186)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful homage to the early days of cinema.
What's this? A French black and white silent film? In this day and age of overblown cgi and 3d effects? What were they thinking?!! Well as it turns out The Artist is a beautiful work of art that takes you back to the early days of cinema, and the days when silent cinema was starting to make way for the talkies. It's stunning to look at and very funny too with great...
Published on 17 Jan 2012 by Mr. R. W. Graham

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure what all the fuss was about!
Although The Artist is probably worth watching I'm glad I didn't take the trouble of going to the cinema to watch it. It was okay, and rather unusual but I cant work out why it created so much fuss, and I really don't believe it deserved the awards it garnered. Maybe it's a film-makers film.....?
Published 18 months ago by Nettle


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful homage to the early days of cinema., 17 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
What's this? A French black and white silent film? In this day and age of overblown cgi and 3d effects? What were they thinking?!! Well as it turns out The Artist is a beautiful work of art that takes you back to the early days of cinema, and the days when silent cinema was starting to make way for the talkies. It's stunning to look at and very funny too with great performances as a silent movie star finds himself being upstaged then replaced by a new actress and then the talkies themselves which he refuses to do because he is an artist and feels that the audience does not need to hear him speak. This is also a very moving film and seeing it on the big screen must have been pretty close to what it was like for audiences in the 20's. And watch out for Uggie the dog who completely steals the film. This is quite simply one of the most charming and inoffensive films that you will ever see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AUDACIOUSLY DEFYING THE TREND, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Artist [DVD] (DVD)
When most cinemagoers seem to crave big budget features crammed with sex, violence and special effects, what hope for "The Artist" - a modest black and white silent film?

Doomed to fail? Not at all. Instead, a surprise hit, earning awards and praise from around the world. The reasons are easy to see - a great script (yes, one IS needed despite no words spoken), a moving story told with imagination, wit and style.

Here is a reminder of how the advent of talkies meant a career crash for some very famous names. Almost overnight silent screen idol George Valentin (Jean Dujjardin) becomes a has-been, a once opulent lifestyle replaced by poverty. He contemplates suicide. Meanwhile the actress he discovered , Poppy Miller (Berenice Bejo delightful), becomes everybody's darling, her successes ever mounting. He once helped her. Can she now help him...?.

The film brilliantly recaptures the atmosphere of the times and is crammed with incidental pleasures - including the contributions from John Goodman, James Cromwell and scene-stealing dog Uggy.

In short, most enjoyable - not least because so unexpected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


109 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silent sensation, 24 Dec 2011
By 
Jon Chambers (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Artist [DVD] (DVD)
As a trainee projectionist at a small-town French cinema, I naturally get to see quite a few films. Occasionally, they are screened before their UK release. And very occasionally, as here, they are brilliant. In short, it's one of my two recommendations of the year. (The other, incidentally, is Intouchables, another superb film which also suggests that the glory days of French cinema are not all in the past.)

It is vital not to give too much away. Suffice it to say that the plot revolves around the male lead, a silent movie icon (played by Jean Dujardin) and his efforts to cope with dwindling fame brought about by the Hollywood vogue for 'talkies' at the end of the Twenties. Sound is completely alien to his kind of cinema and, of course, being a silent film itself, The Actor shows the world from his perspective. But The Actor isn't completely mute, as we hear on just a couple of occasions. One instance comes right at the end and explains ... well, something quite important.

I'd never heard of the principal actors. Both are utterly captivating. Director Michel Hazanavicius (incidentally, the husband of the female lead, Berenice Bejo) has apparently wanted to make a silent movie for ages. The long gestation period shows in this thoughtful, clever homage to Hollywood's silent era. Implausibly, a modern film without (much) sound or colour maintains viewer interest throughout. It is witty, impossibly romantic, intriguing and, above all, a must-see for anyone who's losing their love of cinema. What should be nothing more than an interesting idea or a bit of a cliché (note the fire, dog and policeman episode), is in fact the absolute opposite: fresh and original. And one of the best films of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Artist [DVD] (DVD)
This is a creative, charismatic, gorgeous film performed by talented actors.
Before watching it, it's a bit off-putting to imagine watching a film without dialogue, but you DO NOT MISS IT. This is a truly wonderful film that left me wanting to stand up in my living room and clap when it was finished!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its brilliance is enhanced in this small screen format, I adored it., 10 Jun 2012
By 
Jan D. M. (Hertfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first saw this film in a London cinema (our local multiplexes deemed it too `alternative' for their audiences - shame on them). I left the cinema smiling and energised by the music, the simple story line, the acting - especially Jean Dujardin (his smile lights up the screen), the staging, the lighting and of course Uggie!
I was slightly concerned that all this would be lost on a DVD, albeit a Blu-ray one. However, this film benefits from a closer, more contained viewing. I was more emotionally connected to George Valentin's despair, his downward spiral and subsequent renewal. This film deserved all of its awards. Finally, George & Peppa's concluding dance is sublime. I highly recommend this film. I certainly will be watching it again and again. It's perfect for a self-indulgent rainy afternoon.
The extras include a very short 'blooper' reel in the style of the movie, and a narrative of the set design, buildings used and costume design. These are in colour at times and it was almost a shock to see George, Peppa and Uggie in full technicolour, let alone speaking and barking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure what all the fuss was about!, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Artist [DVD] (DVD)
Although The Artist is probably worth watching I'm glad I didn't take the trouble of going to the cinema to watch it. It was okay, and rather unusual but I cant work out why it created so much fuss, and I really don't believe it deserved the awards it garnered. Maybe it's a film-makers film.....?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gimmicky but praiseworthy, 7 Nov 2012
By 
Rob Simpson "noframeof" (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Artist [DVD] (DVD)
The way in which the artist makes you smile that deserves recognition. Very few films are as simple in their pleasure as this. A plaudit which mainly belongs to the direction of Hazanavicius and the performance from Jean Dujardin, who puts in a hugely charismatic performance as George Valentin. Not Oscar Worthy, but really engaging nonetheless. The artist expresses love of a bygone era in a exuberant optimistic film, even if it is a little gimmicky. That said, You will laugh, you will cry and you will be thoroughly entertained when its done with you. What this film should be praised for is that it will get people interested in silent movies. For that, Bravo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The film highlights the Superficiality of Tinseltown., 11 Oct 2012
By 
Carol (Torrevieja, Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Artist [DVD] (DVD)
Jean Dujardin, playing the famous Hollywood movie star, George Valentin is the artist, an egotistical, silent movie star with the charisma and plenty of the good lucks to attract the interest of the ladies. It's not surprising that his accolades include best actor awards for the Golden Globes, BAFTAs and Academy Awards. I loved his arrogance and his acting which typifies melodrama at its best. Melodrama is one of the features that interested the French director, Michel Hazanavicius in recreating silent movies during the 1920s.
The Artist highlights the superficiality of Tinsel town, the glitter and glitz of fame while it lasts. And does it last? Of course not!
The silent movies were becoming tedious and dated, the directors wanted something modern and exciting. This seems to mean the end of a flourishing career for Valentin whose stubbornness and pride lead him to reject any advancement in cinematography. He is ruined, his marriage ends, he auctions all his possessions, his material wealth and hits rock bottom. A sad demise but an inevitable one.
The contrast? A beautiful and enchanting up and coming,aspiring actress, the director's wife, Berenice Bejo who plays an ambitious and vivacious Peppy Miller whose chance meeting with Valentin and a photograph splashed on the front page of Variety with the headline: Who's That Girl? is the catalyst needed to propel her career into orbit and attract her leading man into a romantic liaison. She has the beauty, the charisma, the charm and most importantly, the humility, a redeeming quality.
Within five years their roles are reversed: she is famous and adored by the public, he is a has-been, no longer enamoured by the fickle masses, a drunkard and suicidal. The romantic link is slow in developing but once the chemistry is in place it is electrifying to watch, especially at the end.
I loved the unappreciated, taken for granted, Clifton (James Cromwell) for his ten years of dedication to his master without being paid a cent. That is true devotion. The other star? As an animal lover I loved Uggie, Valentin's faithful dog who saves his master's life after the first suicidal bid and who also entertains us throughout with his amazing tricks.
An interesting film to watch with large doses of tragedy and comedy. You need to watch the film a couple of times to appreciate what a wonderful film it is, but you will, I am sure about that.
Carol Naylor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Masterpiece, 9 July 2012
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Artist [DVD] (DVD)
The Artist is simply breath-taking. It oozes class and quality throughout and is an absolute triumph. Throughout the film the attention to details is nothing short of superb.

Jean Durjadin, who plays the fallen star George Valetin, is fully deserving of his Oscar. His portrayal of a man fallen from super stardom is filled with tragedy and heart break. His simple movements and expressive face speaks volumes. Everything about the production of this films shows much love and adoration for how films used to be made. The 20's and 30's are bought to life with such verve you can't help but be swept along with it. A simple story told with simple effects but with a modern twist. An example being the scene where George Valetin is having a nightmare with the resounding and jarring sounds that suddenly echo throughout his mind is effective and unsettling.

The accompanying music throughout the film suits the mood perfectly and helps draw you in. There really is no fault in this film and it should be watched and cherished by all.

The don't make them like they used too, until now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight!, 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Artist [DVD] (DVD)
Black and white! A silent movie! It all sounds a bit tricksy and knowing and contrived. But it's not - it's a simple delight. Girl meets boy, girl loses boy... and I won't give away the ending. The creamy black and white filming looks exquisite, as does Berenice Bejo, the female lead. Just buy it and wallow. It's a joy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Artist [DVD]
The Artist [DVD] by Michel Hazanavicius (DVD - 2012)
5.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews