Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars867
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2016
VIDEO (2D):

Ice Age 4: Continental Drift (2D) arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.40:1 encode. I personally prefer 2.40:1 because with my anamorphic lens, the video filled up my entire 12 foot wide screen with no black bars. This transfer is immaculate, with sharp images, and highly dimensional even without 3D glasses. Just look at the finely textured ruffles of Manny's fur, the mossy yellow patina of Gutt's gross-out teeth, the sheen of the ice and the ripples of water — everything is wonderfully realized, with consistent clarity and presence. Colour is immaculately conceived as well — from the punchy foliage greens and sky blues to the fleshy interior of a whale's mouth — and contrast is tight, balancing deep shadows and crisp highlights. (5/5)

VIDEO (3D):

Ice Age 4: Continental Drift (3D) arrives at blu ray with MVC @ 33 mbps encode. The image is just as impressive. The picture is immersive, making great use of both depth and projection. There are a few pop-out-and-jab-you-in-the-eye moments — with fish-bone swords darting out of the screen or Gutt's long face looming towards us — but these feel more integrated than gimmicky. Clarity holds up remarkably well. Colours are just as vibrant, maybe just slightly dimmer when one compares with the 2D version. (5/5)

AUDIO:

Both 3D and 2D versions have the same DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 lossless track. The audio is an immersive energetic mix. The sonic goodness starts early — the deep rumbling of the earth's crust, rocks compressing and shattering, water spraying, bubbles glug-glugging up out of the depths — and relents only for the quieter, dialogue-centric scenes. The onscreen hijinks and danger are complemented by a huge-sounding orchestral score by Hans Zimmer protege John Powell — composer for the Bourne series — who borrows and bastardizes Beethoven's 9th Symphony to surprisingly decent effect. The voice acting throughout is clear and expressive, balanced perfectly among the numerous other noises. The choices of Ray Romano, Ally Romano, John Leguizamo, Denis Leary, Jennifer Lopez and Queen Latifah as voices for Manny, Meghan, Sid, Diego, Shira, and Ellie, are simply priceless. Did you recognize the voice of Steffie as that of Nicki Minaj? (4.5/5)

TRIVIA:

Ice Age 4 Continental Drift has an estimated budget of $92 million, but grossed an amazing $877 million worldwide, right behind its predecessor Ice Age Dawn Of The Dinosaurs at $890 million. They are ranked just behind the top grossing animated feature Toy Story 3 ($1,062 million) and The Lion King ($951 million). Ice Age franchise has really made many surprising millions for 20th Century Fox. Amazing feat indeed!

PACKAGING:

The 3D set consists of 3 discs: 1 3D blu ray disc, 1 2D blu ray disc, and 1 DVD with Digital Copy.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Ice Age 4 Continental Drift has a heart-warming story with interesting characters that will keep both adults and kids entertained. The 3D version is well done, with some special out-of-the-screen effects that will please all. If you don’t have a 3D TV, the 2D version has equally impressive video, along with the fun soundtrack with all the familiar voices of characters result in a fun journey for all. With the 4 Ice Age movies, this Ice Age franchise has made an impressive $2,797 million for 20th Century Fox on box office returns, not counting merchandise and blu ray/DVDs. Would Ice Age 5 be far behind? This set is highly recommended for all – young and old.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
A follow up to the series and is quite good if not as funny as the other three I have seen them all now and like the series
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Another adventure for our heroes 'Manny' 'Diego' and 'Sid'
Luckless 'acorn' obsessed rodent 'Scrat' has triggered the shift of the continents.
'Manny' becomes separated from his family floating away on clump of ice that has broken away along with his buddies and 'Sid's' grandma.
'Diego' and 'Sid' want to help their friend find his way back to his family, however on the trip they come across a bizarre group of pirates determined to prevent the trio from doing so.
Great entertainment, great fun, an ideal family friendly movie for all ages.
What's next ?
'Scrat the Movie'
'Why not' ? (He's a loveable character)
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 January 2016
The original Ice Age film was a welcome breath of fresh air in a genre that was, even then, staring to lose it's way. It's simple unfussy animation style, coupled with great characters and a wonderful emotional yet funny story captured the hears of cinema goers world-wide and has so far spawned 3 sequels with Ice Age 5 due next year.

It has to be said that none of the sequels so far have been able to replicate the simple charm and substantial laugh quota of the original, and this fourth tale suffers the same fate. What was once a small ensemble piece with only three characters plus occasional inserts for Scrat to flesh out, there are now so many you get lost. There's Sid's long lost family, Manny's teenage daughter and her friends, another Sabre tooth and a whole boat load of Pirates to deal with. There must be about twenty in total now and that's just too many by half. The leaden story seems to be a collection of set pieces rather than a collective whole and loses it's way trying to give each new character something interesting to do. But the worst thing of all is that it just isn't funny. Even the four original characters of Manny, Scrat, Sid and Diego get lost in all those new characters and I for one missed them.

It's not terrible, the animation is spectacular and it whips along at fair pace and it's all very colourful and family friendly, but truth be told it's not very good. Set your comedy radar to extra sensitive or you'll miss the few jokes there are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
The Ice Age series has had four movies, and is one of those brilliant family fun films, and is appropriate for all ages, not just aimed at a particular audience. ''Ice Age'' was a great start to the series, introducing us to the characters and being very funny and enjoyable. ''Ice Age: The Meltdown'' was even better than the first, and ''Ice Age: Dawn of Dinosaurs'' was a really funny and enjoyable film for people of all ages. They are three really funny films. Then came this, the fourth addition to the series, which many claimed to be the best of all four films, I disagree. It's the weakest Ice Age movie in my opinion. After how great and funny ''Dawn of Dinosaurs'' was, I had high expectations for this, and it make have reached those expectations for many others, but it didn't for me. It's slower, poorly paced, there is less humour and features very annoying guest characters. I cannot stand the chavy, self-obsessed female mammoths that Manny and Ellie's daughter Peaches is jealous of, I was also annoyed by the character Lewis, he was not as good as Buck the Weasel from the previous film. It is also the stroyline that the film suffers from, and the characters are just not as funny as they have been in the first three films. Even Scrat the Squirrel is is not as good and as funny as he was in the first three films. The film is not as entertaining as the first three, and I struggle to enjoy it at times. It is also very predictable from almost the beginning; in fact we can almost guess the ending and resolution of this film form the title, ''Continental Drift''.

However, that does not mean there are no good points. The film is by no means a bad one, and I do not hate it at all. It is still a good film. The movie, at times, is very enjoyable and there are some scenes which are laughable and enjoyable, just not as enjoyable as the first three films; I did not laugh or enjoy this film as much as I did the preceding three films, but it was still alright at times. I must admit, I found the very opening scene with Scrat very cleaver. The best point of this film for me was Sid's grandmother, she was a very funny character, who I think added the humour to this film. I also thought Scrat was one of the characters that lifted the film, although he was not as funny as he was the first three films, he was still good. So I do give this film some credit, it was not at all awful, and I can enjoy the film at times, but when compared to the first three, in particular, when compared to the preceding film, ''Dawn of Dinosaurs'', it does look a lot weaker, and the feel that it is more aimed at children, whereas the first three were enjoyable for older audiences as well.

Overall, a mediocre addition to the Ice Age series. I know many will disagree with my views on this film, and many would believe that it is the best of all four films, but I have to disagree. It is by no means a bad film, and it is still a worthy sequel to the Ice Age series. So whilst not continuing the laughs and enjoyment of the preceding three films, this is the fourth addition to the Ice Age series, and a good one at very least.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
how could any one not give this DVD 5 stars I was laughing from start to finish. it was brought to entertain the youngesters but hey, would recommend it to everyone.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Well Scrat's gone and done it again. Provided lots of laughter that is. I think the opening is one of the funniest set pieces of any of the four movies. However, the comedy seemed to fade. It wasn't the fact that Manny, Diego, Sid and Granny get separated, from Ellie, Peaches, Eddie and Crash, as much as the Pirates they meet, led by Captain Gutt, who attempts to stop them getting back home. Their presence in the movie adds so much threat to the story, even threatening to kill Manny's family, that I can't help but think some younger children might find it a tad scary. The love story between Diego and Shira is actually a nice touch, and the mystery of why Scratlantis vanished is finally solved. All in all, I think I this film works very well, as did all the others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
I seen all the previous films and I was having high expectations from this one. It was fun to watch but the previous versions were more thrilling and exciting.

Manny, Diego, and Sid are still friends and face the nature's change together. In their journey to get back to their loved ones they encounter some fierce pirates who may be scary for small children.

In conclusion: version 4 is still worth seeing if you enjoyed the previous films from the series. It is a fun film but I consider the previous versions more exciting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Whilst it is a great film my issue is with the Ultra Violet Digital Copy. I am based in Guernsey and have tried redeeming the voucher only to be told it is only available in Great Britain. I have queried this directly with Ultra Violet who have stated digital copies are not available in the Channel Islands and therefore I would warn potential buyers living in the CI as this was one of the selling points of buying this particular version.Ice Age 4: Continental Drift (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + Ultra Violet Digital Copy)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2012
How do Blue Sky do it Ice Age 4: Continental Drift is another excellent and very funny computer animated film which will sit nicely on the self with all my other Ice Age films. Jennifer Lopez does the voice of Shira who is a female sabertooth tiger and becomes Diego's love interest. There is a evil pirate ape called Gutt and his crew of misfits are after Manny's blood for stealing their ice ship. Scrat has many funny scenes for you all to enjoy again. I like the way there is scenes/words taken from Brave Heart and Lord Of The Rings which is enjoyable for a movie buff like myself. Will Manny and friends make it back to his family or will the continental drift's and pirates keep them apart? The animation is the most impressive yet out of all the Ice Age films and it looked even more wonderful in 3d at the cinema.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse