Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Watch
I didn't know what to expect after seeing some of the reviews for this but I thought I'd give it a go and and glad I did, in places it's really funny. I didn't know it was about an alien invasion, just thought it was about some inept neighbourhood watch group. However, it turns out it's very good and well worth watching and easily worth four stars.
Published on 21 Jan. 2013 by Je Salter

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Total Cock!
Look this is not a great film but it does what it say's on the box. It is funny, it has a good cast with Vince Vaughn on particularly good form, its rude and has aliens in it. This was enough to keep me and my teenage son amused for the duration although it did flag in the middle. Where it does stand out was the volume of penis jokes they managed to squeeze into the 102...
Published on 19 Feb. 2013 by S Finnerty


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Watch, 21 Jan. 2013
By 
Je Salter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I didn't know what to expect after seeing some of the reviews for this but I thought I'd give it a go and and glad I did, in places it's really funny. I didn't know it was about an alien invasion, just thought it was about some inept neighbourhood watch group. However, it turns out it's very good and well worth watching and easily worth four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Total Cock!, 19 Feb. 2013
By 
S Finnerty "Steve" (Hedge End, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Watch [DVD] (DVD)
Look this is not a great film but it does what it say's on the box. It is funny, it has a good cast with Vince Vaughn on particularly good form, its rude and has aliens in it. This was enough to keep me and my teenage son amused for the duration although it did flag in the middle. Where it does stand out was the volume of penis jokes they managed to squeeze into the 102 minute running time. They are a bit hit and miss but the sheer number of them mean some hit the mark! The supporting cast is also strong especially Billy Crudup as the strange neighbour and Will Forte as the hick town cop. In fact the least memorable character is the Ben Stiller one as the film moves on. Worth catching but maybe not at full price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars See the trailer, but not the film, 22 Aug. 2013
By 
This review is from: The Watch [DVD] (DVD)
OK, some people clearly love this one, but will you? Here's a quick test: do you find the idea that alien blood might taste like cum inherently hilarious? Yes? Then this is the film for you! If not, then it isn't.

I saw the trailer at the cinema a while back and thought 'Gosh, this looks good, I must see it'. It looks like the trailer won an award, but the film won't (not any it wants to win, anyway!) Fortunately, I missed seeing it at the cinema, because I can get my money back by selling the disc.

When there's more product placement in a comedy film than jokes, you have a problem. This film has lots of product placement - how much did Costco pay? - and not enough actually funny jokes. It started life as a PG-13 Ghostbusters clone, but at some point someone said 'Let's be much ruder! And give it to someone who can direct short sketches but not a feature!' Both of those were mistakes. The director has a cameo as one of a trio of men masturbating each other at an orgy, and probably enjoyed that much more than I did watching the film.

The bit of the Ghostbusters clone that did remain was the idea that having a big FX-based ending was the funniest thing they could do. No, it's not. And if anyone is surprised by the 'twist', I will be amazed.

The two reasons for giving it two stars rather than one are Richard Ayoade (even if too much of the culture clash ended up in the deleted scenes) and R Lee Ermey.

So see the trailer for this - it is good - and if you want a recent adult comedy that is actually funny, see Horrible Bosses instead, with the bonus that you get to see Kevin Spacey reprise his role in Swimming With Sharks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as funny as it thinks it is., 17 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Watch (Amazon Instant Video)
Its OK. Does what it says on the tin. I am not sure where everyone is getting the Ghostbusters comparison from? Formulaic, unoriginal but not without some moments most of them from Vince Vaughan's adlibs. Not as good as the trailer suggests but fine to watch on a rainy afternoon when nothing else is on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ALIENS EXIST. DEAL WITH IT, 10 Jun. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Watch [DVD] (DVD)
After the night watchman (Joe Nunez) at Costco was brutally murdered and his skin removed, Evan (Ben Stiller) forms a neighborhood watch in his peaceful Glenvue, Ohio community. Unfortunately not many people show up to join the group and all have their own reasons and issues.

Evan- Costco manager. Very straight and needs to be in charge. Takes things seriously, but doesn't take care of business with his wife (Rosemarie DeWitt).

Bob- (Vince Vaughn) Likes to drink and share his man-cave with his friends. Has a teenage daughter (Erin Moriarty) he keeps his eye on.

Franklin- (slimmed down Jonah Hill) Has the best lines. He quit school to become a policeman. He failed the written exam, physical, and the mental health screening. Wants to be a vigilante. Lives at home with his mother. Couldn't help think about George Zimmerman and Richard Jewel.

Jamarcus- (Richard Ayoade) He is from England and has a Korean girl fantasy.

The four guys are considered a joke. When they discover the aliens, they get up for the task.

I loved the use of the classic rock sound track which included The Doors, J. Geils Band, and Chris Cross who provided a laugh as the phone tone for the salty R. Lee Ermey. The humor rolls with the lines like when Bob asks Franklin, "You failed the police exam, is this illegal?"

There was a lot of good humor. Unfortunately there was a lot of unnecessary crude humor, as the story was funny without it. It didn't need cheap laughs.

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-bombs galore. Brief sex and nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching but remember it is an 18 rated ;), 30 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Watch (Amazon Instant Video)
Was unsure what to expect after reading a few mixed reviews but we was pleasantly surprised. Yes it has a few crude jokes and nudity but that is why it is an 18! The clue is in the fact that if it is rated 18 then you shouldn't really be letting your kiddies watch it, it's not rocket science.
Kept us laughing throughout the film and the plot is a very simple and easy to follow. we watched the film for free as we have Amazon prime but this could very well end up in our vast DVD collection because it is well worth watching again with a few friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They're watching you!, 31 Dec. 2012
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Watch [DVD] (DVD)
Set in the sleepy American suburb of Glenview, Ohio , local busybody & manager of the local Costco store, Evan Trautwig (Ben Stiller-Zoolander) sets up a local neighborhood watch after his security guard friend, Antonio, is brutally murdered under mysterious circumstances. In step Bob (Vince Vaughn -Wedding Crashers) , Franklin (Jonah Hill -21 Jump Street) & Jamarcus (Richard Ayoade -The IT Crowd) who have very different ideas about what the group are going to do, but with Evan's bossy attitude he tries to whip them into shape with varying degrees of success. And as they stake out the town for the killer, it's soon apparent that they are up against no ordinary perpetrator.

Overall the story had me interested from minute one & i was curious to see how they would pull it off, and in hindsight, despite the odd minor flaw they did a good job. The film started out the blocks well, setting the scene in a timely fashion, but then it had some lulls in places that had me getting a little bored. However it made up for this with some funny set pieces & towards the end it picked up & finished on a high. The comedy style is very much similar to the rude & crude humor of 21 Jump street which i've also enjoyed (so take that into account if your easily offended or dislike this style of humor) and had me laughing out loud at some of the things they got upto. The characters each with they're own individual attitude & style, mixed with they're reactions to the various situations made developments more funny than they might otherwise had been, especially if lesser actors had been in the roles. And this is why the great comedy actors portraying them, who are obviously good friends & having a ball come across on screen relaxed with each other, that you could believe these 4 misfits with poles apart backgrounds making an unlikely force. Of note in support, Will Forte (MacGruber) was funny as the oddball policeman who thinks they are a joke.

In conclusion, despite lacking some momentum & laughs in places during the middle portion of the film, it has enough funny moments to enjoy & finishes on a high. If you like comedies with humor similar to 21 Jump Street & The Change Up, chances are you'll like this. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its a funny comedy, not a classic, treat it as such, 27 Dec. 2012
I found this to be a) much better than I expected and b) completely undeserving of the bad reviews. After the first 10/15 mins I found myself laughing all through the film. Its not supposed to be clever, nor a classic - its just a bloody funny film. Stiller was good, Vahn better but I found Jonah and Richard stole most of the film. If you want a comedy on the level of films like Blades of Glory, Dodgeball and Grown Ups then watch this. I don't quite get why Stiller fans don't like this. He may be the worst of the 4 in this but that's not because he is bad in any way - just the others are better. Going to watch it again now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Costco own-brand so don't expect much, 30 Sept. 2014
By 
Ben Griam "Ben Griam" (Sutherland, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Watch (Amazon Instant Video)
Given the four main actors, you'd probably expect a lot more from this film. There are just too many long stretches without any humour. There are quite a few soap opera style family drama moments about how difficult it is being/not being a parent etc. A yawn.
There just isn't any atmosphere of either comedic anarchy or alien invasion panic.
I like all the actors but this wasn't their finest moment. I hope Richard Ayoade gets a better chance of a movie career than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Needs to be seen, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Watch [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great bit of entertainment for your night in! I wouldn't recommend watching it with the family as it can get quite rude
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Watch [DVD]
The Watch [DVD] by Akiva Schaffer (DVD - 2012)
£4.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews