Customer Reviews


254 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (57)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic movie
I'm genuinely shocked at the number of 1-star reviews for this movie. Did you people see the same film I did?
Cabin in the Woods is one of the most original movies I've seen in a long time, tearing up the rule book of horror films. I don't even want to describe the plot to people who haven't seen it, because to know anything about the story is to know too much. Just...
Published 23 months ago by Andrew Leatherbarrow

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can't See the Cabin for the Trees?
I've somehow become a Joss Whedon completest having seen the vast majority of his output, but if I have a criticism it is that his writing `voice' is sometimes too loud in his work. The recent `Avengers Assemble' showed that combining Whedon's distinct writing style with strong characters is a great mix, but give him too much leeway and you get `Doll House'. A film that...
Published 19 months ago by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic movie, 13 Sep 2012
By 
Andrew Leatherbarrow (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cabin In The Woods [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm genuinely shocked at the number of 1-star reviews for this movie. Did you people see the same film I did?
Cabin in the Woods is one of the most original movies I've seen in a long time, tearing up the rule book of horror films. I don't even want to describe the plot to people who haven't seen it, because to know anything about the story is to know too much. Just go in with an open mind and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror entertainment with wide-appeal, 11 Aug 2012
By 
John Milton (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cabin In The Woods [DVD] (DVD)
It's widely acknowledged that films within the horror genre can be incredibly formulaic and easily slotted into one of the sub-genres of horror; be it vampire, werewolf, slasher, zombie, you get the idea. So, as I settled in to watch The Cabin in the Woods, I thought from the trailer that I knew what I was letting myself in for. However, this film far surpassed my expectations.

The film starts off in typical horror style with a group of friends setting out for a weekend getaway off the beaten track but if you've watched the trailer, you know that this certainly isn't your run-of-the-mill fright flick.
Starring Kristen Connolly (The Happening), Chris Hemsworth (Thor, Snow White and The Huntsman, Star Trek), Anna Hutchison, Fran Kranz (Donnie Darko, The Village) and Jesse Williams, the film conforms to the genre norm of having a hot young cast up front to do the running around, drinking, fornicating, screaming and dying horribly; while being ably supported by Richard Jenkins (Let Me In, Wolf), Bradley Whitford (Scent of a Woman, Billy Madison) and Amy Acker (Angel, Catch Me If You Can). Oh, and there's a lovely little cameo near the end that I defy you not to smile at!

The events revolving around the cabin are monitored, guided and controlled akin to some dark version of The Truman Show; and if that's where things stopped, The Cabin in the Woods would be a solid horror film worthy of merit. However, there's a far more sinister hand at work behind the scenes than merely providing murderous reality entertainment and it is the parallel plotline of the puppetmasters at work behind the scenes that really starts to set The Cabin in the Woods apart from the rest of the pack.

As always, I appreciated the practical effects involved in The Cabin in the Woods but on a critical note, there was a considerable amount of CGI. In my opinion, the CG effects were only used where necessary in all but a few scenes.

The Cabin in the Woods is the brainchild of Drew Goddard and Joss Whedon. The two have collaborated for years together on the likes of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and the Angel TV series; a fact which shines through here. The wise-ass humour, characters and general feel of proceedings all seems very familiar stylistically but I would suggest that this is no bad thing.

For some, horror films are now all about how grotesque the next torture scene is or how diabolical the situation the hapless protagonists find themselves in. That's very much not the case with The Cabin in the Woods. This film, to my mind, is a veritable love letter to the genre and there's more than one nod to various films; the titular cabin and its set-up are a little reminiscent of The Evil Dead to name one. Additionally, I could not help but feel that the film was acting as a bit of a mirror, showing the viewer how desensitised to horror they had become by having the characters demonstrate this on-screen and on that note, I will say no more about the plot and its intricacies, for fear of robbing the movie of its true potential.

I've tried hard to think of another horror movie that has been so incisive within the genre and all I can think of is Wes Craven's Scream; taking the stereotypical cast of a teen slasher flick and throwing an entirely novel element into the mix, creating a heady brew and some strong horror entertainment indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent and entertaining - Watch it with an open mind:, 18 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Cabin In The Woods [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm sitting here reading these 1 star reviews of this film and they are all saying the same thing... "it was predictable" or "there was nothing new about it"... even "I laughed at the direction the film was going in for the sheer stupidity of it". In which case, well done. They are then laughing at the right parts and they are predicting what was made to be predictable - so we can have a wee laugh to ourselves.

The film was made to be predictable in parts because it's both a laugh at and with the horror film genre and it's audience.
It's a very self-aware film. I can understand why people are upset as it is packaged and sold like a generic horror film - which is part of the film's story itself. (I'm trying hard not to give anything away and ruin it). Even the name of the film is in on it - The Cabin In The Woods. C'mon.
The film is entertaining, funny and, to stick to the tradition of horrors, gory. The actors play their parts to a T, and the screenplay - when understanding the films intent - is brilliant.

Ignore the 1 star reviews. They come across like they are from fans of horror/torture porn type films that are upset that it wasn't "Saw XXXXXIV". It baffles me how many people are missing the point.
Watch it with an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected, 12 Jun 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Cabin In The Woods [DVD] (DVD)
When trying to decide what movie to watch, I often consult Rotten Tomatoes as their ratings come from a combination of critics and seeing that The Cabin in the Woods had been giving a significantly high rating of 91%, I decided this was the film for me. I had absolutely no idea what this film was about prior to watching it, though it is pretty obvious from the title and the promotional adverts that it is a horror movie.

Horror movies of the 2010s tend to focus on teenagers and involve a lot of stupid actions leading to a lot of bloodshed. In many ways, The Cabin in the Woods follows this stereotype; however, the difference is that this is a movie of high quality with brilliant acting and a superbly surprising plot twist. After watching the movie I decided to do a bit more research about the film's background and I discovered that it was co-written and produced by Joss Whedon. Yep, the same guy who wrote the screenplay for Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Alien Resurrection, X-Men, Thor, Captain America and last, but by no means least, the highly acclaimed and recently released: The Avengers.

There's little I can say about the plot line without ruining it for future viewers, but here is a very simple precis: five friends head off to a remote cabin in the woods for the weekend. If you've seen the trailer for The Cabin in the Woods, then you may have an inkling about what this film entails; however, with absolutely no prior knowledge of this film, I was really quite surprised and pleased by what the plot turned out to be. With someone as talented as Joss Whedon behind the script, I now understand how this slightly unbelievable plot line was taken seriously. There's actually a mixing of modern and ancient horror (part of the plot twist) in this movie and it was perfectly written to balance the two. Now this is a quote that I've stolen from the trailer, but I think it perfectly sums up this film:

You think you know the story.
You think you know the place.
Think again.

Out of the five protagonists of this movie, the only one that I'd heard of before was Chris Hemsworth. I was quite surprised to see someone who was so famous in the film industry co-starring alongside a lot of newbies, but these fairly inexperienced actors certainly surpassed expectations. They are clearly mature actors, not the sort who can only play naive teenagers - though they showed that they can also do this when required - and they made me believe every emotion that they felt, be it happiness or fear. There were actually quite a lot of comic moments in this film, mainly brought by the character Marty Mikalski (Fran Kranz) which worked really well alongside the horror and showed that these actors can apply their skills to a variety of genres. I think I'll be keeping a watch on these budding young actors, I mean, they've already worked with Joss Whedon and Chris Hemsworth, who knows what's next for them?

I thought for the most part that the visual effects were very good apart from one unfortunate relapse where the special effects just weren't up to scratch - thankfully this scene only lasts for about 5 seconds. Whilst some elements of this are quite gory, I never once doubted the reality of them as I have in many other horror movies. Surprisingly there is a huge range of monsters and weird creatures in this movie and though they don't spend a lot of time on screen, they're still frightening as hell.

I did actually find this movie very scary at times. There were lots of moments when I jumped in my seat and I spent quite a lot of the night cowering under the bed sheets, but it was worth it. For anyone who's not sure about this movie, I highly recommend that you give it a chance. If you, like me, are sick of seeing the standard American horror movie where all the teenagers have sex and then die with fake blood spurting everywhere, then this is the film for you. You may find yourself wondering in the first 5 minutes what exactly is different about this movie, but it quickly becomes apparent as to what to undercutting plot line is, so don't give up on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real story behind all those teenage slasher flicks..., 20 Aug 2013
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I rather enjoy The Cabin In The Woods. It takes a horror we're all familiar with and turns it on it's head. It could be said that it tells the story behind the story of the teen slasher movie.

You almost get two films for your money. You get you every day teen slasher flick and then you get your... Well, that would be telling.

Not that it's any great twist. Well, it is. But it's not really a secret. You'll work it out more or less before the end but that's not the point. The real twist is concept and it doesn't matter when you work it out.

The Cabin in the Woods mixes humour, gore, and some incredible make-up and effects to create a fun film that, visually, and concept-wise is a real treat.

I found it fun, tense and thoroughly enjoyable to watch. If you're still in doint, it's Joss Whedon... Need I say more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and genre-defying horror/fantasy mash-up, 19 Dec 2012
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
The Cabin in the Woods lures you in by initially masquerading as a straightforward Evil Dead clone, but soon morphs into something very different.

Whilst struggling to get my head around the ever-shifting and delirious storyline, I had a lot of fun spotting the cheeky hat-tips to countless other movies. Apart from the aforementioned Evil Dead, there are elements of The Truman Show, My Little Eye, The Cube, Hellraiser, Cabin Fever, Dog Soldiers, Wrong Turn, It, The Hills Have Eyes, the Running Man and umpteen others in here.

There's a fair bit of gore too, but this isn't a formulaic slasher, nor is it Euro-style torture-porn. It's an inventive horror/fantasy/sci-fi crossover which, for my money, comes close to earning a 5-star review. One star deducted though for, occasionally dodgy CGI and a rather enigmatic conclusion that wasn't entirely satisfying. No big deal though.

Blu-ray presentation is very good - flawless picture quality and excellent use of surround sound.

The Cabin in the Woods is refreshingly entertaining and well worth adding to any horror or fantasy fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good horror, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cabin In The Woods [DVD] (DVD)
i would recommended this movie and some good twists and turns very good good film for a late night horror flick definitely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can't See the Cabin for the Trees?, 10 Jan 2013
By 
I've somehow become a Joss Whedon completest having seen the vast majority of his output, but if I have a criticism it is that his writing `voice' is sometimes too loud in his work. The recent `Avengers Assemble' showed that combining Whedon's distinct writing style with strong characters is a great mix, but give him too much leeway and you get `Doll House'. A film that nestles between these two projects is `Cabin in the Woods' and it also sits somewhere between them in terms of quality. Fans of Whedon will know instantly that he co-wrote this film, whilst the few who got to the end of `Angel' may even argue that this is a lost script.

On the surface `Cabin' is an atypical teen slasher movie as a group of teenagers visit a remote cabin in the hopes of some good times and not a grisly death. However, this is a film that is all about beneath the surface and what may actually be going on. This meta look at the horror genre has been food and drink to Whedon since the days of `Buffy' and fans of that series and its spin off `Angel' will gain a lot from this film. Those who found these shows a little knowing and self-satisfying may find `Cabin' more annoying than fun.

Director Drew Goddard (also co-writer) has cards up his sleeve that Whedon could only dream of until recently; an increased budget for one and a great cast that includes Chris Hemsworth, Richard Jenkins and Bradley Whitford. It is a shame then that the scale feels no larger than the TVs shows Whedon worked on. `Serenity' was a film that escaped its small screen roots to be one of the best space operas of the past 10 years, in places `Cabin' feels like it would be better watched on TV. This must come down to Goddard who is unable to lift the scale, too much set based work means the film feels smaller than it is. There is still great fun to be had with the film; it is an interesting premise with some very amusing moments. Fans of Whedon will walk away very happy, others may leave a little confused as to what all the fuss was about.

As the special effects are a little on the ropy side the BluRay is not really needed. The extras include a commentary and a trio of featurettes take a very brief look at making the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funhouse of horror, 2 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs. A. P. Oliff (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cabin In The Woods [DVD] (DVD)
I've just finished watching Cabin in the Woods last night. It was not at all what I expected. Most people on here have either liked it or disliked it and I would say it's a Marmite type of film, very like the Saw series. It has taken the horror genre and knocked it on the head. It is a homage to several horror/sci fi films and if I name them people will understand i.e. Evil Dead, Westworld, Nightbreed. Just try it, you will either like it or not. I was confused by it, however it was like a funfair ride in a horror house. Not what I expected but I would watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you go down to the woods today you're in for a big surprise!, 13 April 2012
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Difficult to review this film without giving too much away as it really is best to go into the film as blind as possible in order to get the full experience of this film but for what it's worth the film is about a group of seemingly ordinary college students, the type you get in every horror film, the jock, the geek, the brainy student, the virgin who go to a remote cabin in the woods for a weekend break and stumble across something nasty and are being watched by a sinister group. That's as much as i can tell you without giving too much away as this fun film gleefully takes the horror rule book, rips it to pieces and tosses it out of the window. Every time you think you know where this film is headed there is a new, fresh, unexpected twist. Every cliche you think you know and are prepared for just doesn't happen. The cast which includes Chris Hemsworth before he made Thor are all excellent, apart from Hemsworth there are no big names except for a surprise cameo at the end but no i am not saying who as that would be telling and i have probably given away too much just by saying that! Cast members from writer Joss Whedon's previous works, Angel and Dollhouse are included as well as The West Wing's Bradley Whitford and Six Feet Under's Richard Jenkins. A superb instant horror classic that must be seen if you are a serious horror fan and the last 15/20 minutes will surely go down as one of the most insane endings in film history. Sheer genius and a horror masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cabin In The Woods [Blu-ray]
The Cabin In The Woods [Blu-ray] by Drew Goddard (Blu-ray - 2012)
7.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews