Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected
When trying to decide what movie to watch, I often consult Rotten Tomatoes as their ratings come from a combination of critics and seeing that The Cabin in the Woods had been giving a significantly high rating of 91%, I decided this was the film for me. I had absolutely no idea what this film was about prior to watching it, though it is pretty obvious from the title and...
Published on 12 Jun. 2013 by Laura Hartley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun
Cabin In The Woods is a parody and a genre bender. With its tongue firmly in its cheek CITW throws everything it has at you and doesn't hold back.

Within the first twenty minutes you will be able to count on all fingers the different films it gleefully lifts from. Such classics as Evil Dead and Night of The Living Dead are open to ritual mocking. This film is...
Published 20 months ago by T. Cosens


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected, 12 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Cabin In The Woods [DVD] (DVD)
When trying to decide what movie to watch, I often consult Rotten Tomatoes as their ratings come from a combination of critics and seeing that The Cabin in the Woods had been giving a significantly high rating of 91%, I decided this was the film for me. I had absolutely no idea what this film was about prior to watching it, though it is pretty obvious from the title and the promotional adverts that it is a horror movie.

Horror movies of the 2010s tend to focus on teenagers and involve a lot of stupid actions leading to a lot of bloodshed. In many ways, The Cabin in the Woods follows this stereotype; however, the difference is that this is a movie of high quality with brilliant acting and a superbly surprising plot twist. After watching the movie I decided to do a bit more research about the film's background and I discovered that it was co-written and produced by Joss Whedon. Yep, the same guy who wrote the screenplay for Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Alien Resurrection, X-Men, Thor, Captain America and last, but by no means least, the highly acclaimed and recently released: The Avengers.

There's little I can say about the plot line without ruining it for future viewers, but here is a very simple precis: five friends head off to a remote cabin in the woods for the weekend. If you've seen the trailer for The Cabin in the Woods, then you may have an inkling about what this film entails; however, with absolutely no prior knowledge of this film, I was really quite surprised and pleased by what the plot turned out to be. With someone as talented as Joss Whedon behind the script, I now understand how this slightly unbelievable plot line was taken seriously. There's actually a mixing of modern and ancient horror (part of the plot twist) in this movie and it was perfectly written to balance the two. Now this is a quote that I've stolen from the trailer, but I think it perfectly sums up this film:

You think you know the story.
You think you know the place.
Think again.

Out of the five protagonists of this movie, the only one that I'd heard of before was Chris Hemsworth. I was quite surprised to see someone who was so famous in the film industry co-starring alongside a lot of newbies, but these fairly inexperienced actors certainly surpassed expectations. They are clearly mature actors, not the sort who can only play naive teenagers - though they showed that they can also do this when required - and they made me believe every emotion that they felt, be it happiness or fear. There were actually quite a lot of comic moments in this film, mainly brought by the character Marty Mikalski (Fran Kranz) which worked really well alongside the horror and showed that these actors can apply their skills to a variety of genres. I think I'll be keeping a watch on these budding young actors, I mean, they've already worked with Joss Whedon and Chris Hemsworth, who knows what's next for them?

I thought for the most part that the visual effects were very good apart from one unfortunate relapse where the special effects just weren't up to scratch - thankfully this scene only lasts for about 5 seconds. Whilst some elements of this are quite gory, I never once doubted the reality of them as I have in many other horror movies. Surprisingly there is a huge range of monsters and weird creatures in this movie and though they don't spend a lot of time on screen, they're still frightening as hell.

I did actually find this movie very scary at times. There were lots of moments when I jumped in my seat and I spent quite a lot of the night cowering under the bed sheets, but it was worth it. For anyone who's not sure about this movie, I highly recommend that you give it a chance. If you, like me, are sick of seeing the standard American horror movie where all the teenagers have sex and then die with fake blood spurting everywhere, then this is the film for you. You may find yourself wondering in the first 5 minutes what exactly is different about this movie, but it quickly becomes apparent as to what to undercutting plot line is, so don't give up on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic movie, 13 Sept. 2012
By 
Andrew Leatherbarrow (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cabin In The Woods [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm genuinely shocked at the number of 1-star reviews for this movie. Did you people see the same film I did?
Cabin in the Woods is one of the most original movies I've seen in a long time, tearing up the rule book of horror films. I don't even want to describe the plot to people who haven't seen it, because to know anything about the story is to know too much. Just go in with an open mind and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror entertainment with wide-appeal, 11 Aug. 2012
By 
John Milton (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cabin In The Woods [DVD] (DVD)
It's widely acknowledged that films within the horror genre can be incredibly formulaic and easily slotted into one of the sub-genres of horror; be it vampire, werewolf, slasher, zombie, you get the idea. So, as I settled in to watch The Cabin in the Woods, I thought from the trailer that I knew what I was letting myself in for. However, this film far surpassed my expectations.

The film starts off in typical horror style with a group of friends setting out for a weekend getaway off the beaten track but if you've watched the trailer, you know that this certainly isn't your run-of-the-mill fright flick.
Starring Kristen Connolly (The Happening), Chris Hemsworth (Thor, Snow White and The Huntsman, Star Trek), Anna Hutchison, Fran Kranz (Donnie Darko, The Village) and Jesse Williams, the film conforms to the genre norm of having a hot young cast up front to do the running around, drinking, fornicating, screaming and dying horribly; while being ably supported by Richard Jenkins (Let Me In, Wolf), Bradley Whitford (Scent of a Woman, Billy Madison) and Amy Acker (Angel, Catch Me If You Can). Oh, and there's a lovely little cameo near the end that I defy you not to smile at!

The events revolving around the cabin are monitored, guided and controlled akin to some dark version of The Truman Show; and if that's where things stopped, The Cabin in the Woods would be a solid horror film worthy of merit. However, there's a far more sinister hand at work behind the scenes than merely providing murderous reality entertainment and it is the parallel plotline of the puppetmasters at work behind the scenes that really starts to set The Cabin in the Woods apart from the rest of the pack.

As always, I appreciated the practical effects involved in The Cabin in the Woods but on a critical note, there was a considerable amount of CGI. In my opinion, the CG effects were only used where necessary in all but a few scenes.

The Cabin in the Woods is the brainchild of Drew Goddard and Joss Whedon. The two have collaborated for years together on the likes of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and the Angel TV series; a fact which shines through here. The wise-ass humour, characters and general feel of proceedings all seems very familiar stylistically but I would suggest that this is no bad thing.

For some, horror films are now all about how grotesque the next torture scene is or how diabolical the situation the hapless protagonists find themselves in. That's very much not the case with The Cabin in the Woods. This film, to my mind, is a veritable love letter to the genre and there's more than one nod to various films; the titular cabin and its set-up are a little reminiscent of The Evil Dead to name one. Additionally, I could not help but feel that the film was acting as a bit of a mirror, showing the viewer how desensitised to horror they had become by having the characters demonstrate this on-screen and on that note, I will say no more about the plot and its intricacies, for fear of robbing the movie of its true potential.

I've tried hard to think of another horror movie that has been so incisive within the genre and all I can think of is Wes Craven's Scream; taking the stereotypical cast of a teen slasher flick and throwing an entirely novel element into the mix, creating a heady brew and some strong horror entertainment indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent and entertaining - Watch it with an open mind:, 18 Sept. 2012
This review is from: The Cabin In The Woods [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm sitting here reading these 1 star reviews of this film and they are all saying the same thing... "it was predictable" or "there was nothing new about it"... even "I laughed at the direction the film was going in for the sheer stupidity of it". In which case, well done. They are then laughing at the right parts and they are predicting what was made to be predictable - so we can have a wee laugh to ourselves.

The film was made to be predictable in parts because it's both a laugh at and with the horror film genre and it's audience.
It's a very self-aware film. I can understand why people are upset as it is packaged and sold like a generic horror film - which is part of the film's story itself. (I'm trying hard not to give anything away and ruin it). Even the name of the film is in on it - The Cabin In The Woods. C'mon.
The film is entertaining, funny and, to stick to the tradition of horrors, gory. The actors play their parts to a T, and the screenplay - when understanding the films intent - is brilliant.

Ignore the 1 star reviews. They come across like they are from fans of horror/torture porn type films that are upset that it wasn't "Saw XXXXXIV". It baffles me how many people are missing the point.
Watch it with an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real story behind all those teenage slasher flicks..., 20 Aug. 2013
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I rather enjoy The Cabin In The Woods. It takes a horror we're all familiar with and turns it on it's head. It could be said that it tells the story behind the story of the teen slasher movie.

You almost get two films for your money. You get you every day teen slasher flick and then you get your... Well, that would be telling.

Not that it's any great twist. Well, it is. But it's not really a secret. You'll work it out more or less before the end but that's not the point. The real twist is concept and it doesn't matter when you work it out.

The Cabin in the Woods mixes humour, gore, and some incredible make-up and effects to create a fun film that, visually, and concept-wise is a real treat.

I found it fun, tense and thoroughly enjoyable to watch. If you're still in doint, it's Joss Whedon... Need I say more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars try not to spoil it!, 4 Mar. 2013
By 
bizmandan (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
I feel like I start every review of a horror film with this statement, I do not like horror films, I am not a fan and I never will be and I am really not an authority on the subject. But with that said, Cabin in the Woods is the best horror film I have ever watched to this date, taking the crown away from my previous favourite 28 Days Later.

Why is it so good? Because it is self aware, it knows what it is and it knows you know what it is and it uses that to its advantage.

For fear of spoiling this film, I'm going to keep this review nice and short. This is one of those films that is best served raw, the less you know about it the better, try to not even read a synopsis because it will detract from the sublime experience that is this film. I'm trying my best to not spoil this at all in this review because to do so would be a misdeed similar to spoiling The Sixth Sense.

The cast line up is adequate and features a pre-fame Chris Hemsworth, which obviously served as a way for this feature to stick out from the crowd. Luckily, Cabin in the Woods was delayed due to the bankruptcy of MGM and by the time it was released, Thor had already come out and Avengers was just on the horizon serving, to give the film more exposure than it previously would have got.

The true stars of this feature though were in the form of writer Joss Whedon and writer/ director Drew Goddard. Originality would be the word to describe what they bring to this production. Without telling you what the story is; they manage to explain why horror films are the way they are. The directional debut of Goddard is also extremely promising as he seems to have a natural knack of creating terror and suspense without relying on cheap jump cuts and shaky cam.

This film is an absolute master piece and in a sea of mediocre horror cash cows with crappy stories and unskilled people behind the camera, this film stands head and shoulders above the rest. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant PARODY of horror films, with one good joke every ten seconds, some funny twists and a very good great finale. Enjoy!, 12 Aug. 2014
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cabin In The Woods [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very amusing and clever PARODY of monster/slasher horror films and I had great time watching it, even if I liked "Scream" and "Tucker and Dale versus evil" more. Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

Once upon a time five young people go for a weekend to an isolated, old creepy cabin in the woods to spend some... hmm... let's call it "quality time"... Those five are the perfect representation of stereotypic victims of zombies, maniacs, monsters, ghosts, creatures, aliens, beasts, spirits, apparitions, entities, etc. which usually hunt to death young Americans everytime they step out of their comfort zone (at least in films) and therefore in the group we have:

- The Slut, a.k.a. Jules Louden (Anna Hutchison), a girl who can make out even with a wolf...
- The Jock, a.k.a. Curt Vaughan (Chris Hemsworth), a walking mountain of hot testosterone
- The Geek, a.k.a. Holden McCrea (Jesse Williams), a deceptively decent and supposedly shy guy
- The Moron, a.k.a. Marty Mikalski (Fran Kranz), an abominable pot head, inventor of world's biggest bong...
- and of course, last but not least, The Virgin, a.k.a. Dana Polk (Kristen Connolly) ("A virgin? Me?" "Well, we work with what we have")

As usual in this kind of movie, from the first moment those five young people arrive to the cabin in the woods, they are being watched by some (IM)PURE EVIL...))) Of course, this film being a PARODY, this (IM)PURE EVIL is not exactly what we expect...))) And I am not saying anything more.

Let's stress it again - from the first scene of the film it is said LOUD AND CLEAR: THIS IS A PARODY! This film is NOT SUPPOSED to be scary, but to make us laugh by MERCILESSLY MOCKING all the clichés of the monster/slasher horror flicks. Of course some people die (a lot in fact) and yes, there are some monsters (a lot in fact) and yes, there is blood and gore (a lot in fact) and yes, there is darkness and ancient legends (a lot in fact) - and all of this is there just to make us laugh (a lot in fact).

The trasures of this film are many, the greatest of which are the dialogs and especially all the sarcastic comments of (IM)PURE EVIL people who are watching the five young people in the cabin in the woods. Senior Technicians Sitterson (Richard Jenkins) and Hadley (Bradley Whitford), who are amongst the most experienced veterans of all (IM)PURE EVIL staff dealing with the cabin in the woods, are a particular delight...)))

At one moment Sigourney Weaver appears, but I am not saying here what is her character - you will have to discover it by yourself. I just want to say that even if in this film the girl is pushing 65 and could be easily a grandmother, well, Dear Lord, is this woman HOT! Here, I said it.

If you pay good attention you may find also Jodelle Ferland amongst the cast - she makes just a cameo here, but it is a nicely done one.

The film of course mocks mostly American horror films, but it also takes a big shot at some Japanese or Japanese inspired horrors, like "Ringu"/ "The ring" and "Ju-on"/"The grudge". It is a short fragment of the film but it is one of my most favourite scenes - I almost cracked my ribs at that moment...)))

Bottom line this is an excellent, clever and extremely funny PARODY of horror films, worth every penny it may cost. It is however important to be aware of the fact this is a PARODY, because if you try to watch this film as a real horror movie, you will be extremely disappointed. So turn your merriment antennae to maximum reception, forget all seriousness, enjoy and have a merry good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Standing horror on its head, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cabin In The Woods [DVD] (DVD)
I don't necessarily think Joss Whedon is a creative genius - but he is that guy that years ago put his career on the line with Buffy the Vampire Slayer to make what he felt would be cool. It was (or so I and quite a few others think) and ever since then he's been making (or so I believe) the things he would want to see in a movie theatre. Like Tim Burton, Whedon likes to recycle some of his cast from previous projects and that's more than okay, because they are so very good.

As concerns the movie itself, it would be cruel to reveal anything because really, the fun in it is finding out yourself. And it is fun, albeit gruesome fun at times. Still, there is a highly intelligent black humour at the bottom of this movie and it WILL entertain. As has become standard in the genre, all references to previous movies are fully intended and make this a fun experience fo the uninitiated, but a full-on blast from past, present and future for the genre-inclined nerd (among which I proudly count myself). Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprsingly Good!, 4 Oct. 2012
By 
Freespirit "bo3ss" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cabin In The Woods [DVD] (DVD)
I half expected this to be another one of those "Five Teenagers go off into the woods and find a psychiatric hospital/house and then get killed off one by one by a crazed maniac". At first I wasn't totally wrong...they weren't teenagers, they were twentysomething! However, that's where the similarities end. The story centres around a group of YOUNG ADULTS going off to one of the groups cousin's cabin in the woods. All is not what it appears to be. There is a sinister 'laboratory' sited somewhere which can control all the goings on in the cabin. Some of the goings on are a bit gory and on occasions will make you jump. Won't say too much more but Sigourney Weaver plays a cameo role and the ending is very unexpected. Some good special effects and a story line which actually works. Great one to watch as a 'family' if your kids are over 18! Great for a halloween party too. Enjoyed watching this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "He has a Husband-Bulge...", 12 July 2013
By 
D'mo (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cabin In The Woods [DVD] (DVD)
Maybe it's worth laying something on the line here before I start - I don't think this movie was made for kids that like horror movies. I think it's more of a movie for horror fans old enough to remember the bombastic, non-pc, topless girls and machetes in heads scares of 70s and 80s cinema. If you're unable to grasp how gloriously silly those old-school dead-teenagers-at-a-summer-camp and what they were about, you might miss the joke in this film.

A group of college-kid stereotypes go off to a cabin in the woods to have the usual weekend of alcohol, drugs and (gasp) premarital sex. Oh, but wait, they aren't stereotypes at all (except maybe the stoner). And everything they do seems to be being monitored by guys in ties and labcoats in some kind of secret government facility. And the kids are being manipulated from the get-go into becoming stereotypes (except maybe the stoner). And the killer zombies in the woods are... ok, that would be telling, but suffice to say nothing about this typical 1980's slasher-movie plot is typical, and by the end everything you ever thought you knew about what happens to poor young 'uns in horror movies is turned on its head. And you just might understand why everyone splits up and dies stupidly in these kinds of flicks.

This is maybe the most Whedonlike Joss Whedon movie ever. It's knowingly clever (which is mildly irritating at times, but pop culture and in-jokes are the guy's hallmark), ironic as all hell and faultlessly crafted, and has plenty of those Whedon-tastic funny one liners. Each time you think you have a grip on it, Cabin in the Woods changes tack and hits you with something else that seems entirely nonsensical, but it all makes sense in the end. The kids are (or at least become) the recognisable monster cannon-fodder of old, and the growing cavalcade of monsters are all ones you've seen before in those kinds of films. This isn't so much a sensible horror movie, it's a glorious celebration of everything that was dumb and fun about those pre-torture-porn days of horror; a salute to friends in a darkened room or a drive in, downing beers and mocking the teens getting turned into shishkabob and waiting for the hot blonde to take her top off.

If you want shocks and violence that makes you wince, you are not going to find it here. But if you're of the right kind of age to remember when Jason Voorhees was the slaughter-king of Camp Crystal Lake, or when your dreams weren't safe from Freddy Krueger, and you'd have to be some kind of idiot to read a passage from an old book, or listen to a reel-to-reel you found in a cabin in the woods, you'll understand this movie in a few seconds. It's a tribute to more innocent horror; the kind you enjoyed for being unreal and silly and titillating and still a little forbidden back in those days gone by. And if you're like me, a member of Generation Evil Dead, you'll love this beautiful, homage-tastic joke, in all its many shades of spurting red stuff. A real modern gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cabin In The Woods [Blu-ray]
The Cabin In The Woods [Blu-ray] by Drew Goddard (Blu-ray - 2012)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews