Customer Reviews


421 Reviews
5 star:
 (365)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A musical pleasure
A beautiful, meaningful piece of music. I hope this makes Christmas number one rather than the usual X-factor tat. Well done girls and release more of the same soon.
Published on 18 Dec 2011 by D. M. Barber

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming at the time it was released.
Chose as a result of TV programmes.
Found it inspiring at a time when young men and women were making great sacreifices for their country.
Published 2 months ago by M. Cross


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A musical pleasure, 18 Dec 2011
By 
D. M. Barber - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wherever You Are (MP3 Download)
A beautiful, meaningful piece of music. I hope this makes Christmas number one rather than the usual X-factor tat. Well done girls and release more of the same soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The charity song that is so much more - pure quality., 19 Dec 2011
By 
A. I. McCulloch "Andrea" (Co Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wherever You Are (Audio CD)
Ordering a pre - release CD meant that I got my copy early. Lucky me! The song was already so familiar from the radio and television - and it still moved me to tears. Paul Mealor's lovely lyrics, put together from the letters, poems and prayers of the Military Wives and their men as they served in Afghanistan are deeply moving.
They are also reproduced on the CD insert, although the words are sung so clearly that they are almost unnecessary.

The story of how Gareth Malone put together a choir of military wives and partners to give them an alternative focus for their lives whilst their men were in Afghanistan has now been told many times in the media. Gareth's exploits in forming choirs have been the focus of three previous TV programmes, and his skill in drawing out the best in people via the medium of choral music is unsurpassed. This fourth choir challenge has been the one that has really caught the imagination of the public.

This song emerged as a performance piece to be sung by the choir at the televised Festival of Remembrance at the Royal Albert Hall. Following the screening of both the Festival and the final episode of The Choir - Military Wives, it became clear this song HAD to be released. Nine months ago these women had never sung together and very few had any experience of singing. You genuinely wouldn't know. The soloist, Samantha Stevenson, has to be mentioned - what a truly beautiful voice.
The additional Paul Mealor composition on the CD, A Spotless Rose, is sung by the well-known choir Tenebrae. It's a lovely extra surprise, an exquisitely sung piece that has a real Christmas feel.
A minimum of 40p from each CD is being split between the Royal British Legion and the Soldiers, Sailors and Airmen Families Association - Forces Help. A great way to give a little to two very deserving charities - and the best song to be (hopefully) a Christmas No 1 for many, many years - in fact, possibly the best ever. Stop reading this and go and buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST OF THE BEST., 20 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wherever You Are (Audio CD)
Well here goes for what its worth,I have been in the Military most of my life and at 63 can say I have seen and heard stuff that still haunts me today.

Take a bunch of woman,wives and sweethearts of serving Royal Marines,Royal Navy etc. and just prior to the Marines going to Afghanistan ask the wives,Fancy Joining A Choir Ladies,seeing and feeling the pain and worry of these ladies manifest itself in tears and jumpy nerves brings it into your home,not knowing when there will be a knock on the door and hearing that there has been an incident!involving your loved one and trying to cope with that,Could You.
Well Gareth Malone took that bunch of woman and moulded them and called them a choir,he then went to Plymouth and done the same there till the two Choirs were around 100 strong,then he hit them with their first public appearance,the Chivenor choir were going to sing in Barnstable,The Pannier Market no less,that was the start,then again he took them to the exalted grounds of Sandhurst and in front of all the newly Passed out Officers and Staff had both Choirs sing,IN LATIN,then a real bouncy song,Bugle Boy of Company C,it was a great success which got them a Standing Ovation from all the Officers.
On the 12th November the full Choir went to London,in front of the Royal Family and audience,and all those watching on TV,sang Wherever You Are,there was not a dry eye in The Royal Albert Hall,again they received a thunderous round of applause and rightly so,the nerves were popping the tears were flowing and it was outstanding.
THE SONG.
The words of the song Wherever You Are,written by Paul Mealor,comes from letters written by the wives and loved ones of all those serving in Afghanistan and other places abroad,the music again written by Paul Mealor,the name of the song is from an inscription on a Bracelet a Royal Marine gave his his wife before he deployed to Afghanistan.All this is for real,its not Rambo,or some actor in a film saying lines from a script so it does add reality to what this song is all about,when all those wives said Goodbye to their loved ones it really was Goodbye,out in Afghanistan one step was all that was needed to end a life or to maim terribly,but that is their lot and its a dirty job that needs doing and our Military get on with it as only our Military can.
I cannot express my Admiration for our Military out there,and the Wives and Loved ones waiting at home have brought into the Public eye what being a Military Wife is all about,the choir have highlighted and in such a fantastic way the plight of our Military and their wives and Loved Ones,Gareth Malone is without a doubt a Magician,Paul Mealor is a writer of fantastic Lyrics and Music,the Wives and Sweethearts who are the Military Choir are beyond belief,and have my utmost RESPECT.
Okay the Bottom line,go out and buy this CD as it is only 1 99p,proceeds are divided between Royal British Legion And SSAFA,and this Christmas lets give back to our Military through the wives and Loved Ones our Respect and Admiration for what they do and Achieve out there by buying this Cd and putting it in the No 1 Slot this Christmas,I have bought a load and giving them to All friends and Family this Christmas and will be Buying more after that so please do this as well,put a feel good Song in the Top Slot and know you have done Something really special this Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shame on you Alexcatt97, 21 Dec 2011
By 
M. BENNETT (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wherever You Are (MP3 Download)
Bah humbug to you Alexcatt97! Have you no sense of occasion, appreciation and consideration for others. The first thing in life you have to remember is that appreciation of art is in the eyes and ears of the individual. The second thing you need to recognise is the Military Wives' choir is not the result of second rate 'wannmabe' media shows. These are real people, singing from the heart - a group of ordinary wives and girlfriends living their relationship lives in the most extraordinary circumstances and fearful that as each term of duty comes up they might never see their loved ones again. The sentiments within this song are their sentiments -the songwriter actually used their letters and thoughts as the genesis for this song. Would you have the balls to stand up and sing in front of the Royal Family and millions of others tuning in in the Royal Albert Hall and perform a tear jerking rendition. I know I couldn't and I doubt if you would either. I think they are absolutely amazing as does the majority of the British population who have taken them to their hearts and made this recording outstrip all the other Christmas No 1 hopefuls. Of course - you are entitled to your opinion but, if you have nothing nice to say at this special time of year say nothing you mean spirited person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Wannabees, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: Wherever You Are (Audio CD)
Knock this if you like but at least there is emotion, feeling and meeing in this song to partners in dangerous places...I have an incredibly soft spot for Gareth Malone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you have to buy this, 19 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wherever You Are (Audio CD)
words cant say really, tear in my eye everytime i see them or hear this song,i was proud to be british when i watched them come through the nerves and stress ,but they fought and now deserve our support,to help them and all our armed forces. these women have put the feel good factor back into britain that no politician could ever do.im 52 from newcastle and not ashamed this time to show my feelings, go on buy it and tell your friends,they desrve the xmas NO1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely the best thing this year!, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: Wherever You Are (Audio CD)
The television Show that saw Gareth Malone creating a choir of Wives and partners of serving military men was heartwarming and eye opening. I looked at my husband and my grown up sons and wondered if I would have the courage to go through what these women go through. It made me want to weep just thinking about the separation and the danger that their loved ones were in. To see them come together in song, joining forces and voices was inspiring and humbling. This single had to be released and must be the Christmas number 1. It has meaning, it has purpose, it has emotion and strength and courage and its for charity.....so very deserving and a beautiful, beautifully sung piece of music. I encourage everyone to get behind the choir, support them - and also support the movement to get Gareth Malone a well deserved Honour!!
Well done ladies. We take our hats off to you. Bless you all this Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful song from beautiful woman for a beautiful cause..., 19 Dec 2011
By 
Nicolas Dreyfus (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wherever You Are (MP3 Download)
Let's push this to No1
I have supported the cause.
Have you?
If not yet a MUST DO before Christmas!
Enjoy and don't cry too much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonder for choral music, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: Wherever You Are (Audio CD)
Not only is this a truly fitting tribute to all of our men and women in the forces and their families, but also it's fantastic for choral music!

Gareth Malone is an inspiration, and has done more for choral music than anyone in recent years. I really hope the success of the Military Wives will inspire more YOUNG people to get out and sing!

Paul Mealor is also a genius, and consequently, with a great composer and an inspirational conductor and director, the choir are FABULOUS! Well done ladies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wherever anyone is apart from their loved one, child, sibling, etc, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: Wherever You Are (MP3 Download)
This beautiful haunting song sums up for me and for all who have any connection with troops overseas, especially in Afghanistan, a very special message, What a wonderful end product from the talent of the choir unearthed and guided by Gareth Malone with wonderful words by Paul Mealor. Let's hear more of the choir in the New Year. A very moving experience which had not a dry eye in our house when we first heard it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wherever You Are
Wherever You Are by Military Wives (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews